We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to our favourite hilltop retreat”
Review of Castagni d'Oro B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castagni d'Oro B&B
Ranked #6 of 11 Bagni di Lucca B&B and Inns
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back to our favourite hilltop retreat”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Back again to our favourite little B&B. The two rooms are perfect for us and the kids, both large and airy. Breakfast was the same high standard and now having broadband, I was even able to get online with my kindle in the garden. No TVs in the rooms anymore, but who needs TV when you can get out and enjoy the walks on the mountain.

Now the kids are getting bigger they loved to walk around the village looking for lizards on the walls. This year, the bar has reopened in the village and this meant we could eat without having to jump in the car and make the 15mins trip to the bottom of the hill at Bagni di Lucca. A wonderful new pizza oven, pasta and meat dishes meant we ate there for the majority of the stay.

Hope we can make another visit soon.

Room Tip: The blue room has lovely views towards the Piazza and the church, the red room has views of the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlj2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We found Castagni D'Oro in Bagni di Luccas's tourist information, and we were very surprised with the great quality of this B&B, in many aspects: Adrian and and Louise are very gentle and provided us with everything we needed; the rooms are big, clean and charmous; everything very clean; the breakfast was for sure the best one in our whole trip, with nice cheese, meat, yogurt, cereals, fruits, tea, coffee...; the citiy Brandeglio is very quiet, perfect for ones who want rest and nature; the road to bagni di lucca is beautiful; the region has a lot of actratives, with a car you go everywhere and come back to the calm Brandeglio.

All this points lead us to rank Castagni D'Oro as the best B&B we've been in our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamiroMurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this lovely place in short- term and we got more than expected. We (young couple) came by motorbike into this very cute village. The way up was everything a bike loves. The small cottage is managed by an original awesome english couple. The room is decorated in english style. You find tea and everything you needed. This place is really something for biker, bicyclist, hiker and people who like nature and a more than lovely sleeping place. We enjoyed a lot our short "take a break" and will definitively come back. Thanks a lot for everything!!!

Room Tip: Each room (they have two) will be awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famelive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I found Castagni d'Oro a beautiful B&B with all the facilities I wanted and the setting was delightful: scenic and peaceful. The breakfasts were a treat as was dinner. A very easy going place to stay. Louise and Adrian were helpful without being intrusive. We enjoyed walking around the village and it was a good base to explore from. Our bedroom was well appointed with a comfortable bed & good hot shower. A kettle for tea and coffee making with plenty of biscuits was welcome. English speaking TV channels appreciated! It was a most relaxing stay. Definitely recommend Castagni d'Oro for a visit to Tuscany or if you are just passing through.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for three nights and used Castagni d'Oro as a base to explore the region. While built a few hundred years ago the house has been modernised yet retains its old charm. It was very comfortable with all we needed in our room. Good ensuite bathroom. The village and surrounding hillside house is picturesque and peaceful. A quiet location. The view from our bedroom window was delightful. Breakfast and dinner were well presented and top class. Breakfast seemed to cater for every taste!! One thing I love about staying at a B&B is the people you meet and our hosts Louise and Adrian were delightful and full of information about the region and travelling in Italy. Meeting other guests was also a delight and we enjoyed conversation over a fine meal. One of my most delighful stays in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opmeer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

we spent a wonderful week high in the tuscany mountains in this beautiful bed and breakfast. Adrian and Louise, the charming hosts, were always ready with friendly advise and tips about the local area and all the pleasant chats around the breakfast table were an added bonus to our holiday. The village is a wonderful place to get away from the tourist hustle and bustle down in the valley, a perfect place to relax, The drive up is at first a bit of a surprise but the once up it is easy to understand why Adrian and Louise chose this charming village to start up their bed and breakfast. We enjoyed every moment and hopefully it won't be our last visit

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eger, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you wish to stay in a typical Tuscan village among the hills and have quiet and peacful time, it is the perfect place to stay. Louise and Adrian are really kind and helpful owners, they gave us all of the useful details in connection with the area. During our trip, Castagni d'Oro was a basepoint, from where we headed to our destinations every morning (Lucca, Viareggio, Pisa, Firenze, etc.) It is a lovely place with nice houses and a lovely sounding bell in the church.
A fact to remember is that Brandeglio is almost on top of a hill, where a 6km long narrow and curvy way leads from Bagni di Lucca, but we think if you are after a quiet time, it is worth it. We highly recommend staying in Castagni d'Oro.

Barbara and Ákos, Hungary

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagni di Lucca hotels
3.0 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Corona
Albergo Ristorante Corona
#3 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Regina
Park Hotel Regina
#1 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
227 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Lucchesi
Villa Lucchesi
#2 of 11 in Bagni di Lucca
61 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo Pian di Fiume
Agriturismo Pian di Fiume
#2 of 10 in Bagni di Lucca
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
B&B Villa Rosalena
B&B Villa Rosalena
#1 of 11 in Bagni di Lucca
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castagni d'Oro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castagni d'Oro B&B

Property: Castagni d'Oro B&B
Address: Via Montaglioni 25 | Brandeglio, 55022, Bagni di Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Bagni di Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bagni di Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castagni d'Oro is a beautiful 350 year old Tuscan village house in a pretty little hilltop village, surrounded by lush green hills and deep valleys high above the spa town of Bagni di Lucca in Northern Tuscany. Two bright and airy guest rooms with en-suite bathrooms, coffee, tea and biscuits, and full of original features such as beams and terracotta floors. Substantial breakfasts provided, in addition to private parking. Spectacular views of surrounding hills, mountains and valleys. Free high speed Internet and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Castagni d'Oro B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castagni D'Oro B&B Bagni Di Lucca, Province Of Lucca, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing