We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place, views and people”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anniepont...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Gorgeous place, views and people”
Reviewed 15 December 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I absolutely loved my stay here! The apartment is cozy and very comfortable and the surrounding vistas are spectacular. I couldn’t have asked for more wonderful hosts in Joanna and Antonio. They became like family. What a wonderful experience. I can’t wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. Some repeat clients like yourself ask in low season only rent part of the house as you said in your review the vistas are spectacular. All year round the views never cease to amaze us as they simply change with the seasons. We love helping our guests experience Tuscany and all it has to offer. Whatever the size or ages of our client group, there is always something for everyone to enjoy here in this amazing part of Italy. Hope your trip back went ok and thank you again for your kind review. Take care Antonio & Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia S
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow, I Have Found Paradise”
Reviewed 15 December 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Arriving in this oasis of calm was just what I needed. The fantastic views from the terrace were simply breathtaking. I will also never forget the pure magic of being able to fall sleep on one of those comfy loungers; helping myself to a few of the juicy black grapes that hung, just within reach above my head. I've also never quite seen the stars like that before. With there being no pollution, I felt I could almost touch each twinkle, and I know its crazy but I ended up falling asleep there, it was so magical. The accommodation was also very comfortable; I don't know where they get those mattresses, but it was much comfier than mine at home. I will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2017
Wow thank you for your review Sonia. We loved having you all stay and yes swinging in the hammocks, under the starry night listening to the crickets and watching the shooting stars, is something quite amazing. You must come again in June to see the magical displays of the fireflies. The gazebos around the property are covered with grapes, roses and wisteria as well as the sweet Tuscan jasmine. Whatever the time of yearwe always tend to have organic farm fruits available for clients to enjoy. Thank you so much for your review and repeat booking for 2018. We are so looking forward to see you and the extended family you are bringing with you, we are sure you will enjoy the new pool set in the olive groves. kind regards Antonio & Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt18027...
Norfolk, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Italian home from home.”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We'll spare you the details of the rental as you'll see from others' reviews the facilities on offer, but we were looking for a relaxing week in the countryside, a pool for our eleven year old daughter and somewhere comfortable to be. The property certainly fulfilled all three for us; I forgot I wasn't at home a couple of times and even nodded off during the day which I never do!

We went to Lucca, but that was, on the first week of the holidays, far too full of tourists and poor-quality food and drink. We very much enjoyed the restaurants at the bottom of the village; La Lira does THE best pizzas in Italy, the Circolo dei Forestieri restaurant does some terrific food in a great setting, it looks like it's going to be expensive but it's not and the service and food is great.

We like wandering about in small villages, absorbing Italy and its inhabitants and enjoyed our trips to Montefegatesi, Barga and Lucchio. No-one about, nice cafes, interesting villages, cathedrals and enjoying proper food and drink, including the good ice cream, not the supermarket-quality ones in Lucca.

Driving; one year, we got upgraded to a big car and thought we'd lucked out, not so; our advice is to go small if you can, we had a Fiat 500, which I managed to get into third gear once or twice on the hilly road up to the property. I have to say I do enjoy this drive, constantly spinning the wheel with one hand and changing gear with the other all the way up and coasting on the way down too. You will meet traffic very quickly and will then think, I'm glad I read that guy's review and chose a small car! The turn into the property is pretty tight too and a small car is again a positive.

Usually when we leave a property, we have the same question about whether we would stay there again and there was no hesitation from all three of us that we would.

Hope this helps if you're planning a visit.

Matt, Sam & Sophie Cooper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, solitude, views.
Liked least: Tiny, tiny criticism; can be a bit of a faff going to the pool from the house as the two areas aren't directly connected and maybe mosquito nets in the bedroom. But these are very minor, no biggie.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Wow thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased when our clients love our rental and it's location as much as we do. It is a real piece of Tuscan paradise with private parking, BBQ, pizza oven, 2 gardens and and pool soley for your use and not to forget the Amazing Tuscan views. On the outskirts of a quaint village it is a real hit with our clients who love the location and it proximity to the usual tourist attractions Tuscan has to offer. Not forgetting the local places to visit,as you mentioned in your review they are off the usual tourist track, amazingly Italian and unchanged for centuries. The food is delicious cheap and well the vino they provide speaks for itself. We offer a local taxi service through Marco who is cheap and useful when you want to sample the vino or go wine tasting! Thanks again and ciao for now Joanna and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmchugh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely short break up in the hills of rural Tuscany”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here in late April for a short 4-night break. Lovely farmhouse semi-detached villa, very well decorated and kitted out, and in a pleasantly isolated spot in the mountains above Bagni di Lucca - great views, as mentioned in other reviews! Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there and we didn't make use of the pool, so can't comment on that, but as a quiet place to chill out in rural Tuscany for a few days it was lovely.
I would definitely recommend having a car though, I think you might feel a bit isolated without your own transport. SatNav also a very good idea!
Good base for exploring the region as well - about 40 mins from Lucca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you for your review. Some people like to hire cars to get around and explore the area and a Sat Nav is always a plus. Others prefer not to hire a car and have a complete chill out holiday and use Marco our local taxi driver who is very cheap, if they want to get out and about. The weather can be hot as it was once you left, or cooler as it was when you stayed this time of year. However, even on bad weather days there is lots to see and do in and around the area as you found out. Lucca is always a big hit with our clients and not far away. You can also enjoy many other festivals this time of year, such as the Giro d'Italia the second most famous bike race after the tour de france and the Mille Miglia rally, where you can see priceless classic cars driving through the centre of Bagni di Lucca a 10 minute drive away from the property. Thank you again for your kind review. Joanna and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krkptrck
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“comfortable house in lovely, authentic area”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed a week in late October with two small children. Comfortable and well equipped apartment in quiet hilltop village with most breathtaking views of the mountains of Garfagnana. Direct area sees relatively few tourists so is very authentic, whilst hotspots like Lucca and Chianti are within easy reach. Good internet access. Hosts were very nice and accessible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: authenticity of area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you loved the farmhouse. It is great when groups like yourselves stay and love the property and the area. Part of the farmhouse is like an apartment which is where you stayed and this is ideal for those with multi family groups. Il fienile is perfect for those wanting to relax as well as those like youselves who want to use it as a base to explore Tuscany such as the Siena, Chianti, Lucca, Florence & Pisa. Hope your trip home went ok. Thanks again for the review. Kind regards Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daviescee...
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely property with fabulous mountain views”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at this property for a week in September. Set within a mountain landscape the views from the property were beautiful, the property itself was very clean and well maintained and the kitchen very well equipped. Both Joanna and Antonio were very welcoming and on hand should we have needed any help with anything. Would recommend to any one who wants to stay in peaceful place but still close enough to have half day trips to places like Lucca which we liked a lot, we also took the train to Florence one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location and great views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review, It was lovely meeting you both and we are so glad you loved the property. The views are really stunning all around the property and its location as you mentioned means that you can see many of the famous areas of Tuscany with ease. The train to Florence takes out the stress of driving and finding parking and we tend to recommend this as an option to our guests coming in peak season especially. The other cities and places such as the Cinque Terre are easy to visit by car of public transport too. Thanks again for the review. regards Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Jameson
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem in the Tuscany hills”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We arrived after a 2day drive from the UK and were immediately struck by the location and views from the property. After an excellent night's sleep in the very comfy bed we woke and opened the shutters in the bedroom to spectacular views of the hills surrounding the property made even better by the gorgeous blue sky and sun. The property is very comfortable and has all that you need. Close to Bagni di Lucca which is a lovely town made up of small villages with excellent cafés and a cake shop! Lucca is only a 30 to 40 min drive away and is an impressive walled city. Good base for exploring Pisa, Florence and Siena. Also close to the coast if you want some beach action. Some of the smaller towns like Barga are also well worth a look, and you're on the footsteps of the Strada del Vino, a route linking the vineyards of Lucca to Monte Carlo. Jo and Antonio could not have been more welcoming, friendly and always happy to help when we quizzed them about options on what to do and where to go. They were also a godsend when medical attention was required (nothing serious, just clumsy!!), and always have their guests front of mind. In all, great property in a stunning location, looked after by a fantastic couple!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views & friendliness of owners
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Wow thank you so much for this review. As you found during your stay the property has been equipped with luxury fixtures and fittings to ensure our guests have a comfortable rental home. From Il Fienile you can choose to explore Tuscany and all it has to offer or, simply chill out by the pool and relax in the gardens. People booking with us, as you mentioned in your review have peace of mind knowing that we are there for our guests, to help if needed.The property is in a beautiful location with loads to see and do, right on your doorstep, from wine tasting, days out at the beach, shopping at the local markets or walking in the Tuscan Hills. A holiday at Il Fienile can offer something for everyone!! Thanks again keep in touch and take care Joanna & Antonio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing