We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ski base”
Review of Hotel Orchidea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Orchidea
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ski base”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A friendly and welcoming ski base. The rooms are a good size for skiing accommodation and the hotel is clean and decorated in a homely way. We had 2 rooms which interconnected across a private balcony, a good option for our family. We enjoyed the sun stroking the mountains each morning and evening. There is a really nice warm, well equipped spa in the basement with views of the mountains. The food was good overall, given we were not paying a lot for half board it was excellent value and there was plenty of choice and variety. The service was excellent and the hotel staff were always friendly and helpful.
A comment has to be made about the cleanliness of this hotel - I have stayed in many hotels and this is probably the cleanest I have ever stayed in.
In terms of distance from the ski runs, it is about 5-10 mins stroll from the main lift area, and handy for the shops etc. We decided to take up our ski rental shop's offer of a locker in town to save carrying skis at the start and end of the day, but this isn't really necessary unless you have lots of small children.

Room Tip: Many, but not all, of the front rooms have balconies. These are very nice to have. The road is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizzi_lizzy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    33
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
31
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed a week, in that time there was a break in to a room next to us and our hotel door lock broke and wouldn't be fixed, the hotel staff thought swearing at the couple who had, had their room broken into was a good idea and then told us that it would cost €110 to fix our door which they couldn't afford so all our personal belongings where unsafe. We felt that unsafe during the day we locked everything in our suitcases and at night time we put chairs behind the door. Would not stay ever again! The only good thing was the food.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was my second, and my girlfriends first trip to Passo Tonale and the weather was near to perfect. The hotel is at the end of the town and only a short walk (up hill) to the first blue run and about a 10 min walk to the opposite end where all the runs are based. The hotel was very clean but sometimes a little overdone with the bleach which will sting your eyes. There is a good choice of food at the evening meal offering 4 courses and the service, especially from the head waiter, is 1st class. There is more than enough to eat and the quality is good too. Down stairs there is a ski/snowboard storage area with boot driers. The hotel has a wellness centre offering a sauna, a Jacuzzi and a steam room with clean towels every day for just 6 euros a week, great for those aching muscles. Very friendly staff who are only too willing to help with advice on where to ski/board.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Superb holiday beginning of January despite eventful journeys to & from resort due to snow & fog. Our rep, Tom, calmly battled on & got us through it though! He also went to unbelievable extremes to reunite my husband with the ski boots he left behind at the hotel on return home, many thanks! Top marks to Neilson reps, as always, professional, efficient & also caring. Comfortable, clean hotel (prize for the cleanest!), plenty of good food, helpful & friendly. Fresh snow so great conditions. Good, varied, & accessible off piste. Ok so you have to walk 10mins to the slope but just think how fit you're getting! And it means you can have that hot chocolate/vin brûlée/pizza/cake!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very clean as most have said ,walking to either 34 blue or any lifts really is a pain if your in boots and carrying skis ,there are lots of hotels that are ski to door nearer to the lifts ,food at this hotel is ok lots of pasta but bland ,main course is often 1meat and 1veg no spuds and starters and afters not up to much really. Evening time bar is fairly priced but is very quite so take cards or something unless you can understand the lingo tv room is Italian only ,bedrooms well our group had 4 rooms on the 3rd floor 203 we stayed in and it felt like a prison cell dark small window low roof timbers being an attic room just kept banging my legs on bed frame and head on roof timbers all week,cleaners are grumpy so left no tip they will also move your stuff around the room I put things on the bedside cabinets and dresser and it got moved to where they wanted it not sure why ?,if your after lively après, ski magic bar was best for us very friendly good prices and quick service happy people ,el bait was nice but costly doubled the price on some things but free food nibbles ,skiing was good loads of snow not much queuing for lifts ,Madonna trip is a must beautiful ,and the presena glacier again perfect on a sunny day ,so passo tonale is very good for skiing ,hotel is ok but not in a ideal location for skiing at least and food average would I go to the resort again yes the hotel orchidea no ,and travel with crystal not if they carry on employing rude lazy and unprofessional reps but that has nothing to do with the hotel ,flybe excellent service from bristol ,

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thebackbonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

A good base for our skiing holiday. Very clean and friendly with good food. The rooms are a good size and most have balconies.
It is possible to ski back to just above the hotel from blue 34 (turn left out of the hotel, up the hill to the first carpark on the right).
Alternatively a 10 min walk up the town to the main lfts.
Beware red 17 unless you fancy a long walk or some black runs!!!
The bar prices are reasonable for a hotel.

However.

The bedheads have been designed by someone who has never sat up in bed!! Straight out of hell, sitting up, they are the most uncomfortable things we have encountered and should come with a hair shirt to complement the experience!
The beds themselves are quite comfy.

Charges are made for using the pool and wifi......

There are no kettles in the rooms.

The cleaner moves the stuff around in the ski room so that things are lost......I got the manager to give her a severe talking to over this so lets hope she has stopped this silly practice!!

No information packs are supplied in the rooms.

The large bathroom did not have a bath (no nice soaks).

Some of the rooms were cool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ianandsuepedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a week on a half board basis, they say you get what you pay for, not in this case, we paid little and got a lot.
Immaculate hotel in everyway, sensible priced bar and a fantastic selection of food, we were very Hungary after long days skiing and always left full.
Arched windows from restaurant overlooking the beautiful mountains was an enjoyable view during breakfast
Would we stay again? Oh yes, thankyou all at the orchidea for a faultless stay,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cielo Blu
Hotel Cielo Blu
#13 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#10 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#16 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#23 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orchidea

Property: Hotel Orchidea
Address: Via Circonvallazione 24, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orchidea 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing