We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfecto!!! If you want beauty, peace and...”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nyig T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfecto!!! If you want beauty, peace and tranquility look no further than The Contented Tuscan.”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It’s a experience every holiday maker looks for... a beautiful location, with all the comfort of home, with the loveliest of hosts. Steve and Denise really understand the stresses of modern life so when you’re in their company, they make sure you destress and relax into Tuscan life. Before you know it, you’ve shaken off all the grime of the city and transformed into a contented Tuscan. It’s a fantastic place to escape to. Nyig and Kirsty from London.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review – what a super way to end our season. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our villa. The super November weather played its part. Thanks again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariaruth...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful visit”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much to steve and Denise for creating such a wonderful idyllic place to stay. We were warmly greeted by our hosts the day after our wedding, we arrived in the evening and they had provided a lovely food hamper including beer and wine, wow, also there was a beautiful vase of flowers congratulating us on our wedding. A wonderful start to our four night honeymoon. Wish we could have stayed longer, the villa was amazing, stunning inside and out, beautiful antiques, pictures and interesting artwork, a real feast for the eyes. The garden and terrace had spectacular views with a really good sized plunge pool. Steve and Denise obviously care about providing excellent accommodation, inside the villa there was everything you could possibly want or need, their attention to detail is impressive, the kitchen was so beautiful and well equipped that I even did some cooking, something I would never normally do on holiday but it was just a joy to spend time in the very contented tuscan villa.
The reviews are correct, the villa is better than the pictures.
Thanks Steve and Denise, hopefully we will return for a wedding anniversary in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your super review. We very much enjoyed playing our part in ensuring you had a fabulous honeymoon here. Thanks too for your comments on the décor of our home. Sourcing antique items for the house and garden is a joy and is great to know our guests feel we got it right. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive such super feedback. You were a pleasure to have as guests at our home and we would love to welcome you back again. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul g
worksop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful villa,the best of many we have stayed in.,Where do I begin ,wonderful house and gardens ,magnificent views,lovely pool and barbeque,Bagni di Lucca 10 minutes drive[great shops and restaurants].Wonderful place to explore Tuscany.But a really special thanks to our hosts Steve and Denise who were brilliant and to whom we are so grateful for their help when a family member took ill back in Engand.Myself,Jackie,LIISA andSimon cannot wait to return one day to your very,very special villa .Many many thanks from all of us.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Your kind comments about us as hosts, appreciation of our house and views is much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right. You were a pleasure to have as guests at our home and we really hope to see you again Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour72514...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, truly wonderful property, best hosts you could hope to meet.”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This really was a holiday second to none. The description and pictures of the facilities at the Contented Tuscan are true to life, it is an amazing property, well equipped and in a great hilltop location providing great views from the terrace and pool.
Steve and Denise have really thought of everything and provided it to the highest standard possible.
The en-suite rooms are of a five-star standard, with towels robes and slippers provided.
On arrival, the welcome hamper had everything we needed and more, to take care of the first few meals including wine and beer.

Steve and Denise were great hosts giving us complete privacy throughout our holiday, but were also on hand when needed to help with bookings and local information.
I have already recommended the Contented Tuscan to several people since coming home and we look forward to our next holiday with Steve and Denise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Your kind comments about us as hosts, appreciation of our house and views is much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right. Thanks again, you were wonderful guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the near future. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander66...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have wished for a better welcome or comfortable, well-equipped accommodation. Views from the terrace are amazing. Welcome pack was very good as was the option of a home-cooked meal prepared by Denise. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your comments on the set up of our home & welcome hamper. We are glad you enjoyed the pasta dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the near future. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E
2 reviews
“Wonderful property, Stunning location”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This amazing property exceeded our very high expectations, the house is beautifully restored and provides everything you could possibly want for a memorable holiday. As a passionate cook I was delighted the kitchen was so well set up allowing me to make the most of the beautiful local produce. The terrace outside with plunge pool is the perfect place to sit, relax and enjoy the incredible view. This is a must stay house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you for your super review. We are so pleased the villa and gardens helped make your holiday so special. We are glad the kitchen hit the spot, the views across the valley while cooking is one of our favorite spaces in the villa.
You were super guests and we look forward to inviting you both back to The Contented Tuscan again soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xhris2210
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lives up to the hype! The contented Tuscan is located on a dreamy hillside in a tiny village four kilometres above the quaint spa town of Bagni di Lucca. Two bedrooms with modern ensuite upstairs and a well specified kitchen and dining/sitting room downstairs making it a real home from home. The antique furnishings and artwork throughout are tasteful and stylish, giving a lovely, unique ambience. Steve and Denise live below the property and welcomed us with a hamper with more than enough for a decent meal in the evening and breakfast the day after. We really weren't expecting this generous extra on top of the very reasonable rate for top quality accommodation. The side of the property has a beautifully appointed patio area with table and chairs, sun beds and a plunge pool and even a barbecue ready to go for lazy evenings out.

Our hosts were friendly and reassuringly available without being in-your-face. You do need a car to stay, but this is an ideal location for a chilled out sojourn in the Tuscan hills.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Your kind comments about us as hosts, appreciation of our house and views is much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right. You were a pleasure to have as guests at our home and we really hope to see you again Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing