We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Molino del Ponte
Nearby Hotels
Villa Le Calvane(Montespertoli)
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$243
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tenuta Moriano(Montespertoli)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Fezzana(Montespertoli)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
94
33
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
33
5
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a school group on a trip to Italy. For such a large group we were very happy. The rooms were almost as big as a small apartment and featured a small stove top, sink, refrigerator, pull-out couch, cabinet, and large shower. We found out on the first day that our shower squirted water in just about every corner of the shower, but upon telling the front desk, they fixed the situation right away.

Good stuff: The rooms were large, the feel of the place was very Italian. Located in a quiet area, offered food and drink and the staff was very friendly.

Bad stuff: This hotel is about a 45 minute drive to Florence, so if you do not have a driver, you may want to consider getting one. Our group found it hard to find activities to do at night because the area was very quiet. The wi-fi only works outside the lobby, so you must sit outside under a tent to use it. Sound travels very easily here, being that everything is made out of stone, which also meant our room was rather cold.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Ideal for exploring both the Tuscany countryside and Florience. Giorgio was an incredible host! His English is passable, but his warmth and generosity need no language. We stayed in an apartment with air conditioning and a kitchenette. Very nice breakfast buffet with outdoor seating. There's a small swimming pool on premises as well. Access to Florence is via bus at the entrance to the hotel, a tram ride if you have a car to get to the tram station, or a 30 minute drive to a Florence parking garage. The town of Montespertoli near this hotel is an authentic Italian village mostly devoid of tourists. This location is within an hour of a number of Tuscany hilltop towns, as well as Pisa and Lucca. Giorgio was nice enough to present us with a bottle of Chianti as a parting gift!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Coolbreezeny.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel staff - Giorgio and wife, are absolutely fantastic. They are very friendly persons. Apartments and rooms are comfortable and rustical - in Tuscan style, with bathrooms. They were clean. The beds are comfy. The breakfast was good. The location is excellent for touring - specialy for bikers, its very near center of Firence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istrijanka_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Laflechere.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Georgio was a wonderful host: welcoming, helpful, and always ready to crack a joke. His German is better than his English, but both are better than my Italian! Even so, the essentials of communication were not a problem. Breakfasts surpassed our expectations: not just the usual coffee and pastries, but freshly cooked scrambled eggs (often with ham), a choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, juices. We gratefully fuelled up for the touring day ahead.

For evening meals or lunch, the osteria next door is very handy, with helpful service and decent food. Another restaurant is a five minute walk down the road (but without a footpath, so be careful). The hotel has a couple of barbecues, which we used one evening, and Georgio kindly supplied the necessary utensils, plates, glasses, etc.

Our family room was very comfortable for four, although the air conditioning was a bit under-powered for the July heat; a ceiling fan would have been nicer and more effective. Although the wi-fi didn’t quite stretch to our apartment, it was much more pleasant to step out into the cool shade of the patio for relaxing, reading and catching up online. The fridge was a useful feature in the small kitchen area of our room, although if you want to cook on the two hot plates, you would need to source your own cookware.

The kids really enjoyed the above-ground pool, which was a great place to cool off after a hard day’s sight-seeing. There is a public sports centre next door, with a larger pool and opportunities for tennis, etc. if you’re feeling more energetic.

If you have a car, the hotel serves as an excellent base for trips to Florence, Siena, San Gimingnano, etc., all reachable in under an hour. Even if you’re without wheels, there is a bus stop right outside on the main road to Florence (about 45 minutes away for 2.8 Euros). There are also two train stations within a fifteen minute taxi ride. The town of Montespertoli itself is five minutes away by car or bus, with several eating establishments, shops and supermarket.

We really enjoyed our stay here, made special by Georgio’s friendly attention to his guests’ needs.

Room Tip: The AC in our room struggled with the July heat, making sleep uncomfortable at times. Leaving windows open wasn't an option due to the mosquitoes. Other rooms may have better air flow or beefier AC: might be worth checking ahead of time if you're staying during the summer.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laflechere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmolinodelponte, Direttore at Il Molino del Ponte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Laflechere.

Thanks alot for this outstanding review. We very happy about your feedback and we really hope to see you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

The hotel staff and rooms were absolutely fantastic. I was in charge of a high school group of 45. Keep in mind, the group is told not to expect gourmet food. However, there should be at least normal portions. For our only diner meal (a one night stay), we were served a typical Italian pasta as a starter. The mail course consisted of perhaps a large tablespoon size portion of eggplant and a chicken nugget size piece of pork, that is if the nugget wasn't actually a piece of bone with a couple strands of meat. There were some assorted pastries for dessert. In 15 years of traveling with students this was the Number 1 worst meal I've seen. To be fair to the hotel, if you were a regular guest, ordering from the hotel menu, I'm sure you would have adequate portions of average quality.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Travel2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews