We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delicious dining beside the river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Ristorante Corona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Ristorante Corona
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bagni di Lucca
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delicious dining beside the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just spent a week in Bagni di Lucca enjoyed wonderful food each evening in the beautifully located terrace restaurant of the Albergo Ristorante Corona. The location is lovely, and the delicious four course dinners served by charming and friendly staff. They speak good English and patiently explain the menu. Bagni di Lucca is a charming, slightly off the tourist map place, and the Corona Hotel is an excellent place to eat. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    131
    32
    13
    11
See reviews for
41
157
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place last night. We arrived quite late at night and still the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in, rooms were spacious and clean. To make this 5 out of 5 I think the rooms need updating but that's the only thing we could think of.

We woke up and had an amazing breakfast on the balcony over-looking the river. After that we drove down to towards Pisa!

Great stay and will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The perfect place to escape when Tourist Tuscany is getting oppressive is to get to Bagni di Lucca and a visit to its Restaurant with Rooms aka Albergo Ristorante Corona. Bagni di Lucca is one of those places which has been somewhat left behind somewhere short of the second decade of this century, and refreshingly so! This small hotel perched directly on the south bank of the wildly scenic River Lima is a real find--a bargain, and almost an oddity which will appeal to some--maybe not to everyone. It faces onto the main-ish valley highway between San Marcello Pistoiese and Lucca--itself a scenic byway for the adventurous driver--as this road is squeezed into medieval narrowness through that part of Bagni known as Ponte Serraglio--fairly grimy and thunderous at times--it's best to ask for a room on the riverside. But the only noise once arrived inside the building is the constant rush of the river over the weir the hotel overlooks. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and although the interior is whimsical, our room (no 25) was delightfully newly-decorated, clean and comfortable and had a bathroom of the quality of some 4-star hotels. Very pleasant views out of both a window and French window onto a small balcony which would be hard to beat in many establishments. The restaurant downstairs is a pleasant room overlooking this scenic riverview (with the old casino picturesquely sitting on the opposite bank). Food is good in an unpretentious way and limited in choice; there are four courses in the set menu priced at €24. A polpette seafood salad was particularly outstanding, as was braised wild boar with polenta. Highly recommended for those of you wanting an unusual place to eat and stay. We stayed five nights and felt revived. Note: it is possible to get to Bagni by public transport from Pisa or Lucca: The busses from Lucca set you down about a hundred yards from the Corona; getting the train to Bagni di Lucca station (aka Fornoli) is OK, but busses have to be timed carefully--taxis are not really in evidence. From the Corona, it's a pleasant 20-minute walk up the tree-lined road to the real centre of Bagni Villa. This part, too, has its own adagio with a particular charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulWuE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a six night stay at the Corona, we were using it as a base while we do up our own place in Dezza Alta. the Corona is a fabulous Victorian-era building over looking the river in Bagni di Lucca a spa town with hot thermal baths which are well worth a visit too. Rooms are simple, but very clean. The staff were delightful and - while some complain they do not speak very good English I bet it is better than your Italian. Do not miss the restaurant - it is menu fiso (limited to just two choices per course) but all fesh, local and very good value for Italy. They also have a great wine list ( remember the best Italian wines tend to be the odd numbered years). We loved this place and if you want to experience simple Tuscan pleasures this is a great place to stay.
Damien Brook

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Corona for 5 days, during that time we found the staff very friendly, helpful and and welcoming, they bent over backwards to meet our requests especially when we had a medical emergency in the middle of the night and we were more than supported in terms of the language barrier and where to find what we needed. The food was brilliant, I looked forward to dinner every day.
The service we received from the Hotel Corona played a huge part in our memory of our time in Italy and I am happy to say, I look forward to our next visit and hope that we can find as good a service as at Hotel Corona all over Italy.

Room Tip: Room facing the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michellemonica19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I never like to post negative things, so it is with a heavy heart I must say...there are way better places to dine in Barga...this was the first restaurant we visited on this trip, and, prompted by the great ratings on TA knew this would be a great place to have our first real Tuscan meal. Well, not. The food was very bland, not at all well seasoned. The ambiance was nonexistent...just dimming the overhead lights would have helped tremendously...I ordered chicken asparagus...thought it might be grilled with some great grilled asparagus, but instead it was served with a gloppy gravy and limp, overlooked veg. Unfortunately, yuk. My husband ordered the pork medallions...there were 3 tiny (maybe 2 inch) discs of so-so meat.

Worst of all...bathroom is situated in the basement...2 stories down from the restaurant.

My heart goes out to this obviously very hard working family...they have been stalwarts for ears, but this place needs an overhaul and some new blood. There are better,places to dine in Barga, unfortunately.

Helpful?
1 Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Fantastic 4 day bike riding break in Italy. Room very clean, food excellent and staff went out of their way to help us. Would strongly recommend. Half board very reasonable rate.

Very attractive village, excellent starting point for riding.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagni di Lucca
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Regina
Park Hotel Regina
#1 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
7.8 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#4 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Talenti Holiday Apartments
Villa Talenti Holiday Apartments
#5 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Milano
Hotel Ristorante Milano
#1 of 2 in Borgo a Mozzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Corona

Property: Albergo Ristorante Corona
Address: Via di Serraglia 78, 55022, Bagni di Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Bagni di Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bagni di Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ristorante Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Corona Hotel Bagni Di Lucca
Albergo Ristorante Corona Bagni Di Lucca, Province Of Lucca, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing