We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange and compelling geologic formation”
Review of Crete Senesi

Crete Senesi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$165.98*
and up
Small-Group Montepulciano and Pienza Day Trip from Siena
More Info
US$224.07*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Arezzo and Cortona from Siena
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Asciano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Strange and compelling geologic formation”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Straight out of science fiction. I am surprised they don't film James Bond films here as a background. The lush landscape gives way to desolate dunes in mounds. Begins at the Benedictine abbey olivette, another very wonderful destination

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    42
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Classic Tuscan views”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you are looking for classic Tuscan views of lone cypress trees, rolling fields of greens and multiple shades of brown punctured with the white of the sharp ridges, isolated farmsteads with drives line with trees - then drive through The Crete. It is stunning and there are places to stop safely and take those wonderful pictures. There are a number of routes we started at Taverne d'Arbia and headed towards Asciano. Some of the roads are twisty and some are very narrow but it is well worth it. End the trip at Montalcino and you will be rewarded with the views from the Fortezza, a lovely lunch and excellent wine - this is the home of the Brunello. Driving back - the shadows and colours will have changed so you'll have a whole new set of photos to take.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderwoman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdez, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Classic Tuscan Drive”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Awesome Tuscan drive through hills, small towns, grain fields, truffle region, and vineyards. Some very cool hill towns along the way. We cruised up towards Siena and then made our way back to Castiglion Fiorentino along the Crete Senesi route. Make sure to stop at the smaller towns and grab some wine at Montepulciano in one of the areas many tasting rooms.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cemoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuid Scharwoude
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The most beautiful view of the world”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Crete Senesi, the spectacular landscape between Asciano and Siena, is definitely one of the most spectecular regions in the world. Unesco inheritage, stunning views and sometimes really dangerour because people stop their cars wherever they like in order to take the picture of their life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BartMuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Center
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were with Collette Tours and we stayed in a castle in the heart of Crete Senesi. Usually, tourists pay extra to be taken to this place for photo ops. This area is absolutely enchanting with its green, gentle, rolling hills dotted with Tuscan farmhouses and lines of Italian cypress. We were in the middle of nowhere, hence there was no name of a town. We were only 40 minutes from Florence and in the other direction, 40 minutes from Sienna. It was so peaceful there and our view from the hotel grounds of the rolling hills was gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous. Ahh, this was Tuscany at its best, Tuscany as romantics would view it. I would go back there in a hearbeat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crete Senesi also viewed

 
Bagni di San Filippo, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Crete Senesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing