We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Italian countryside experience! LOVED the owners and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo
Ranked #2 of 13 Montespertoli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Staying at Podere dell'Anselmo was the highlight of my Tuscan experience. Fabrizio (owner), Julia, Simonetta and Margot were all so graciously warm and inviting - and certainly went above and beyond to make a solo traveler feel welcome. The scenery is classic Tuscany - green rolling hills of fields of grape vines and olive groves, with castles dotting the surrounding hills.
Take long leisurely walks up and down the hills on the gravel roads, lay by the pool and listen to nothing but the sound of birds chirping, and OF COURSE stay for dinner.
Oh my goodness... the dinners were fabulous. Abundance. Course after course of delicious, local Italian cuisine, with free-flowing wine from the estate, and great conversation with other guests (as well as locals who come for dinner). Picture a long table full of wine glasses, great people all conversing in about 4 different languages, and - if you are lucky - adorable children running around. La Dolce Vita!
Oh, and if they are offering it, take a cooking class. Great fun!

A tip: I didn't rent a car, but instead had a driver (from cookingvacations.com) pick me up at the Firenze train station, and a few days later take me to Pisa. I also took a bus (very easy) to Florence (Firenze) for an afternoon. But if you are traveling locally, a rental car would be a wonderful addition, to allow you to explore Pisa, Lucca, and all the small villages on your own, at your own pace.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLALWLYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

This family-owned-and-operated winery was our first stop on our 16-day Italian adventure. A driver picked us up at the Frenze station and drove us to this charming, rustic winery. The Falcone estate was an add-on to our Cooking Vacations itinerary. Upon our arrival we were met and checked in with a nice glass of wine. Everyone was friendly and made us feel so welcome. We checked into our beautiful apartment with a view of the surrounding Tuscan countryside. We wandered the vines (it was during the crush -- yippe for us!) and the production areas. Fabrizio, the owner-operator led us on an impromptu tour of his wine-making operation. He even tapped two Super Tuscans for us to sample (double wow!) and wines in all stages of production.

We had a cooking class that evening and that was truly fabulous! We had a lively little group of 5 and Simonetta (God, I wanted to take her home in my suitcase!) was just wonderful to learn from. It's like learning to cook from your grandma (we called her Nona by the end of the evening, fueled by lots of their wonderful wine). We had 3 other cooking classes during our trip, but the class at Podere dell' Anselmo was the best! I dream of her Gnocchi! Don't stay without booking a cooking class -- a must do!

The next morning we toured the vines and had a lesson in grape varieties and planting techniques from Fabrizio himself, even though he was busy with the crush. We were invited to lunch with the family and field workers. It was delightful. Fabrizio's wife was lovely and their children were adorable. Lunch was like you would dream of in Tuscany -- pasta, wine, and great conversation. Who could ask for more!

That evening, Fabrizio drove us to the train station, walked us through the ticket purchasing system, and saw us off for and evening in Florence -- fabulous! And he was back again, at the train station, late, to see us back to the estate.

What I am trying to say is, WOW, if you want to have a relaxing stay at an out-of-the-way rustic winery, with super friendly staff, beautiful room, great wine and food, pool, and a short train ride from beautiful Florence, this is the place to stay! I wish we had been able to stay longer than our short two-days.

Oh, and the estate produced wines and olive oil -- not to be missed!

This is not your stuffy, pompous, kind of place, this is Tuscany at its finest; relaxed and welcoming. Pondere dell' Anselmo, Fabrizio and staff, I hope we meet again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We booked this a bit blind as were traveling through italy on train and on a spur decided to head in that direction.

I would say, it would probably be better to actually have a car when visiting here as we did feel a bit stuck. but saying that the owner Fabrizzo picked us up and dropped us off at the nearby station. Fabrizzo is very friendly and makes you feel very welcome

The apartment was large and spacious with a great balcony overlooking the Tuscan countryside , i would thoroughly also recommend going for a horse ride in the area as it is a fantastic area to do so. The riding school is just next door and was good value for money.

The wine they produce is very good, my only regret is not drinking more of it !

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chance1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cinziazanfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tetelle92300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CucinePistoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montespertoli hotels
2.4 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo Divino
Borgo Divino
#1 of 13 in Montespertoli
106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
Le Mandrie di Ripalta
#3 of 34 in Montespertoli
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Il Gufo del Chianti
Il Gufo del Chianti
#9 of 34 in Montespertoli
14 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
215 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#4 of 9 in Montespertoli
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo

Address: Via Anselmo Panfi 12 | Montespertoli, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Montespertoli
Price Range: £94 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "PODERE DELL'ANSELMO" is a family run wine and horse resort situated in the midst of the magnificent Tuscan countryside. Here, rows of cypress crown the ridges of the surrounding hills, where ancient castles look out over the renewed vineyards around Montespertoli. The Villa The private villa has recently been restored respecting its old-world charm, but adding modern comforts. Set on a working vineyard, the property is surrounded by rolling green Tuscan hills in the heart of Montespertoli. The Forconi family has operated its vineyards since the 19th century, specializing in the Chianti "Podere dell'Anselmo" wine. The produced wines are long-lived and are examples of the best in the Chianti wine region, thanks to the family's knowledge and expertise. Tradition and old family customs merge with modern winemaking technologies, to yield nearly 50,000 bottles a year. These are distributed with the authentic "Podere dell'Anselmo" label. The prize-winning Tuscan Red wine "PAX" from Podere dell'Anselmo boasts the Gold Medal, awarded at Mundus Vini in 2014 and several award in all around the world. At the estate is produced also an excellent extra virgin olive oil, which has received several awards for the high quality. Enjoy Tuscany with all senses.. Join Fabrizio at the family estate, a beautiful farmhouse villa located in the heart of the Tuscan countryside. The Tuscan cooking classes, held in the villa's private kitchen, are carried out following typical recipes from the Florence area under the direction of Chef Simonetta. The entire staff, along with Fabrizio and his family, welcome you to the "Podere" for a memorable Tuscan experience in the heart of Chianti. The stay at the family estate will be laso a cultural experience visiting cities like Florence, the city of the Renaissance, Siena, the medieval city of art and romance, Pisa, with its Leaning Tower, and San Gimignano, the town of fine towers. Private excursions through the Tuscan hills will show you the winding roads crossed by sunflowers fields, vineyards and ancient castles of bygone days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agriturismo Podere dellAnselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Podere DellAnselmo Montespertoli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing