We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality! We miss you already!”
Review of Casa Marchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Marchi
Ranked #3 of 11 Bagni di Lucca B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality! We miss you already!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Marchi with our 6 month old baby for one week in June 2013. It was a wonderful week and we truly enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed warmly with open arms by Roy and Shirley. They were especially welcoming to our baby girl even providing a high chair for her to sit at breakfast. Our stay was fantastic - from the great bedroom with awesome view of the surrounding hills to the amazing breakfast from Roy every day! Breakfast was fresh and delicious with an emphasis on local ingredients and products. We could not ask for more. Roy and Shirley really care about their guests and were always available to answer any questions about what to see around the region. The nicest part is that with Roy and Shirley you get a "local" point of view with great recommendations on what to see and especially where to eat! No guide book can provide that! We had dinner at Casa Marchi one night and were blown away by Roy's cooking - he is a true chef - it was amazing. We loved Bagni di Lucca as a base. We were able to do day trips to Florence, Pisa and Cinque Terre with no problems. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend Casa Marchi to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful region of Italy with absolutely lovely hosts. We miss it already. Warmest regards from Maria, Carlos and Adriana in Vancouver.

Room Tip: All rooms looked comfortable. I don't think you can go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed 7 nights (May-June)Casa Marchi was just what two homesick kiwis needed..A generous and real welcome was given to us on arrival. We so enjoyed chatting to Roy on the kitchen steps as he prepared a quick evening meal that we all shared together. That is one example of the hospitality received at Casa Marchi. The room and onsuite was large and comfortable and a heater was provided as the weather was un seasonably cold.
A special mention must be made of Shirley's art. We were privilage to be there at the unveiling of her lastest piece 'George'.
You must listen to Roy's suggestions of eating places- they are all spot on.
Casa Marchi is up a hill- keep driving you will get there, it is well sign posted.
we would recommend Casa Marchi to any travellers. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereseJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights in May 2013 and wish we had planned a longer stay. Our room and ensuite bathroom were perfect and each morning the breakfast was a feast! The owners, Shirley and Roy, gave us a very warm welcome. It was the type of welcome one normally gives to long-time friends. We truly enjoyed our conversations with them—warm, friendly and very interesting people.

Roy and Shirley are also on top of everything—they’ve got all the details covered. As an example: It rained the first afternoon and evening so the temperature dropped below normal. Roy placed a portable heater in our room and while we were out to dinner, Shirley put a hot water bottle in the bed for me! My mother was the only one who ever did that for me and that was when I was a little girl. Oh, did I feel special….and warm and comfy too!

Of course, we had the freedom to come and go as we pleased during our stay. And regardless of the time of day we were leaving or returning, either Shirley or Roy was available to answer questions, give us directions, etc. Our only regret is that we did not have the time to schedule a dinner at Casa Marchi....both Shirley and Roy are classically trained chefs!

I must comment on the village, Gombereto. My mother grew up in this village and I spent two months there many years ago when my mother and I visited my grandparents who had returned to Italy after retiring in the U.S. Therefore, Gombereto and the surrounding area are very dear to me. However, my husband who is not Italian and has no connection to the area (other than me) loves it there. The people are so friendly and happy and the mountains are beautiful. It’s like stepping back in time to a more simple lifestyle.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisgood4626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Our stay at Casa Marchi was truly fantastic. Our experience with Roy and Shirley was highly hospitable from the time of booking to the end of our stay. For the three nights that we stayed, we were looked after very well by Roy (Shirley was away at this point).

On our first night we opted to have dinner at Casa Marchi, which was the perfect way to end our first day in Bagni di Lucca. Roy cooked us an exquisite three course meal, provided lovely wine, introduced us to grappa - all by a roaring fire - what more could we ask for?

As this was a short break away from our busy life-style in London, we had a couple of days to see things in this part of Italy. Only having a general idea of what we wanted to see, we asked Roy for some advice and he was able to give us fantastic ideas. This was so helpful and enabled us to make the most of our stay - furthermore, it was great to do things outside of mainstream touristy areas, which adds to the charm and authenticity of Tuscany.

All in all, we highly recommend Casa Marchi to couples, families and even groups of friends who are looking for a unique, comfortable and friendly Tuscan experience. It is a brilliant base point to access many parts of the region and a reviving place to return to at the end of each day. We would most certainly return for all of these reasons and of course, the outstanding hospitality and Roy's food!

Many thanks,
Kieren and Chris

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This B&B met all expectations...set in a gorgeous location, with absolutely fantastic hosts, a very comfortable room and last but not least a feast for breakfast!! We only stayed one night but it made our very short trip extremely memorable....We loved it so much we might return for Christmas:-) If you go here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

First ..thank you Roy and Shirley for the wonderful holiday you provided us at Casa Marchi.
It was absolutely wonderful and everything we ever dreamed Italy could be.
The accommodation/food/service was just first class and the town/countryside and nearby towns gave us a wonderful holiday where we could relax and at the same time not be bored.
The cooking lessons were more than excellent and well be back for more thats for sure.
Here in Australia the cost of a holiday is quite ridiculous and not a patch on your area and what you offer so from now on we will leave Australia out if the loop and will visit Casa again as soon as we get some leave as we would like to stay about a month this time round.
Many thanks again for a superb B and B and cooking lessons and all the extra guidance you so willingly gave us.

Phil and Mae

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful in all respects...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Casa Marchi and our first meeting with Roy and Shirley were exactly what we needed to convince us that our first trip to Italy was about to become wonderful. After a previous night at another B&B which included preparing our own breakfast, and a bit of a twist when we couldn't get our car through the passageway to their upper parking lot (drivers of full size MBs be aware), they read us perfectly, helped us heft the luggage up to Casa Marchi and took us on a jaunt up the mountain in their own car! Within a few hours we were relaxing on the terrace and then thoroughly enjoying Roy's fabulous dinner and his and Shirley's charming company.
Our room was spotless, well appointed and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a wonderful variety including local eggs and figs and an array of fruits, breads, cereals, cheeses and whatever strength coffee you like. if you wanted anything else all you had to do was ask. We used Casa Marchi as a base and took day trips, one of which included a picnic lunch packed by Roy with my favorite tomato-basil-mozarella and a variety of other goodies. There are countless things to do and places to see within a few hours of Casa Marchi, and Roy and Shirley have an uncanny ability to read their guests and send them off to things they'll enjoy.
There are probably many B&Bs that offer similar accommodation, but Roy and Shirley make Casa Marchi the perfect place to spend some time in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnearandfarfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagni di Lucca
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Regina
Park Hotel Regina
#1 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
8.5 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Corona
Albergo Ristorante Corona
#3 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#5 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Lucchesi
Villa Lucchesi
#2 of 11 in Bagni di Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marchi

Property: Casa Marchi
Address: Localita Gombereto 52 | Bagni Di Lucca, Fraz. San Gemignano, 55022, Bagni di Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Bagni di Lucca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bagni di Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of tranquility, Casa Marchi is situated within the medieval town of Gombereto, in the hills above Bagni Di Lucca. We can offer three superb double rooms and two single adjoining rooms; all have modern en-suite shower rooms, with an abundance of hot water. Gombereto is linked to 23 hamlets and mountain top villages by ancient walkways. Great for mountain bikers, ramblers and nature lovers. We are within reach of Pisa, Florence and the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Marchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marchi Bagni Di Lucca, Province Of Lucca, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing