We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel with excellent food and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Mirandola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Mirandola
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Characterful hotel with excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

An old listed building with lots of character in a beautiful location above the village but close to the Valbiolo slopes. The decor in the standard rooms is somewhat dated but clean and comfortable. Apparently awaiting permission for renovations.The rooms are slightly dark as the windows are fairly small. The owners and staff are extremely nice and helpful. The food is very tasty, much more interesting than your average ski hotel, with emphasis on local cuisine and nicely presented. They were also very accommodating to my veggi food requirements. We would definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Etu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    71
    33
    17
    16
See reviews for
78
104
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

when we first arrived at the La Mirandola we were amazed by the incredible design and atmosphere of the place, which is a 900 years old monastery and a pianist was playing music all night. later on we understood this is going to be the absolute best dining experience we have ever had.
the food was very good and presented beautifully AND ABOVE ALL, the restaurant’s owner is the most kind and interesting man with an incredible passion for the profession of dining and restaurant managing. He gave the most personal service we have ever seen, and during the conversation with him about traditional food, he gave us some to try. Also, the dishes were so creativley made, and all of us ate in restaurants around the world and we were still shocked by how suprising the dishes were. It is sure a night we will remember for a long long time, and the inspiration will probably never fade.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our son was competing in a ski competition and staying in a nearby hotel with the rest of his school trip. My husband and I wanted somewhere with character as many of the hotels in the town seemed very purpose-built bland. La Mirandola did not disappoint in any way. We arrived late - after dinner - but Roberta and Raimundo went out of their way to organize a four-course meal for us, even though the kitchens were closing. The food was amazing, and Raimundo and my husband enjoyed discussing the huge variety of local Trentino wines on offer. The room was basic but very clean, and although the shower was small it wa spbeautifully powerful. We had a stunning floor-to-ceiling window with rock-floored blacony that overlooked the valley and the room was quiet and warm. It was cleaned daily, with plenty of fresh towels and when we asked for extra pillows they were there the next time we went to the room. It was an easy few minutes walk over to the nearest piste - a blue - and a quick minute ski down to the chairlift. It was very quiet there when we went one lunchtime as most people eat out on the mountain but it was buzzy and vibey on the terrace after the lifts closed and at dinner. We just loved the 12th century rock-walled vaulted dining rooms that used to be stables and there's an excellent pianist who starts up on a wide repertoire if anyone walks in. Clientele was equally split between families and couples, all the staff spoke very good English and were so friendly. In our opinion - having also spent a fair amount of time with our son's group at their 4-star place - it's the best place in PT: lovely atmosphere, brilliant food and wine, great service, friendly faces. The 'no frills' bedrooms stop it from being a boutique hotel, but we dont' care, we'll still be going back next year, and the year after that...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We did not stay at the hotel, but just down the road, and only went there for one evening meal. It seemed a peculiar location - quite exotic, really - and had seen it from the piste. When we asked at our local hotel, where was a good meal to be had? they immediately pointed us to 'La Mirandola'. We chose to walk up there, perched above the township, but Raimondo would just us easily have picked us up. The secluded setting said nothing of the grand interiors and fab food. Many hotel guests were already dining in the huge stone-vaulted caverns and we were placed nicely to take in the ambience of the cloth lined tables, lively talk and piano music somewhere in the distance. The service was impeccable. Raimondo employs young service-minded fluent english-speaking waitresses, to help us take advantage of the many Trentino specialities offered on the menu. We gorged in! Try the local oat-based egg pancake with Porcini (local stone mushrooms) and Ricotta. Yummy! I have never had better porcini anywhere. Or the 'Strangolapreti' a dish, Raimondo tells us, was devised to strangel the local priesthood as they sat at table discussions in the pre-Fransciscan period, to divide the wealth of the church. We were not undone, neither was the priest. It is a typical Italian Alp-dish that features minced meat, breadcrumbs, and lards served up in a broth, and wil get you nice and warm on a chilly evening. And the wines, oh those Trentino reds....I rest my case. Try a 'Polvero Nero' at prices you could not get them for at a shop at home. We finished off with an innovative creation 'Tiramisu sconvolto' Exploded Tiramisu! I wont say too much - just try it! They must be getting close to a Michelin star?
Anyway, after the meal Raimondo showed us around in the house, just to get a feel of the harsh periods under the Vatican, and he is very knowledgable of the local history, even though he is himself from Sicily. And just to cap it off, he drove us back Down to our hotel.
Have definitively not been there for the last time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ideally situated, get away from it all location, this hotel lives up to all that it promises with its friendly staff, delicious, traditional Trentino menu and the warm hospitality of the owners. Raymondo and his wife could not have done more to make us feel welcome during our week's stay. The rooms are clean and warm and full of traditional Alpine character with the timber beams. The excellent spa,comprising steam room, sauna and jacuzzi was welcome after a hard days skiing. Access to the piste is via a track from the hotel, but there is also a shuttle bus that can take you down to the village at the start of the day, and will pick you up after skiing if required.
We had a great week and would recommend La Mirandola to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms are cleaned daily and new towels supplied
Food is good but not a huge range per day hotel is a long way from town the free bus they have is once or twice a day so be prepared to have a long walk to and from the town

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

One of most expensives hotels, romantically located up on the hill, over Passo del Tonale town. Expect long waiting for the meal (e.g.50 min for starters and another 1h for the main course). Not friendly and posh-style staff. No return, no recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahela_warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#18 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#16 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel locanda Locatori
Hotel locanda Locatori
#19 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#11 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mirandola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mirandola

Property: Hotel La Mirandola
Address: Localita Ospizio 3, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mirandola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Mirandola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing