We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hidden Gem”
Review of Podere Casarotta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Casarotta
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just returned from a week long stay at Casarotta with our two year old little girl.
Beautiful place, lovely surroundings and very peaceful. Simone was extremely helpful and the gardener was lovely. Everything was clean and well maintained and the views were exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portmanagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here whilst visiting Tuscany for the first time. Being 6 months pregnant, I was a little wary about how remote this place felt, but there is no denying how stunning the setting is.
Simone met us on arrival and showed us to our room - basic cooking facilities but this was perfect for us. We stayed in room 5 and the views were absolutely amazing across the valley.
We stayed for 5 nights, most days were spent out on various day trips around the region, but we felt like we were coming home every evening to this place.
My only thing (and this is down to personal preference) would be that I'd liked it to have been a little busier, there were only two other couples staying on site, and due to the remoteness, it took me a bit of time to settle! But this quietness is normally people's idea of bliss, plus we were very early in the season - I'm sure a place like this is full in season!
There is no wifi, forcing you to switch off from the outside world for a bit, and the pool is in a wonderful setting - surrounded by olive trees (their on-site made olive oil is amazing - a must buy!).
We will certainly be back, Simone was at the end of a phone with any questions we had, and this would be a perfect place to come back to with family & friends. Such beautiful surroundings and views. The track leading to the house is a little bumpy and tricky to get used to at night...but again, I don't think my baby bump helped there!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tess_Milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The narrow, steep and bumpy track to the property is worth the effort as you are greeted with breathtaking panoramic views over San Giovanni Valdarno and Castelfranco di Sopra.

Our family of 4 stayed for 7 peaceful nights over the Easter holiday. As the property does not currently have wifi, it is the perfect place to take a break and escape from modern life.
The bedroom was spacious and bright with original farmhouse features. The kitchen in our apartment (no.2) was quite dark and did not have an oven (to make pizza) or a freezer (for gelato) but there was a microwave and a fridge and sufficiently equipped to prepare simple meals. The apartment did not have a TV or stereo, however, there was a communal TV room. (This room was very small, so I'm not sure that more than one family would comfortably share the space.) The best feature of this particular apartment is the patio/porch area which is the ideal place to bask in the sun and appreciate the magnificent views. We were warned about the wild cats but we didn't see very many. The pool was closed and in April way too cold to use anyway.

A beautiful property with very well maintained grounds. The nearest Coop supermarket in San Giovanni Valdarno is a scenic 17 minute drive away with Florence, Cortona and the Chianti regions all within one hours drive away. A lovely base for sightseeing in Tuscany!

Room Tip: We stayed in Apt 2. Private patio area and private portion of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmansalocin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just recently stayed 6 nights in Apartment#2 and loved it! We had a porch that had cats and kittens visiting us each day which was fun. The view was lovely from there, and we enjoyed the pool area(for one day anyway since there is so much to see) Simone was so helpful with his advice on where to eat and what to see. We loved his recommendation for L'Osteria Cassia Vetus in Loro Ciuffena and ate there twice. They really do have the best gelato! It is a great location for visiting many different areas, and we went to Cortona, Arezzo, Siena, Castellina in Chianti, SanGiovanni Valdarno, Anghiari and Laterina. It was always nice to come back to Podere Casarotta after a long day of sightseeing. We appreciated the kitchen and cooked many meals. We also enjoyed the delicious sparking wine Simone left for us and the welcome basket. Thanks Simone and we hope to be back sometime since there is still so much more to see!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Having read all the reviews on here we booked on the basis this sounded perfect. It is a lovely place, the views are beautiful and the pool is gorgeous. We did have problems with insects; the Mosquitos didn't seem to mind our repellent or plug in and we had to keep the windows shut at night as there were no nets to allow cool air in and keep Mosquitos out. The other issue was the wasps around the pool, they gathered to drink the water and were quite scary for children.

The oven was very small so cooking on the hob was best. No microwave, kettle or freezer to keep ice creams in. We think more money could be invested in guest comfort; nets on windows being a must.

The drive to the farm is not for the nervous driver! Steep slopes and very bumpy tracks.

Loro Cuiffenna, about 10km away is a lovely village and well worth a visit.

Our daughter loved the cats and kittens on the farm but their breeding needs controlling as there were 16 altogether.

We did have a good holiday, it could have been better though and I hope some of our recommendations are considered.

We were in apartment 5 and our garden was quite a way from our apartment. There was nowhere to sit out just outside the door of the apartment unfortunately. Apartment 2 or 7 would be our recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V1ck176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent nine days at Podere Casarotta in July/August 2013 and I cannot think of a single thing to complain about. We stayed in apartment 4, La Soffitta, which was perfectly comfortable and spacious enough for two people. The kitchen is well equipped and we ended up cooking ourselves every other night while eating out during our trips to the near-by towns. The private garden outside the apartment offers magnificent views across the valley. I also have to add that the apartment was absolutely immaculate - really, really clean and very well looked after. The pool area is lovely and there is plenty of space for all the guests. It was high season when we were staying there but it never felt crowded.

It's necessary to have a car when staying here (I'm very impressed by anyone who's ever cycled up that hill...). We had a Fiat 500 and it was quite a struggle to get up the hill - try getting a more powerful car if you can! Podere Casarotta is ideally situated for going on day trips around Tuscany. We ended up visiting Florence, Siena, Arezzo and Cortona, and we drove along the SS222 road (amazing views) stopping along the way in Greve and Gaiole, for example.

We tended to go to the Coop supermarket in San Giovanni Valdarno, and there is an even bigger one Figline.

Finally, Simone is a brilliant host with plenty of knowledge of the area - do pick his brain! - and Enzo works hard to keep the place looking its best. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnaKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were so lucky to find Podere Casarotta on the Internet. We had a marvelous, relaxing 12days in the sun, exploring the local country side and meeting the wonderful local people.
The environment is spectacular both in scenery and in the beautiful old farm house separated into six quiet and descret apartments. The view over the Valdarno valley is breathtaking, especially at night and with the full moon we were lucky enough to experience.
The rooms were very clean and well equipped for self catering and the grounds and pool were devine. Simone made really helpful suggestions for exploring the local area and helping us to make the most of our time there. Enzo and Rosa keep the Podera in tip top condition.
I hope we have the chance to return again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loro Ciuffenna hotels
0.7 mi away
Relais Villa Belpoggio
Relais Villa Belpoggio
#1 of 2 in Loro Ciuffenna
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Odina Agriturismo
Odina Agriturismo
#1 of 15 in Loro Ciuffenna
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Cafaggio Primo
Agriturismo Cafaggio Primo
#3 of 15 in Loro Ciuffenna
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence La Ferriera
Residence La Ferriera
#2 of 2 in Loro Ciuffenna
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dimora Casa Eugenia
Dimora Casa Eugenia
#1 of 3 in Loro Ciuffenna
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence San Miniato
Residence San Miniato
#8 of 15 in Loro Ciuffenna
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Casarotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Casarotta

Property: Podere Casarotta
Address: Localita Millepini - Malva Snc, 52024 Loro Ciuffenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Loro Ciuffenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Loro Ciuffenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Casarotta is a XVIIIth century farmhouse in Tuscany which has been renovated in recent years, converted in holiday house with private swimming pool and divided into luxurious apartments for your holiday rentals. In the farmhouse there are six indipendent apartments for rent, each with one or two double bedrooms; the whole holiday house can sleep up to 20 persons. All the apartments are furnished in classic Tuscany style, and each apartment has its own kitchen (well equipped), bathroom and private garden outdoor. The whole property (Podere Casarotta farmhouse together with the Conca d'Oro farm) covers approximately 30 acres, mostly planted with olive groves that surround the farmhouse. The place was called from long ago the "Conca d'Oro" ("the Golden Basin") for its climate, particularly pleasant to people and beneficial to olive oil production. We still produce on the farm our high-quality, organic, tuscan extra-virgin olive oil! Podere Casarotta farmhouse, because of its privileged position in the very heart of Tuscany (and just 5km from the nearest town, Castelfranco di Sopra) offers a perfect balance between rest & relaxation and wandering around: the apartments of our villa will be your luxurious and comfortable starting point for visiting Tuscany! Whatever you are looking for: art, history, culture, parks and nature, wine and food routes, or just relax by the swimming pool in the silence of the Tuscany countryside, you will find them all at hand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Podere Casarotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Casarotta Italy/Tuscany - Loro Ciuffenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing