We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location, structure, staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Fonti a San Giorgio
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“fantastic location, structure, staff”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Le Fonti San Giorgio for 3 nights together with friends and I also organised my birthday party there. The location is very beautiful: isolated on the Chianti hills between, olive trees and vineyards. The hotel structure is high level, very refined, rustic Tuscan style. The rooms are very beautiful, in line with the rest of the structure. The staff is extremely professional, friendly, genuinely concerned, passionate. The food is rustic and phenomenal, the ingredients are, like the rest, high level quality. The wine is very good, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CricHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We spent a couple nights at Le Fonti in July 2013. I was there with my wife and 2 teenage sons. First of all, the photos do not really do Le Fonti justice, the property is actually even MUCH NICER than the photos indicate. Our rooms (#21 & 22) in the B&B building were very spacious, perfectly clean, and very nicely furnished. The property must have been recently renovated as everything in the room (bath fixtures, lights, etc) seemed brand new and high quality. In fact, I would really recommend these 2 rooms (21/22) to either families needing 2 rooms or 2 couples traveling together - - these are upstairs from the main lobby and are set off by themselves off a beautiful common sitting room on the second floor - - you almost feel like you have your own wing in a mansion. The food in the restaurant is very good, and my kids really enjoyed the Sunday night pizza dinner using the outdoors brick oven. The upper swimming pool for the B&B building is very very nice, reasonably quiet, and was very relaxing for late afternoons. The lower pool down in the apartment area seemed a little noisier with quite a few smaller children in it most of the time during our stay. I would definitely recommend Le Fonti if you want a very nice, relaxing property in the Tuscan countryside. The only point to take notice is as mentioned in other reviews, it is fairly remote and is a 20-30 mins drive to really get anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had a great time with our travel group, Quality Travel Solutions, they had hand picked Le Fonti. The food was out of this world! The wine and service was wonderful as well. I highly reccomend Le Fonti for your next Tuscany experience as well as Quality Travel Solutions.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janetfromarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

We booked le fonti a san giorgio for our honeymoon stay; and without eulogising too much, had a truly wonderful time!

Location: Isolated...but in a good way (car probably essential). Not really that far from all the places you would want to visit like Certaldo, San Gimignano and Florence...but still the sense that your a million miles from your normal life. The views are about as good as you will get anywhere in Tuscany.

Service= All the staff, especially Sabrina and Cristina, were thoughtful, helpful and full of information throughout our stay. They had a knack of making things seem like no trouble at all, even though it probably was!

Food= tasty, simple, good value and much better than the tourist traps in Florence. Gabriella and her ladies in the kitchen get a special mention here.

Wine= Lovely, from the hotel vineyard, internationally award winning and great value.

Room= We stayed up in the roof eaves. Hardwood floors, four poster bed, lovely furniture, nice bathroom. Couldn't want any more.

Criticisms? None. All we could think of was that the hotels own website and pictures just don't do the place justice for some reason. Sabrina agreed and said they had had disappointing professional photography. We thought what looked a little dark and dated in the photos, was well detailed and classic when you are actually there.

That said it was the trip advisor reviews that persuaded is to book up and we are happy to add our positive feedback!

We will be returning...





  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosivdapirt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

As a travel agent for 15 years in Italy, I have visited many places some nice, some good, some bad and some great. Le fonti a San Giorgio has to be placed under FANTASTIC, what a lovely place, the rooms very comfortable, the beds fantastic, the view beuatifull, the staff will do more than their utmost to make you feel at home! The breakfast is very complete, something you will hardly ever find in Italy. The dinners made by an authentic Italian mama are a tuscan feast that you will not forget soon, made by beutifull local products and accompanied by their own lovely wines, will make it hard to leave this paradise.
If you want to visit all the lovely Italian citys and the Chianti area I suggest this lovely inn, as it is very centraly located. Marianne Moerdijk Travel agent

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have holiday'd in Tuscany for 10 years now and for the last 4 years we have stayed at le Fonti. It is slightly off the beaten track, although Montespertoli itself is only 2-3 miles away. However the lack of local options is more than compensated by the peaceful surroundings, excellent cuisine, helpful staff, and unbeatable value for money at le Fonti itself. If you're looking for an agriturismo in Tuscany this one is hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John48Meechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
931 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We got in to Florence a night earlier than planned. Our villa in Lucardo was available the next day. Our hosts recommended we try this place and forwarded us Trip Advisor details. The website information looked too good to be true. We thought a night cannot hurt and made the reservation.

We loved EVERYTHING about the place, the Team that served us with such warmth that we were really sorry we were there for such a short stay. When our hosts came to pick us up, we proudly showed them the property, as if it was ours. The owner, Piera Giovanneli was excellent and explained the details of the property and we decided the next reunion with friends or family, we are coming back for sure. A Paradise

Room Tip: There are apartments and rooms. The building we were in had rooms of different themes and the locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montespertoli
0.2 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
43 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
818 reviews
11.9 mi away
Artimino Apartments
Artimino Apartments
#2 of 2 in Artimino
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
807 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fonti a San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fonti a San Giorgio

Property: Le Fonti a San Giorgio
Address: Via Colle San Lorenzo 16, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Fonti a San Giorgio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouse and agritourism Le Fonti a San Giorgio stands on the beautiful Tuscan hill of Saint Lorenzo, in the Municipality of Montespertoli (Florence). Surrounded by colourful Tuscan hills, the property has been directly managed by the Giovannelli family for three generations. Situated in the heart of Chianti, halfway between the cities of Florence and San Gimignano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Le Fonti a San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Fonti a San Giorgio Montespertoli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing