We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a great room with a spectacular view over the valley. The hotel is placed in the center of Pienza, a nice town on top of a hill. The service from the staff was good, and we enjoyed our stay. The only bad thing was, that the restaurant serves a tiramisu that is not a tiramisu. But the dessert was good anyway :-)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Poulsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Our second stay in this glorious place. It's typically Italian and tucked away in the tiny hilltop. Plus points include a first class restaurant with amazing views across Tuscany and a lovely swimming pool. The staff are helpful and friendly, it helps to speak a bit of Italian though. Not the place for you if you want the plastic hotel experience, it has bags of character and quirky with it. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The positives are nice location, clean room, and good breakfast. Additionally, the views of the Tuscan valley are spectacular. However, the place had a strange vibe. For all of the positives, the clerks appeared either over stressed or somewhat aloof or both. We spent more than a week in Florence and the Tuscan countryside and this was the one place where the staff (with the exception of the breakfast server) appeared disinterested in their guests or not friendly. Perhaps they were having a difficult week. Despite this, overall the hotel is a nice place to spend your time in Pienza, which is another wonderful and engaging hill town.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Terribly overpriced for what we got there were 4 of us an the kids had to sleep head to toe in one bed. Staff terribly unhelpful and not accommodating for families. Restaurant very overpriced and we left with an impression that we were being looked down upon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carleomoltoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a wonderful lunch here last week. The view is amazing as you sit on the terrace, but the restaurant does not rest on that alone, both the service and the food are excellent. The food has a modern twist, with interesting touches and the tastes are sublime, I shall remember the mozzarella starter, my duck main and wonderful semifreddo for a long time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jbblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor. It was a charming room at the end of the hall. When we opened the wooden shutters and looked out, we had the most beautiful view of the valley below.
The valley was so green and contrasted beautifully with the blue of faraway hills.

The staff was wonderful and always available.
The food in the restaurant at lunchtime was superb! The seating was on the terrace, also overlooking the valley. There were umbrellas to shade from the sun. The wine selection was excellent.
The location was in the center of Pienza and was close to everything.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall is next to the bell tower. If you are in one of these rooms, just be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night in the suite room type (room #101) which had a lovely view of the valley.

The room had a lot of space, a nice sitting area (which included a desk and chair), ample storage and tea & coffee making facilities.

The bathroom was small and basic but fine.

Unfortunately we were woken by noise from the early risers in the terrace area below our room (probably having an early breakfast).

The buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant and had a good selection of food and friendly service. We dined in the restaurant, dinner was fine.

Driving to the hotel was a little difficult, we needed to find the appropriate ZTL (Limited Traffic Zone) entrance to get to the hotel and once we were on the right road (amidst all the pedestraians) we found it difficult to spot the actual hotel (signage was lacking). Once we had found it, however, the hotel took care of parking our car (included in our rate).

In room wi-fi was free and OK.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel’s location is on the main street of the old town.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms with the view, they aren't that much more than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,201 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
438 reviews
3.1 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#6 of 7 in Pienza
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro di Pienza

Address: Corso Il Rossellino 26, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range: £38 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro di Pienza 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Il Chiostro di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Di Pienza Hotel Pienza
Il Chiostro Di Hotel Pienza
Pienza Il Chiostro Di
Il Chiostro Di Pienza Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing