We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Nepolean cake I've even had after a great lunch”

Trattoria La Buca delle Fate
Ranked #18 of 56 Restaurants in Pienza
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Nepolean cake I've even had after a great lunch”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

It's a local restaurant where mostly served local ppl in Pienza. It's nice that they have English menu since not all waiters speak english. We order the Parma ham with melon, 3 different type of pasta, grilled sausage, daily special (pork chop), Nepolean cake, coffee and house wine for less than 100 euro. We all love the homemade pici as well as the grilled sausage. The best part of the meal is the Nepolean cake. I will go back to this restaurant because of the dessert cart.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miu_and_Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    426
    225
    100
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“do not walk passed”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent 4 nights in pienza and always use trip advisor for advise as this was low in ratings we did not plan to go and its also easy to miss from the outside, as all other places were closed we went in as no other options! well we had the best food and service and the setting was lovely nice and light as some of the others are dark and dim, had pasta with mushrooms excellent choice good choice of wine and one of the cheapest meals we had- excellent night

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant twice during our stay in the area - both times had good food and service. A lovely family run restaurant with nice atmosphere and full of locals which is always a good sign.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NottsMagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Attractive little restaurant, good food”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Nice little restaurant, the food was good, house wine particularly good. I had the Tuscan cured meats, the spaghetti, and unfortunately they weren't doing the Guinea fowl tonight so I had the wild boar. All three were good, prices were excellent for Pienza, and the Macchiato was excellent. My waiter was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rounsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuid Scharwoude
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place, moderate food”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

In the beautiful centre of Pienza there is Trattoria La Buca delle Fatte. The interior is very authentic, the cross form of the room reminds of a church. The food is authentic as well, but nothing more than that. It is decent, but not spectacular. Prices are low.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BartMuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria La Buca delle Fate also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Monticchiello, Pienza
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria La Buca delle Fate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing