We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Villa Rosalena
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ristorante Milano(Borgo a Mozzano)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Bridge(Bagni di Lucca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Hotel Regina(Bagni di Lucca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
San Lorenzo(Pescia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
127
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrod and carolinefurther afieldexcellent hostswonderful villatuscan heavenself cateringtuscanybeauty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our extended family stayed here in June and we had the whole place to ourselves. Very large house well fittted out including a dishwasher 2 fridges and a great Barbeque. We took the owner Rod's advice and did the local walk over the top of the hill behind the property. It was such a lovely route and showed lots of places that we had not guessed were there. All the local restaurants were very special and not expensive. We went to Lucca and Florence but always couldn't wait to get back to the arched loggia to watch the lights come on in the town and to gaze at the river. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maggiefromchingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Really charming and spacious villa with exceptional service. Rod is welcoming and helpful - we couldn't have had a better experience. Great location and aspect with stunning views. Look out for the amazing glow worms and fireflies!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the two facing the river have the best views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank DIana1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Recently stayed at Villa Rosalena. Rod was so welcoming and provided all that we could have wanted for the perfect stay. His manner is welcoming but not at all intrusive and his breakfasts are sublime.
When you visit Villa Rosalena be prepared to have your breath taken away by the view, the images do not do it justice.
Excellent stay, thumbs up!!

Room Tip: The Chocolate room gives you the view up the river...the down side is, you won't want to leave.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Villa Rosalina, and had the most amazing time. Rod and Caroline were exceedingly gracious and accommodating hosts, and the breakfast was outstanding with loads of choice. Rod even went out and bought fresh pastries every morning! Our room was beautiful - really spacious, immaculately cleaned with a gorgeous 4 poster bed that was extremely large and comfortable. The lounge area was also fantastic, really well stocked with a huge selection of dvds, a wii and sky TV - perfect for a cosy night in. We often sat out on the balcony in the afternoon with a glass of wine and enjoyed the absolutely stunning views. As other people have mentioned, the wifi was incredibly fast, by far the best we have had during our trip to Italy. There are also numerous travel books and leaflets with great ideas of things to do in the surrounding area, and Rod and Caroline have some fantastic walks to suggest as well. Overall, this has been the best place we have stayed in Italy - Bagni di Lucca is a beautiful town with great hiking available right on your doorstep, and there is such easy access by train to Lucca, Pisa and Florence. Rod and Caroline were so helpful during our stay and we will definitely be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were early in the season and, in effect, had the Villa to ourselves. Bagni di Lucca is approx. 30 miles from Lucca although a good bus or train service into Lucca.....Pisa is a further 20 or so miles. Villa Rosalena is on the west side of Bagni de Lucca and it is a good half hour walk into the main town. We plan to go again next year but will hire a car, as without transport we found ourselves limited.

The Villa is located on the hill/mountain side with a panoramic view of the river below and would be a real sun trap in the summer. A small tiered garden with dip pool.

Rod Swail is an excellent host and could not do enough to help, including a chauffeur service to and from the station.

There was a choice of three restaurants within easy walking distance but we were caught out on the Monday when all three were closed in the evening.....it was early in the season.

Ideal for a short break in the beautiful Italian country side.

Room Tip: River view.....our preference, Cioccolato PS take your mossie spray.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews