We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
paul g
worksop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful villa,the best of many we have stayed in.,Where do I begin ,wonderful house and gardens ,magnificent views,lovely pool and barbeque,Bagni di Lucca 10 minutes drive[great shops and restaurants].Wonderful place to explore Tuscany.But a really special thanks to our hosts Steve and Denise who were brilliant and to whom we are so grateful for their help when a family member took ill back in Engand.Myself,Jackie,LIISA andSimon cannot wait to return one day to your very,very special villa .Many many thanks from all of us.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Your kind comments about us as hosts, appreciation of our house and views is much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right. You were a pleasure to have as guests at our home and we really hope to see you again Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, truly wonderful property, best hosts you could hope to meet.”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This really was a holiday second to none. The description and pictures of the facilities at the Contented Tuscan are true to life, it is an amazing property, well equipped and in a great hilltop location providing great views from the terrace and pool.
Steve and Denise have really thought of everything and provided it to the highest standard possible.
The en-suite rooms are of a five-star standard, with towels robes and slippers provided.
On arrival, the welcome hamper had everything we needed and more, to take care of the first few meals including wine and beer.

Steve and Denise were great hosts giving us complete privacy throughout our holiday, but were also on hand when needed to help with bookings and local information.
I have already recommended the Contented Tuscan to several people since coming home and we look forward to our next holiday with Steve and Denise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Your kind comments about us as hosts, appreciation of our house and views is much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right. Thanks again, you were wonderful guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the near future. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have wished for a better welcome or comfortable, well-equipped accommodation. Views from the terrace are amazing. Welcome pack was very good as was the option of a home-cooked meal prepared by Denise. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your comments on the set up of our home & welcome hamper. We are glad you enjoyed the pasta dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the near future. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E
2 reviews
“Wonderful property, Stunning location”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This amazing property exceeded our very high expectations, the house is beautifully restored and provides everything you could possibly want for a memorable holiday. As a passionate cook I was delighted the kitchen was so well set up allowing me to make the most of the beautiful local produce. The terrace outside with plunge pool is the perfect place to sit, relax and enjoy the incredible view. This is a must stay house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you for your super review. We are so pleased the villa and gardens helped make your holiday so special. We are glad the kitchen hit the spot, the views across the valley while cooking is one of our favorite spaces in the villa.
You were super guests and we look forward to inviting you both back to The Contented Tuscan again soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xhris2210
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lives up to the hype! The contented Tuscan is located on a dreamy hillside in a tiny village four kilometres above the quaint spa town of Bagni di Lucca. Two bedrooms with modern ensuite upstairs and a well specified kitchen and dining/sitting room downstairs making it a real home from home. The antique furnishings and artwork throughout are tasteful and stylish, giving a lovely, unique ambience. Steve and Denise live below the property and welcomed us with a hamper with more than enough for a decent meal in the evening and breakfast the day after. We really weren't expecting this generous extra on top of the very reasonable rate for top quality accommodation. The side of the property has a beautifully appointed patio area with table and chairs, sun beds and a plunge pool and even a barbecue ready to go for lazy evenings out.

Our hosts were friendly and reassuringly available without being in-your-face. You do need a car to stay, but this is an ideal location for a chilled out sojourn in the Tuscan hills.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Your kind comments about us as hosts, appreciation of our house and views is much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right. You were a pleasure to have as guests at our home and we really hope to see you again Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb stay in the Tuscan hills”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ah, Tuscany in the early spring! Hillsides covered with wildflowers - primroses, violets, hellebores - and the elegant gardens of large villas in Lucca resplendent with magnolias and camellias. But perhaps best of all, there are no tourists! It is actually possible to find parking and walk around the delightful and sometimes underrated city of Lucca easily and appreciate the place in the way that people who live there must do outside the summer season. And there could not be a better base than 'The Contented Tuscan', in the small village of Guzzano up above the spa town of Bagni di Luca.

Steve and Denise have done a superb job in converting this stone-built villa into a holiday home on the top two floors. They live down below but you would never know they were there, unless you need them, in which case they could not be more helpful. The garden and plunge pool must be a great place to relax in hotter periods of the year and the inside of the house is full of interest. Attention to detail is second to none. We have never seen a better equipped kitchen and the ensuite bathrooms even have bathrobes and slippers supplied. Views out over the hills are superb. In general, the location is tranquil and very relaxing, though not always completely silent - you are on the edge of a small village and people do live and work there. Everyone is very friendly.

Do go - you will thoroughly enjoy it. We're already planning to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review – what a super way to start our fourth season. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Contented Tuscan. The spring weather played its part – Tuscany can be such a great place to visit before the heat of summer arrives. Thank you for choosing our holiday home and for your appreciation of the house and views. Thanks too for your comments on the facilities. We very much enjoyed playing our part in ensuring you had such a fabulous time here. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princehom...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at Denise and Steve's villa and can't say enough about the location and treatment we received. From the welcoming basket of food/drink to robes and slippers waiting for us in the bathrooms we knew we were in for a great week. The villa was immaculate and had everything we needed to make it our home for 7 days. Denise and Steve were most helpful and kind and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We give it a 5 star rating and won't hesitate to recommend this villa!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Many thanks for your super review. We very much enjoyed playing our part in ensuring you had such a fabulous time here. Very happy that the welcome hamper was appreciated. We really want people to feel things could not have gone better. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right for our guests. We are grateful too that you are happy to refer The Contented Tuscan to friends You were a pleasure to have as guests at our holiday home and hope to see you again Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing