We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparallelled Service in a Quaint Location”
Review of Palazzo Brandano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Brandano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I and another couple just completed a five-day stay here, and the reviews were absolutely correct. Petroio is a tiny village in the hills of Tuscany with a population of about 350 people. There are just a couple of stores and absolutely no other tourists than those who say at Brandano. If you are looking for a unique experience away from the crowds in an authentic Italian village, this is the place.
The rooms are comfortable, but nothing special. But who cares when you receive service from Ousmane, the manager, the likes of which our group, experienced travelers, have never encountered before. He is able to solve any problem and make your vacation a dream come true. His staff of Aurelia, the chef, Laura, the housekeeper, and Victoria, the waitress and assistant, are wonderful.
I could tell you all of the things that they did to make our vacation fantastic but that would spoil the magic for you if you decide to go here. There are many great choices in Tuscany, but I can say without hesitation this place will offer you a vacation of a lifetime because of Ousmane and his staff. If you are looking for a place with a location right in the heart of town, plush robes and luxurious toiletries, then look elsewhere. If you want an authentic holiday in a small hotel with an intimate dining room with great food, a patio with a great view, and a hotel manager who will attend to your EVERY need and desire, then look no further.
If you do book here, some suggestions:
1-Do not attempt to drive a big car to the hotel door. Petroio has extremely narrow, hilly streets. Park at the base of the hill in a parking lot, and walk up to the hotel door to check in.
2-The Michelangelo suite is the best room with a great view.
3-Tell Ousmane, the manager, exactly what you enjoy eating and doing, and leave the rest up to him.
4-Plan to spend several days to relax and enjoy Tuscany.


We came to Palazzo Brandano because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. It is in a location that is away from the tourist shops and restaurants. If that is a problem for you, please look elsewhere. If you want to be away from the tourist crowd and experience the amazing service of a unique hotel host, plan your vacation in Tuscany here.

Stayed: May 2012
4  Thank Mervmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Reviews were correct - service, food and hotel were simply the best. Ousmane, as well as his staff, ensured we had a memorable, delicious experience not only in Petroio, but visiting the area too. Thank you so much to Palazzo Brandano, we would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSpringsCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

What a wonderful get away! Ousmane and his staff were absolutely the best we have ever had. We'd recommend it highly and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

All the very positive reviews I have been reading here are giving a true picture of the unsurpassed hospitality of Ousmane (the manager) and his team (we like to mention Judith and Lorenza) and the magic of this place. We were seeking a quiet yet luxurious hide out in the middle of the heart of Tuscany, yet allowing us to tour around by car to the many wonderful places Tuscany is well known for. If you also looking for such a place then Palazzo Brandano is a prime choice. We stayed there for 12 days early September 2011. While being on tour each day we returned each evening for dinner. We were sitting on their wonderful terrace overlooking never ending rows of lovely hills with the sun touching the landscape and your soul. You will hear no noise other than the voices of nature. So that may sounds very romantic. But so it was. In a positive pure way. We were staying in one of the suites overlooking the valley with direct access to the terrace. Which made us feel to own this place as if it was our own home to which we were returning as a matter of wonderful routine. Actually that is what Ousmane said ("feel at home") very often when he was looking after us in such a way which many would only offer to their best friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

go there - amazing food town and service
the best

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surferap1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palazzo Brandano in October 2010. We chose Palazzo Brandano because of other reviews we read on trip advisor. Petroio is the quintessential Tuscan hill town (population 300-zero tourist) and Palazzo Brandano is the type of hotel that dreams are made of.

It was our 20th wedding anniversary and Jorgen and Osmane could not do enough for us. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a lovely suite with breathing taking views and a beautiful balcony right outside our door. They went out of their way to make our stay perfect. From recommending day trips and dinner reservations to booking private vineyard tours. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on.

We highly recommend the breakfast in house (great start to the day). On our last evening we decided to stay in and dine at their wonderful restaurant. A perfect ending to a perfect stay. Looking forward to returning to Petroio and Palazzo Brandano.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justustwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I am going there once a year with my family and it's always a pleasure to be there. We are looking for some quiet and good food.
The service is really good and friendly, the food is delicious and the room are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petroio
7.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,198 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
257 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#6 of 7 in Pienza
73 reviews
18.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
443 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Brandano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Brandano

Address: Via Val Gelata 18, 53020 Petroio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Petroio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petroio
Price Range: £268 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Brandano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Brandano's beautiful suites, spacious rooms and charming apartments are all luxuriously and comfortably furnished with handcrafted frescos by famous Italian Renaissance artists. Each air-conditioned accommodation boasts a flat screen satellite television, DVD player, HIFI stereo equipment, mini bar, safety deposit box and internet access. Bathrooms are equipped with either luxury massage showers or Jacuzzi bath tubs. Il Brandano restaurant with its stunning terrace serves modern Tuscan cuisine and an extensive selection of wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Brandano Petroio, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Brandano Hotel Petroio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing