We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely stay. Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
marthall
Ullesthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely stay. Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived to the time we sadly had to leave for home, we felt completely relaxed at the Contented Tuscan. The views across the wooded valley from the terrace is worth it by itself, but that would be failing to mention how high the overall standard of the accommodation is. The bedrooms are spacious, the ensuite bathrooms modern and fresh and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need.
Adding to that in Denise & Steve you have hosts who were just great, I would happily recommend this villa to anyone wishing to stay in this lovely part of Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home and for your appreciation of the house and views. We are so pleased that our set up hit the mark, you and your friends having a super holiday experience means a lot to us. It was a pleasure having you here as our guests and look forward to seeing you again soon. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You really do need to believe all the hype!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Like most people we read plenty of reviews before making an informed decision on whether to rent this property. All reviews were positive and we absolutely made the right decision in going ahead. Denise and Steve are an adorable couple who greeted us warmly and very friendly on arrival. We had a late arrival time and had arranged with them to have a pasta meal cooked upon arrival at their suggestion. The outside table had been layed and fresh salad, olives, bread and the pasta provided with wine also. It was beautiful and gave us a great first impression. Denise showed us round and explained everything very thoroughly (cooker etc). The beds were comfortable and the 2 bedrooms were adorned in typical Italian taste. Attention to detail of the decor was first class and the whole place was spotlessly clean. The kitchen was furnished with more pots, pans, cutlery, crockery than we have owned in a lifetime. The dining room had a great big table as well as a sofa and chairs, the room again very tastefully decorated and furnished.
The outside area had 4 comfortable loungers with padding provided, 4 easy chairs under an umbrella if you needed shade and the dining table for outside dining, also under cover. The paved area was lovely and the steps leading down to the pool from the house were full of character. There are probably 150 potted plants around the place so looked beautiful, on a particular lazy day in the sun I counted around 60 in the front garden alone. Best talk about the view now, sitting on a lounger looking over the Tuscan hills was amazing, truly stunning and a view that will live forever in the memory. The pool was actually bigger in our opinion than the photos suggested and was great for a quick cool off.
Denise and Steve live downstairs and this may possibly make people think that as a problem when considering whether to rent but I must reassure you that their living quarters are absolutely separate and in no way did we feel uncomfortable. In fact, we saw it as a bonus they were nearby as they were available to answer questions regarding the nearest supermarket, train ticket information etc when we needed help. We have had the best time. Many thanks Steve and Denise for providing us with a lovely rural retreat, you really have something special...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and attention to detail
Liked least: mosquitoes on an evening outside but not much anyone can do about that in the countryside
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Many thanks for such a lovely review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday here at The Contented Tuscan. We are also happy that our pasta supper hit the spot on your first evening. We feel it really important that our guests settle in and start enjoying our holiday home and gardens as soon as they arrive.
We are glad the kitchen had everything you needed, the view across the valley while cooking is one of our favorite views. Thanks tor your comments on the décor of our home. Sourcing antique items for the house and garden is a joy and it’s great to know our guests enjoy them too. Lastly, thank you for your kind comments regarding us as hosts – you were all truly wonderful guests and we really hope we get a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trabrew
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Peaceful Home”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this property to anyone seeking a truly peaceful and authentic Tuscan experience. First the hosts Denise & Steve are the most lovely people, they were there to offer any advice or help required and on the other hand gave us full privacy during our stay.

Words cannot express how beautiful this place is, both the home and environment. The cottage is beautifully decorated, everyday we spotted something new. Whilst we chose to eat out and experience the lovely Tuscan food - should you wish to make meals there is everything you would need to eat and create meals here.

My husband and Sister who stayed also had nothing but positive things to say about our stay and our wonderful hosts!! Should I have the luck of getting back to Bagni Di Lucca I will definitely book this property.

Thanks again Steve & Denise :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Your kind comments about us as hosts, appreciation of our house and views is much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right. You were a pleasure to have as guests at our home and we very much hope to see you again Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbel...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to chill and relax”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived home today after 2 beautiful weeks at the contented Tuscan. This is a lovely rustic cottage in a very quiet hilltop village, with 2 double ensure rooms this layout was great for 2 couples. Kitchen was very well equipped with quality appliances and the sitting room had an exceptional collection of DVDs.
The views from the terrace and pool were fantastic with an ever changing view on nature, over the period we saw swifts, fire flies, birds of prey and huge numbers of butterflies.
The true stars of the villa however have to be Steve and Denise, the owners live very discreetly in the basement of the property they helped us book taxis, restaurants, trains, Denise even cooked us a delicious macaroni cheese without using cows milk- a brilliant meal, well researched to meet our dietary requirements.

I cannot recommend this place enough, it is exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home, and for your appreciation of the house and views. We are so pleased that our set up hit the mark, you and your guests having a super holiday experience means a lot to us. The weather played its part and pleased you got to see some super local sights as well as your trip to Florence.
You were wonderful guests and we really hope to see you here again.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ah... The Serenity!”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely amazing stay, I really didn't want to leave this idyllic place.
Steve and Denise made us feel extremely welcome and even met us at the door and had a welcome package for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The villa had everything you could possibly need and more.
The whole area is stunning but you do need to hire a car to get out and about but it is well worth it. You could just as easily stay put at the villa and just relax the hours away looking at the stunning views from the patio.
Thankyou Steve and Denise I came away totally relaxed. Definitely a place to re-visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the villa, the welcome.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home and your appreciation of our house and views. We are pleased our welcome hamper was well received and ensured you had a great start to your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabbieYou...
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best equipped and best hosted holiday home we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing. Denise and Steve made us feel incredibly welcome and were available whenever we needed them but if we didn't, we didn't see them which made the holiday home feel lovely and private. The home was so well equipped, from complimentary robes, to the best equipped kitchen we have ever utilised! Their attention to detail is second to none. We had a beautiful welcome hamper with enough supplies to keep us going for the initial part of the holiday including 2 bottles of plonk. The home is situated in a small village but the walk down the mountain (4km) to the local town of Bagni di Lucca was breathtaking where we could buy all our supplies and indulge in local cuisine at a choice of eateries. We used the town's terme (thermal spa) which was a very welcome and relaxing start to our trip. The home is within easy access for day trips to Florence, Pisa and Lucca. We also travelled an hour one day to visit Candalla where we could swim under waterfalls, although it was fairly nippy in mid April. I would highly recommend this home as a place to stay to become the contented Tuscan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your super review – it was a pleasure to have you both here as our first guests of the summer season. We are so pleased you enjoyed our villa as a place to unwind and then use as a base to plan your sightseeing trips from. Thank you too for your kind comments on our welcome hamper – we feel it important that after what is normally a long day, our guests feel comfortable that they can start their holiday on arrival and not need to drive out to stock up at a supermarket on your first day.
Thanks again for your kind comments and we would love to welcome you back to our tranquil part of Tuscany soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clareyb9
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the best 2 weeks at the end of August. My husband, myself, daughter (12) and son (10) enjoyed every aspect of the contented Tuscan. Steve and Denise were wonderfully discreet and we enjoyed the property for our entire time. We spent most days by the pool, swimming, chilling, playing cards and barbecuing. It was a truly magnificent spot to be. We did venture further afield. Florence, Pisa and Lucca. Lucca was by far our favourite. But to be honest we were just very happy to be up in the hills above Bagni di Lucca taking advantage of the villa. It was a perfect for us. The kitchen was divine, we ate and cooked wonderful Italian produce, drank yummy wine, and didn't really want to leave. We felt so at ease in the villa...........and enjoyed the great DVD collection. Thank you so much for sharing you beautiful property.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you for your super review. We are so pleased the villa and gardens helped make your holiday so special. We are glad the kitchen hit the spot, the views across the valley while cooking is one of our favorite spaces in the villa. Very pleased too that the children enjoyed the DVD library.
You were super guests and we look forward to inviting you back to Guzzano again soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing