We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bellisimo - perfect place for a true Tuscan...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rossa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fflow
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful house but not prepared”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely home for one week . The location is beautiful, but would've been better with a car as the public transport is not all that often. In saying that we loved exploring the little town and enjoyed our meals at local restaurants -and shopping for Italian shoes at the local shoe shop!!
After having stayed in many holiday homes both in europe and australia and New Zealand we felt that this was not presented to the standard we would expect. On our arrival it was cold and the house had not been heated (which is ok) but there was no fire lighting materials (matches, paper, fire lighter) also we couldnt get the gas heating to turn on and after three phonecalls to Joanna still no heating for our first night - the owners did come and fix it for the next day thankfully. There were no tea towels, no toilet paper,no kitchen cloth, no toaster, and the kitchen was not well set up for cooking.
For the price we paid this should have been done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The town
Liked least: HOuse not being prepared for our arrival
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2012
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you found the villa and it's location lovely. We are sorry you felt the villa was ill prepared. We do however feel that we would like to respond to the points you raised regarding this. We cannot agree that the items listed were missing, as we personally place these items in the villa ourselves and did so before your arrival. If they were indeed missing, you needed only to have told us, on the occasions when you called for us to organise your trips and taxis and we would have rectified the matter. The heating as explained at your welcome meeting, was pre set and yes it did go off however, as you were aware this was due to it being switched off by yourselves in error. We pride ourselves on the service we give our clients, as reviews on our property with other holiday websites show. We are sorry that you were not happy on leaving, however as we are sure you will appreciate, the next people arriving would want to find the villa in the same lovely condition that you yourselves found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonie R
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bellisimo - perfect place for a true Tuscan experience”
Reviewed 25 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Fantastic villa, great location, wonderful owners, beautiful weather, friendly natives - what more can we say. Having found the villa by comparing what seemed like thousands of rentals to see what suited for birthday celebrations for a group of "young at heart", we couldn't have done better (what a fluke!). On the outskirts of La Villa which is a small, but well equipped village, the villa is within walking distance of supermarket, shops, bars, restaurants, English speaking tourist office and public transport. No need for a car. Sounds busy, but the villa is on a very quiet no through road, within earshot of the River Lima. Jo, Antonio and Massi were more than our hosts, they became friends, sharing information, lifts in their little Fiat Panda, local walks, special dinners with an English chef and a local Tuscan nonna, not to mention their lovely home-made preserves and home-grown produce. We wish them the best of luck with their organic farm and the tours they have on the drawing board. We can't wait to visit again, might even tackle those mule trails again after a bit of training - Trevor and Leonie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience - very special
Liked least: Not staying longer
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2012
Thank you for your review we are so pleased you liked the villa and Bagni di Lucca. It does have a great location for seeing the main sights of Tuscany, such as Pisa & Florence. The property is on the outskirts of the thermal village, so it is in the countryside, yet you are only a few minutes walk to the historical centre. We know this is one of the things you loved about the villa. It was so nice meeting you all hope to see you again in the future, until then take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“FANTASTIC - brilliant hosts who were more than helpful in a beautiful village.”
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

What a beautiful place to spend time with friends! Easy walking to the village that has everything you need - especially the very helpful English speaking Information Centre lady! A well located villa that caters for any needs or interests - great walking, tourist attractions (easy train or bus rides away), views, food, drink and well setup villa with the comforts of home. Antonio and Joanna offered us more than walking tours and delicious dinners with English chefs and Italian Mamma meals (authentic Tuscan meal). Joanna's home grown and made produce is magnificent. I wish them all the best with their organic farm of olives, truffles and saffron and hope they get their tours up and running next year - absolutely worth the visit. Hope I can return in the not too distant future. Janet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Pillows on beds - a choice would be great.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2011
Hello, thank you so much for your kind review we are so pleased you loved your stay at Villa Rossa as well as the day trips with us. We do hope you can come back, as we think you will just love our new produce and day trips. The property is perfect for group or large family holidays as you said as it is so close to everything. You don't need a car to enjoy Tuscany with us as we can offer airport pick up and drop off and day excursions for those wanting to see more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing