We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tuscan Villa Vacation”
Review of Villa Le Torri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montespertoli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Le Torri
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan Villa Vacation”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Le Torri was recommended to us by friends who selected it for our 1 week stay in September 2012. We had the two bedroom unit on the second floor (No 2), which had great views from all the windows facing north and northeast over some lovely rolling hills leading to the mountains in the distance.

While there is no air conditioning, we found leaving the outside patio door open at night gave us enough breeze to sleep comfortably at night. Temperatures were in the low 20's at night and mid-high 20s during the day.

The rooms are simply furnished with very old wooden pieces which well matched the feel of the villa itself. The kitchen is fully equiped so you can cook any meals you wish.

This is a great location allowing you do day trips to all the sites in this part of Tuscany (Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Pisa, Lucca, etc).

There is a welcome buffet reception on Saturday night and the food is great and it is a wonderful way to meet all the other guests. There is a also a Wednesday night dinner offered for 30 Euro's each if enough guests sign up - I would highly recommend you do - and hope they are offering lasagna, it's melt in your mouth. This is full multi course Italian meal which includes all the red or white wine you can drink (and one or two of the guest did just that). It's a full evening of great food, drink and conversation.

The grounds are lovely and well maintained, the pool is naturally heated, but even in late September it was great for a refreshing dip after a day of travel.

So any downside? Yes but they are in my mind quibbles as this is a place you would want return to.

1. There is some road noise as it is set on a road between two small villages, traffic starts around 630 am with a few cars, followed by a bus or two between 7-8 am. Very little traffic after 10 pm.

2. Wifi service - it's is okay to good. Signal strength is not the best and the service dropped several times during our visit. Other guest told me they had spoken to Gabrial about it. I realize you don't come to Tuscany for the internet but since they offer it, it does need to be improved as it is not at the high standards of the rest of their offering.

3. Towels, I think they should provide another set of towels mid-week, I think one set for the whole week is a bit less than is needed. They do offer another set but there is a charge.

On the whole Le Torri offers an excellent value for your vacation dollar and getting 2 home cooked Italian meals in one week (yes cooked by his mother), can't be beat.

Room Tip: Room 2 has great views from all windows, though it is on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Zinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
110
158
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Le Torri's location is perfect, close to Florence and with easy access to Siena and the Chianti wine region.
Our flight mean't we arrived early evening but Gabry, (our host) met us at the gates and immediately whisked us up to meet our fellow guests from all nationalities and to partake of the gorgeous, welcoming buffet.
We found our apartment to be very clean, spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped if you want to eat in or you can use the barbecue facilities within the beautiful grounds.
Gabry was particularly helpful each day in providing us with tips, advice and maps of the surrounding area that we were proposing to visit eg San Gimignano (the medieval manhattan), which we fell in love with!
The Wednesday evening 5 course Tuscan meal is not to be missed, all the food is homemade by Gabry and his family, and we particularly enjoyed this while chatting to our fellow guests. A great evening!
We also had a great morning on the Castello Poppiano wine tasting tour, just 10mins walk from the villa. As part of the tour you are able to climb the castle's tower which has splendid views of the surrounding countryside.
For any visit to Tuscany, Le Torri is most certainly the place to stay.
Thank you Gabry for your hospitality and making our holiday so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaymakerCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We just arrived back from a fantastic trip (although too short) to Italy. We had the extreme pleasure, comfort and enjoyment of staying at this beautiful villa while in the Tuscany region. I can't say anything negative about this place and it's impossible to describe the feeling of serene absolute beauty when you arrive and look out your window! Gabry and his family make the stay unbelievably enjoyable and you get the feeling that they will do anythign possible to welcome you to their "home". The food they prepare, especially on the optional night was nothing shy of spectacular and generous to the extreme! I don't believe I've ever eaten so much at once!!! First class all the way! We stayed in apartment #3, top floor one bedroom. LOVED it. So picturesque and quaint. They have a wonderful service where you can place an order for groceries before arrival and voila, all there waiting for you, nice and fresh. I made breakfasts only every morning however it is completely equipped to make a gourmet meal if you so choose . Walking distance to a small town where you can sit and have a glass of wine or a cold beer, grab some small item groceries, do some banking or just walk around taking in the scenery. If you're looking for a place in the country, close to the cities, but nicely removed, you can NOT go wrong with this place. Home away from home, would go back in a heartbeat! (maybe next year!)

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here! We were on the top floor, (3rd), stairs only, but no is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I have been dreaming of traveling to Tuscany for many years. Our dreams came true at LeTorri. The villa is a fabulous spot for relaxing and enjoying all Tuscany has to offer. Gabrielle and his family were amazing hosts. I would suggest eating and drinking anything they offer...everything was homemade and absolutely delicious! Rent a car and day trip to the villages around but be sure to leave part of the day for relaxing around the pool and grounds. Gabrielle helped plan our museum visits, wine tastings, and local restaurants. Our dream now is to return to LeTorri very soon.

Room Tip: All the guests were happy with their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynfullydelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Le Torri was a great find. Great family spot for a kid-friendly vacation... The rooms are spacious and clean, there is a pool, fruit trees to snack from and great central location to Florence, Siena, Pisa, Chianti, etc. and at a reasonable price. The family who runs the house is very sweet an accommodating. Definitely endulgent in the home cooked meal of they offer it... One of the best Tuscan meals you'll have!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had spent four hectic days in Rome and after driving from Siena we were in Gabrielle's capable hands for seven amazing days! We enjoyed the food, the pool and the accomodations, all of which were excellent. Spend the 30 euro and be part of the group meal on Wednesday.
Plus, we got help from Gabrielle in every area, from local restaurants to tickets to Florence to day trips to wine tastings. Every recommendation was five stars as well. Get up early and do the day trips but come back to enjoy the pool and the company in the late afternoon and evenings. We made some great friends as well among the people who stayed the same week. If we go back to Italy, rest assured we will visit Le Torri again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side seemed to be a little cooler in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markyounglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of July and it was everything we wanted in a Tuscan Villa. The owners are very friendly and the meals they prepared were the best we had during the whole trip. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickRamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montespertoli
2.5 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castello di Fezzana
Castello di Fezzana
#7 of 9 in Montespertoli
3 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
124 reviews
9.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
544 reviews
19.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Torri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Torri

Property: Villa Le Torri
Address: Via di Poppiano 88, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XIII century building, villa apartments vacation rentals in the heart of Tuscany in the Chianti hills area top view, 25km to Florence, 50km Siena, 60Km Pisa, 30Km San Gimignano. Self-catering apartments in Tuscany. Apartments 2 bed and 4 bed. Welcome buffet Tuscan home made on Saturday from April and of October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Le Torri Hotel Montespertoli
Villa Le Torri Montespertoli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing