We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”
Review of Buca Di Baldabo'

Buca Di Baldabo'
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This was recommended in Lonely Planet, which we have found pretty reliable, as 'worth a trip' - it wasn't so far from our base in Barga and we had been in Bagni di Lucca for the afternoon, so we wound our way up the steep hairpin bends to this little village, having rung in the morning to check opening hours as recommended in the book! It certainly was worth the trip. It was without doubt the best food I have ever eaten in Italy. No printed menu - as the lovely woman serving us said - 'I am the menu'- but there was plenty choice and every mouthful was an absolute delight! We had two different pastas for Primi Piatti - a ravioli so thin it was silken in your mouth, filled with wonderfully flavoured wild game, and taglialini with a ragu of sausage, saffron and other tasty stuff I can't remember! I followed this with rabbit with olives, my partner had delicious pork, and we had very drinkable house wine. One thing which struck me was a very subtle but magical use of spices - and some unusual ones - and herbs which lifted the dishes to a new level. Unfortunately for me most of the desserts than night happened to involve almond, which I dislike, but I had yummy meringue with lashings of small sweet strawberries and cream. We both had a couple of drinks on the terrace before which was fun too, bar is well used by locals and full of character. Service was excellent. There were only 3 other tables that night, but it wasn't into high season and I believe at the weekend and holidays it is very busy so booking is advisable. All this for less than 60 Euros! Such great value. Also noticed that families at the other table were very welcomed. As LP said - 'worth the trip'!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank celticchickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    41
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful, authentic experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

From the trio of pastas to the torta nonna. Great, well presented rural cooking at its' best. The cook/waitress explained our whole meal in detail and was really helpful. There is no secret to this place. Do not expect haute cuisine. But gnocchi with courgette flower sauce and roe deer in olives with green beans. Simple, tasty and truly hard to beat. Best meal of our week in the area. By far. Bravo.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best meals ever”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were in the area for a wedding and four of us ate here on our last evening. We were told on booking that there was no menu but that we would be told what was available on arrival. I am vegetarian so was a bit apprehensive but I was very well catered for, as were we all. The food was delicious, one of the best meals I've ever had - and my partner is a chef! He too was very impressed.
The lady who served us was lovely and her English is excellent. I told her that if her restaurant was in Manchester there would be a three months waiting list to get a table and she blushed delightfully. Not only was the food, wine and atmosphere fantastic but 3 courses, wine and coffee for four people came to €108, approx. £90.
I would highly recommend anyone travelling in this area of Tuscany to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were treated to two dinners by our family who regularly stay at Vico. We were warned that the restaurant was authentic and the menu amazing. We can confirm that this is the case and the welcome from Giovanna and Luisa is special. Two great dinners. Thank you .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SportivoLynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely view, very nice food”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A little out of the way, but very well worth the drive up the mountain if you are in the area or stopping through. This is a very pleasant place to have dinner outside. The food is great, but not michelin star, mind you. It is a rustic homey and lovely experience with very friendly service and a fabulous portions for great prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buca Di Baldabo' also viewed

 
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Buca Di Baldabo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing