We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to be”
Review of B&B Villa Rosalena

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Villa Rosalena
Ranked #1 of 11 Bagni di Lucca B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to be”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our extended family stayed here in June and we had the whole place to ourselves. Very large house well fittted out including a dishwasher 2 fridges and a great Barbeque. We took the owner Rod's advice and did the local walk over the top of the hill behind the property. It was such a lovely route and showed lots of places that we had not guessed were there. All the local restaurants were very special and not expensive. We went to Lucca and Florence but always couldn't wait to get back to the arched loggia to watch the lights come on in the town and to gaze at the river. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
83
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Really charming and spacious villa with exceptional service. Rod is welcoming and helpful - we couldn't have had a better experience. Great location and aspect with stunning views. Look out for the amazing glow worms and fireflies!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the two facing the river have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Recently stayed at Villa Rosalena. Rod was so welcoming and provided all that we could have wanted for the perfect stay. His manner is welcoming but not at all intrusive and his breakfasts are sublime.
When you visit Villa Rosalena be prepared to have your breath taken away by the view, the images do not do it justice.
Excellent stay, thumbs up!!

Room Tip: The Chocolate room gives you the view up the river...the down side is, you won't want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Villa Rosalina, and had the most amazing time. Rod and Caroline were exceedingly gracious and accommodating hosts, and the breakfast was outstanding with loads of choice. Rod even went out and bought fresh pastries every morning! Our room was beautiful - really spacious, immaculately cleaned with a gorgeous 4 poster bed that was extremely large and comfortable. The lounge area was also fantastic, really well stocked with a huge selection of dvds, a wii and sky TV - perfect for a cosy night in. We often sat out on the balcony in the afternoon with a glass of wine and enjoyed the absolutely stunning views. As other people have mentioned, the wifi was incredibly fast, by far the best we have had during our trip to Italy. There are also numerous travel books and leaflets with great ideas of things to do in the surrounding area, and Rod and Caroline have some fantastic walks to suggest as well. Overall, this has been the best place we have stayed in Italy - Bagni di Lucca is a beautiful town with great hiking available right on your doorstep, and there is such easy access by train to Lucca, Pisa and Florence. Rod and Caroline were so helpful during our stay and we will definitely be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were early in the season and, in effect, had the Villa to ourselves. Bagni di Lucca is approx. 30 miles from Lucca although a good bus or train service into Lucca.....Pisa is a further 20 or so miles. Villa Rosalena is on the west side of Bagni de Lucca and it is a good half hour walk into the main town. We plan to go again next year but will hire a car, as without transport we found ourselves limited.

The Villa is located on the hill/mountain side with a panoramic view of the river below and would be a real sun trap in the summer. A small tiered garden with dip pool.

Rod Swail is an excellent host and could not do enough to help, including a chauffeur service to and from the station.

There was a choice of three restaurants within easy walking distance but we were caught out on the Monday when all three were closed in the evening.....it was early in the season.

Ideal for a short break in the beautiful Italian country side.

Room Tip: River view.....our preference, Cioccolato PS take your mossie spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combeinteignhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Villa Rosalena on a long drive up from southern Italy. We found the villa very easily thanks to the map Rod had emailed to us. The room we stayed in had fabulous views up the valley which we could still see from the bed! We also had the best WiFi strength in our room of any we had experienced in Italy. It was lovely to sit by a log fire in the lounge area and to read more about Bagni di Lucca. We walked along the river and can see why the village was a favourite haunt of poets and writers. Rod advised us to visit Lucca before we continued our journey back to England and we are really glad we took up his suggestion as Lucca is a fascinating city. We certainly intend returning to Villa Rosalena to enjoy the hospitality and explore the area more thoroughly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I recently stayed with 2 friends at Villa Rosalena and we would definitely go again. We only stayed a few nights for a nearby Wedding but the Owner (Rod) was very helpful in sorting out taxis for us and generally making our stay as easy and relaxing as possible.

The area was great to explore and definitely recommend the Pizzeria down in the village only a 5 minute stroll away.

Thanks as well for the excellent breakfasts and comfy beds!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagni di Lucca
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Regina
Park Hotel Regina
#1 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Corona
Albergo Ristorante Corona
#3 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#5 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
17 reviews
9.3 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#12 of 49 in Lucca
284 reviews
5.0 mi away
Settimo Cielo
Settimo Cielo
#1 of 1 in Casoli
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about B&B Villa Rosalena

Property: B&B Villa Rosalena
Address: Localita Camaione 21A | Ponte a Serraglio, 55022, Bagni di Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Bagni di Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bagni di Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Rosalena is a charming guest house in an historic villa, with stunning views from its bedrooms, loggia and terraces of the River Lima towards Ponte a Serraglio bridge in the unspoiled Tuscan spa town of Bagni di Lucca. It is a beautiful, tranquil spot yet restaurants, bars, local shops and the tourist information office in the former royal casino are only a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Villa Rosalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Villa Rosalena Bagni Di Lucca, Province Of Lucca, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing