We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Il Macchione
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The four of us in our family were very pleased with our stay at Il Macchione, overlooking the scenic Val d'Orcia. The staff were the most friendly and gave the best service we encountered during our five week trip to Europe. The rooms were spacious, with high-beamed ceilings. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and touring the adjacent olive oil factory was an added bonus. I even enjoyed the infinity pool although it was early October and the water was a bit chilly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Tour (The Tower), which had a second bedroom with its own bathroom one floor above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

This Tuscany farmhouse is not to be missed. Our two night stay here in July was perfect. The large one bedroom apartment was beautifully finished and the great kitchen had everything necessary to cook two great dinners at "home". The infinity pool, the well-manicured grounds, and the Tuscany hillside views were beautiful. The friendliness, generosity and helpfulness of the owner's son was an added bonus. We enjoyed the free wine and olive oil which were made locally on the farm. We very much enjoyed the seclusion provided by the farm's location but yet only a short 2-3 minute drive to Pienza. Even though all of the rooms were full, we felt like we were all alone. At night we were able to sit outside in the courtyard alone enjoying a glass of wine and the stars. The breakfast buffet was amazing and truely homemade. The panna cotta with fresh berries was to die for!!! The only minor drawback was there was no AC, or even a fan to help move the air around. Thus, it was necessary to leave the windows open, which allowed us to hear the annoying sound of cars driving over the crushed stone driveway right outside our bedroom window. However, the many many positives of this beautiful property greatly out number these minor negatives. We would love to return and stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RICK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel has great views and is very relaxing place to stay. The staff have gone to a great effort to make your stay like being at home. The rooms are very big and you can do your own cooking if you like but with great places to eat just around the corner its an added bonus.
Breakfast is great and the cakes must be tried, all cakes are home made.
The wine made here is great and the jams etc that are made here you can try at breakfast,

All product are available to buy from the staff at the hotel.

The pool is a great place to relax and take in the views,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stupot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Il Macchione is a very pleasent and comfortable family-run village house. It's excellent location, in the heart of Tuscany and very close to the charming medieval town of Pienza, makes it a great starting point for daily visits to the most populat tourist attractions and most beautiful Tuscan towns (Firenze, Siena, Montepulciano...). We spent a whole week in May and enjoyed every day, mostly thanks to the very spatious and clean appartment, as well as the great hospitality of the owners, who provided us with all necessary information and assistance. In addition, the offer of their home-made genuine Tuscan products is trully excellent, so we strongly recommend tasting and buying some of those (especially the wine and olive-oil, which is the best we've ever tasted). And last, but certainly not the least - staying in this place is a very good deal, since the price is very reasonable taking into account the quality it offers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Having been to about a dozen agriturismos in Iuscany, I find standards are generally high. Il Macchione is no exception-a nice stone building (new but tastefully done) beautiful setting with great views, and a nice pool.

However, at €110 for a room it is almost twice as expensive as some other places we've stayed at, without offering much better quality.
Hence my 'average' rating.

It should also be noted that the set-up of the house is not conducive to privacy. All apartments enter upon a courtyard. There are no private terraces (unlike at most other agriturismos) and especially at night you may find that leaving your doors or window open for much-needed cool air means being closer to the other guests than you would have wished.

Given that the house is so well insulated, personally I would have appreciated a fan as the rooms are hard to cool down at night.

Lastly, breakfast is indeed generous and home-made but be sure to bring your sweet tooth! It's basically 10 different deserts-e.g. it included panna cotta which I love but find a bit much to start the day with...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was a perfect place. Very roomy, friendly and the town of pienza was one of my favorite small town stops. The hosts are lovely and I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlstrip2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Everything was perfect. Views, garden, comfort, interior, wine selection, owner was very friendly (by the way he speaks fluent english), very good coffee at breakfast or whenever you like (it's rare in my experience in hotels). Pienza is 1,5km from agriturismo (it's walking distance, but it's better to use bicycle or car, because you have to go on roadside) Everything is done there with love and attention to details. You don't have your own terrace, but you can spend evenings in garden and you won't be disturb as there are no many rooms, so everyone can find a quiet place in garden. One more thing - owners of this agriturismo produce olive oil, which is very good! we bought it and we brought home. We promised ourselves to come back in near future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor (il torre) - very very nice. Huge kitchen, bedroom, bathroom with showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giedre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Monticchiello
114 reviews
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
615 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Casa Picchiata
4.2 mi away
Agriturismi Il Castello La Grancia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Macchione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Macchione

Address: Loc. Il Macchione | S.P.71/a per Trequanda, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Price Range: £71 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a private land of 50 hectares, just 1.5 km from Pienza, Macchione is housed in a 18th-century stone farmhouse with a swimming pool overlooking the Val d'Orcia Natural Park. Featuring rustic décor, exposed beams and antique furnishings, these apartments have air conditioning, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and a comfortable living / dining area with a fully equipped kitchenette. Outside, you will find a 70 m² terrace with a hydromassage pool and numerous sun loungers, tables and chairs, and gardens including a play area for children, several gazebo and many vineyards, olive trees and brightly colored flowers . Agriturismo Il Macchione is a 1-hour drive from historic Siena. It offers a daily breakfast buffet, barbecue in the garden, free parking and a beautiful infinity pool on the Val d'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agriturismo Il Macchione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Macchione Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing