We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terre di Nano- a magical place”
Review of Terre di Nano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terre di Nano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terre di Nano- a magical place”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was my 2nd visit to the property, and this time I stayed in the main house. The staff and experience was top notch, the food amazing, and the scenery, well you'll have to go see it to believe it. Giorgio and Ilaria do an absolutely fantastic job there and I highly recommend Terre Di Nano (110% see you next year!!!).

Grazie Mille.

Anup

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anupNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
134
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had our wedding here in June 2014, and it was absolutely perfect. From the setting and views (have to be seen to be believed), to the rooms for our family and friends to stay in, the food served, the fabulous wine (great value!). We could not fault terre di Nano, and in Ilaria & Georgio you have the most generous hosts possible. The best spot to stay in Montepulciano!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We cannot say enough about Terre di Nano it was everything and more we had hoped for in our visit to Tuscany. From the moment we stepped out of our car we enjoyed the friendliness of Giorgio and the three amazing dogs. After our long day of travel we sat outside and enjoyed the breath taking view while drinking delicious wine from Terre di Nano and delicious cheeses. Hilary was also very helpful and friendly. She gave us great directions and sites to visit. Both of them were truly helpful and friendly. They had a wedding coming up that weekend but they were still very attentive. Our two bedroom apartment was amazing clean, relaxing, decorated well. The beds were comfortable and the views from our terrace on the upper level was exquisite. We had all the conveniences of home with a fully stocked bathroom including hairdryer and toiletries. The breakfasts were very good and besides coffee they would make you cappucinos. Resting by the pool was relaxing after a day of visiting the small towns around the area. Terra di Nano is so centrally located to accommodate day trips. La Porta Restaurant nearby had a delicious meal and gave us a bottle of wine to take home after our dinner. Very attentive and food was excellent. I can't say enough good things about our stay and would definitely recommend it and stay there again!!

Room Tip: We loved being on the upper level of the main house the name of the apt. was Bella Vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swell52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Yes! Terre di Nano IS as beautiful as everyone says. The location is perfect and the photos can't do it justice. Our room was full of charm, views and spotless. Breakfasts were yummy and the weather was great. Our dealings with Ilaria before our trip....and after we arrived were wonderful. She was very helpful and we enjoyed chatting with her on the terrace in the late afternoon as we drank our wine and soaked in that gorgeous view. The view is what TdN is all about. So why could I not give this a 5 star review? We were very disappointed at being denied dinner outside on a gorgeous evening enjoying the beautiful view. When we arrived on a warm sunny Monday, we were told by Georgio that our Tuesday night dinner could only be served in the breakfast room because it was 'too cold' outside....we 'mildly begged' to eat outside, but then let it go. (It was in the 70s). Monday night we went to La Porta down the road in Montechellio where we ate outside on a lovely terrace and were treated like family. Tuesday morning came and with the lovely evening the night before, we thought he would change his mind, but he held firm to his policy of serving dinner in the breakfast room. So we cancelled our dinner with him and made dinner plans at La Terraza in Pienza (also outside and lovely). Tuesday early evening, before we left for dinner in Pienza, we stopped by the terrace to linger a bit with our wine only to find 2 tables set up for dinner (!) We were quite surprised. When we asked Georgio about it, he said 'you can eat there too..... if you want'. No explanation, apology, conversation.....nothing. We felt like the proverbial 'red-headed step child'. We ate on other lovely terraces during our stay at TdN.....just not theirs (!). Weddings were clearly on Georgio's mind. One the weekend before we arrived and one the weekend after we left. I'm sure they are a tremendous amount of work. But his mind clearly was not on his current guests and this definitely affected our opinion of our stay. Still, we hope to go back one day......just not sandwiched between two weddings.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pcsjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nano01, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Terre di Nano, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Pam and John,
I certainly owe you an explanation…. It is not our habit to let an uncomfortable feeling with our guests when they leave. Terre di Nano is on the top of a hill and has a very hectic and windy weather. Even weather forecasts are often contradicted and the outside temperature is normally colder than that in an outside space of a restaurant in the city. So, we are often forced to change our plans for the location of meals depending on an immediate and unforeseeable change in the weather. However, to please our guests, we are also very flexible in adapting to a positive change. Indeed, in the late afternoon of Tuesday we realized that, contrary to the bad weather forecasts of the previous hours, the weather seemed to allow to have dinner outside. And we decided to set the tables outside. Unfortunately, for now we can only guarantee a good meal to our guests; but we are working to guarantee also a good weather in the future….! We have also the fortune of managing a number of weddings, but this is not and should not be a concern for our guests. Naturally, when this happens we cannot always dedicate overtime to a client, but this is not normally asked by our guests. I hope this helps your understanding of what happened and I would like to give you a small present the day you’ll decide to come back at Terre di Nano. Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The property is absolutely stunning, the views, the pools and our terraced apartment were just beautiful. We arrived on a Monday which was a holiday so could not eat there, but in the nearby village of Monticchiello was La Porta, the food and the service was exceptional and we ate there most nights. After a day of sight seeing and driving through some of the most amazing farmlands we would sit by the pool have a swim and then relax on our huge terrace with a wine.
My only criticism would be that while Ilaria and Gergio were very friendly they made no real effort to promote their hospitality. We would have really enjoyed sitting around the main terrace in the evening with a local wine wine but they were distracted by a wedding that was coming up on the weekend.
We will stay there again though as it is truly lovely.

Room Tip: If you like space then definitely the terrace apartment, 2 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen and great terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We travelled as a group and used all the accommodation at Terre di Nano. Everything was perfect! Great welcome and attention during our stay from Ilaria and Giorgio. Wonderful meal on our first night. Merci Chef! Beautiful surroundings, lovely rooms, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean bathrooms, apartments full of character...excellent breakfast, complete with expresso or cappucino and smiling service. Grazie mille....

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Don't worry, be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a simply wonderful time here this Easter (2014). It was so green and lush - Spring had definitely sprung and everything was in bloom. Driving up to the villa was such a treat as you pass through some stunning countryside. We arrived and decided to stay in and eat and was cooked a delicious meal with local wine from the vineyard. The owners made fantastic suggestions which we followed and generally spent 5 lazy days exploring the Tuscan countryside and visiting local Abbeys, restaurants and towns.

We had some beautiful walks and ate some amazing food. If you're a couple then I really recommend visiting two wonderful restaurants - La Porta in nearby Montichiello and also Il Grotto in Montepulciano. Amazing cuisine!

We loved the villa, the room, the views and the whole feel of Terre di Nano which was calming and relaxing. All service was excellent. For us it was the perfect break away. I really hope we come back and see in it another season. A truly special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
1.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
419 reviews
6.2 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
5.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
448 reviews
0.9 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terre di Nano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre di Nano

Property: Terre di Nano
Address: Localita Nano - Monticchiello, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terre di Nano is a 19th-century country estate surrounded by vineyards, olive groves, rolling hills and woods, which offers spacious charming accommodations in one of the most desirable areas of southern Tuscany, and produces high quality red wines and extra-virgin olive oil. It is situated in the province of Siena in the peaceful heart of Val d'Orcia, a splendid area which officially became part of UNESCO patrimony in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Terre di Nano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Di Nano Hotel Pienza
Terre Di Nano Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing