We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our room was quite small, however, there were many rooms that were larger. The views are really amazing. The service was fantastic and the location a dream. Noisy hose pipe directly outside the bedroom window one night. I would recommend this place, though, for its charm, service, breakfast and location.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spookie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    215
    106
    54
    16
See reviews for
90
340
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed here one night and would return again. The hotel is in the center of town. parking is outside the walls, in public parking. I was given the last room available. It was on the third floor, small but ample, with weird paintings on the walls. The bathroom and the room were simple and clean. I was awakened in the middle of the night by the phone. Someone had programmed it to go off. Around 8 am, i was again awakened by a clanging cart noisily bring breakfast to someone on my floor. My breakfast was aple but nothing special. No fresh juice, no scrambled eggs, but good service. The view from the garden of the hotel was exceptional. All in all, this was a pleasant place. The town is lovely and full of people. Getting dinner was tough without a reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were here for just one night as part of a walking tour and were happy to return after an earlier visit. It is a very pleasant, comfortable and quiet hotel with a lovely cloister and view over the countryside. Breakfast is very good - we didn't try the restaurant. The staff were welcoming, pleasant and efficient.

Our only cavil was that made by earlier guests. Our room (off the cloister) needed a bit of TLC and general brightening. We would, however, return but try for a different room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We spent a week here in June and can't wait to return. It was a truly special time. The room - yes, a little tired, and the bathroom was small, but not a problem unless you need US style space - but it was really all about the view, which on first sight just takes your breath away. The place is very special - location, staff, food, wines ... Breakfast, and indeed dinner, on the terrace overlooking the valley was an experience we looked forward to every day. We loved the fact that the hotel is not shiny and new inside: character is so much more memorable than the bland uniformity of some more swish establishments. The other very special element is the staff, who were attentive, helpful and generally delightful. We were offered help booking visits to vineyards, hiring bikes and were given some wonderful recommendations on restaurants to try when out and about. I sincerely hope Il Chiostro doesn't get bought up and 'smartened up'. We love it just as it is.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoddyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just spent 3 nights in Pienza at this special hotel and it was lovely. We travelled there with our 20-week old daughter and the staff was wonderfully accommodating. The room we stayed in (104) was a bit tired; however, it was clean and provided a beautiful view of the Val d'Orcia. The bathroom was probably the biggest disappointment, as the toiletries were basic, the drain to the shower was very slow and flooded the bathroom (it was a wheelchair accessible room, so no "curb" for the shower stall), and there was not much in the way of counter space.
We spent a good amount of time by the pool, which was lovely but nothing special. I think this has been a very dry year in Tuscany and the garden reflected the lack of rain (no big deal just not a wow factor). The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast, nothing particularly special; although, some of the best cappuccinos I have tasted where here! The view from breakfast IS special -- easily can spend lots of time sipping coffee and staring out at the horizon. The staff happily obliges -- no pressure to speed up your leisurely breakfast.
The people that this property attracts are a draw as well...it seems. We met some very interesting folks and everyone seemed respectful in the common spaces.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timeisprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A beautiful building in an excellent location which did not completely live up to its expectations. It was reasonably cheap to stay here and as such, was very good value but some aspects of the room could have been improved - such as doors which did not lock properly and very little space for clothes.I booked a Junior Suite ( Not a good description as it was quite cramped) which was adequate but neither spacious nor luxurious which is a shame as the property has the potential to be amazing. I do not want to sound too negative as it was still very nice in some ways but I would describe it as 'cheap and cheerful' certainly not a true 4*. The location was ideal for looking around Pienza but be warned that finding a parking space is not always easy. A good base from which to look around the surrounding area and also to cycle from. Somme really good restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the countryside and not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I travelled with a friend and we stayed for 10 days in early September. We both kept saying how it was the perfect place to visit with our respective partners as Tuscany in general and the hotel in particular was ideal for a romantic break. We understood September was a good time of year for good weather and fewer crouds, and it proved to be so. The hotel Il Chiostro has a kind of faded grandure, and we felt we had stepped back in time. I would recommend booking a 'valley view' room. Which not only looks out over the Val d'orcia, but also the garden. We blew the budget and ate in the hotel restaurant several times because the food was so good. Eating outside was a particular pleasure as the terrace was beautiful at anytime of the day. Breakfast was excellent and the staff charming and helpful. A word of warning. Don't try having a nap around 6pm. You are staying in a converted monastery which still has a 'bell tower', complete with bells which ring out daily at 6. For us, this added to the charm. Pienza is a lovely, tranquil place, which is ideal if you want to relax and soak up the atmosphere. We did a trip to Florence by train, which was worth doing, but we were more than happy to get back to the Il Chiostro for some peace and quiet. Something to bear in mind is that while the hotel will park your car for you. This is an expensive option. Ok if you have just arrived and need a night to get your bearings though. There is free parking outside of the town walls. This works fine once you have found your way around a little.

Room Tip: Book a Valley View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.2 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
3.1 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#6 of 7 in Pienza
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro di Pienza

Property: Il Chiostro di Pienza
Address: Corso Il Rossellino 26, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro di Pienza 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Il Chiostro di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Di Pienza Hotel Pienza
Il Chiostro Di Hotel Pienza
Pienza Il Chiostro Di
Il Chiostro Di Pienza Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing