We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property in Tuscany!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Macchione
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property in Tuscany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This Tuscany farmhouse is not to be missed. Our two night stay here in July was perfect. The large one bedroom apartment was beautifully finished and the great kitchen had everything necessary to cook two great dinners at "home". The infinity pool, the well-manicured grounds, and the Tuscany hillside views were beautiful. The friendliness, generosity and helpfulness of the owner's son was an added bonus. We enjoyed the free wine and olive oil which were made locally on the farm. We very much enjoyed the seclusion provided by the farm's location but yet only a short 2-3 minute drive to Pienza. Even though all of the rooms were full, we felt like we were all alone. At night we were able to sit outside in the courtyard alone enjoying a glass of wine and the stars. The breakfast buffet was amazing and truely homemade. The panna cotta with fresh berries was to die for!!! The only minor drawback was there was no AC, or even a fan to help move the air around. Thus, it was necessary to leave the windows open, which allowed us to hear the annoying sound of cars driving over the crushed stone driveway right outside our bedroom window. However, the many many positives of this beautiful property greatly out number these minor negatives. We would love to return and stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    22
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
96
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel has great views and is very relaxing place to stay. The staff have gone to a great effort to make your stay like being at home. The rooms are very big and you can do your own cooking if you like but with great places to eat just around the corner its an added bonus.
Breakfast is great and the cakes must be tried, all cakes are home made.
The wine made here is great and the jams etc that are made here you can try at breakfast,

All product are available to buy from the staff at the hotel.

The pool is a great place to relax and take in the views,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stupot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Il Macchione is a very pleasent and comfortable family-run village house. It's excellent location, in the heart of Tuscany and very close to the charming medieval town of Pienza, makes it a great starting point for daily visits to the most populat tourist attractions and most beautiful Tuscan towns (Firenze, Siena, Montepulciano...). We spent a whole week in May and enjoyed every day, mostly thanks to the very spatious and clean appartment, as well as the great hospitality of the owners, who provided us with all necessary information and assistance. In addition, the offer of their home-made genuine Tuscan products is trully excellent, so we strongly recommend tasting and buying some of those (especially the wine and olive-oil, which is the best we've ever tasted). And last, but certainly not the least - staying in this place is a very good deal, since the price is very reasonable taking into account the quality it offers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
142 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Having been to about a dozen agriturismos in Iuscany, I find standards are generally high. Il Macchione is no exception-a nice stone building (new but tastefully done) beautiful setting with great views, and a nice pool.

However, at €110 for a room it is almost twice as expensive as some other places we've stayed at, without offering much better quality.
Hence my 'average' rating.

It should also be noted that the set-up of the house is not conducive to privacy. All apartments enter upon a courtyard. There are no private terraces (unlike at most other agriturismos) and especially at night you may find that leaving your doors or window open for much-needed cool air means being closer to the other guests than you would have wished.

Given that the house is so well insulated, personally I would have appreciated a fan as the rooms are hard to cool down at night.

Lastly, breakfast is indeed generous and home-made but be sure to bring your sweet tooth! It's basically 10 different deserts-e.g. it included panna cotta which I love but find a bit much to start the day with...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was a perfect place. Very roomy, friendly and the town of pienza was one of my favorite small town stops. The hosts are lovely and I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlstrip2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Everything was perfect. Views, garden, comfort, interior, wine selection, owner was very friendly (by the way he speaks fluent english), very good coffee at breakfast or whenever you like (it's rare in my experience in hotels). Pienza is 1,5km from agriturismo (it's walking distance, but it's better to use bicycle or car, because you have to go on roadside) Everything is done there with love and attention to details. You don't have your own terrace, but you can spend evenings in garden and you won't be disturb as there are no many rooms, so everyone can find a quiet place in garden. One more thing - owners of this agriturismo produce olive oil, which is very good! we bought it and we brought home. We promised ourselves to come back in near future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor (il torre) - very very nice. Huge kitchen, bedroom, bathroom with showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giedre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Farmhouse? What an understatement! It's an estate on a huge acreage. The beautiful stone villa is perched high on a hill with a 360 degree spectacular panoramic view. Lavender and rosemary bushes perfume the air. You can pluck a ripe olive off a tree. Clusters of chairs are sprinkled throughout the extensive well manicured gardens. The infinity pool visually draws you over the edge and suspends you above a golden sweeping Tuscan landscape. The view is so magnificent that you are truly tempted to just sit and contemplate the world rather than leave and explore the surrounding environs.

Our breakfast was outstanding. "Mama" has owned two restaurants and has a passion for baking. When you view the breakfast offering pictured below, you two will wonder how she keeps trim. It's a miracle! On the subject of food, do buy and/or try their own olive oil. It is excellent. If you are a serious coffee buff, you'll be happy to hear that they offer superior coffee beans along with a sophisticated cappuccino machine, available to guests anytime!

The cool apartments with wooden beams and Tuscan hand painted family furnishings reaffirmed you were really in Tuscany. We had a full separate dining area combined with the kitchen had we wished to cook. The accommodation was immaculate.

Unfortunately there were no laundry facilities; if you wanted fresh towels there was an additional charge as there is for a pool towel. Also the owners are off premises once everyone has checked in and after they have finished the breakfast clean up. Mind you everything was in perfect working order so that was not a problem. We stayed for four nights. They did not do any housekeeping that we noticed. So sorry, you have to make your own bed or not!

The Signora's family has owned the surrounding land for several generations. They own and run their olive oil factory just across the road. Personally I believe that "Il Macchione" is more a labour of love than a business. Their rates are most affordable and definitely excellent value.

The quaint small town of Pienza not only is a UNESCO world heritage site, but it is in the heart of Tuscany and the perfect spot for heading out in all directions.

Needless to say this B&B or farmhouse is almost fully booked for next year. We felt so lucky to have found and stayed in this intimate family villa.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Envisionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Casa Picchiata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Macchione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Macchione

Property: Agriturismo Il Macchione
Address: Loc. Il Macchione | S.P.71 per Trequanda, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating to XVIIIth century and close to nearby Pienza, amidst the view of the Val d'Orcia, a pleasant and panoramic area, lies the ancient stone farmhouse of Podere "Il Macchione". Completely rebuilt with great respect for the original design, the farmhouse has been subdivided into four lodgings and a common room. The building's proportionally pleasant and soothing forms evoke simplicity and harmony while overlooking an absolutely unique and uncontaminated view, recently numbered among the worldwide property of humanity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Macchione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Macchione Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing