We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Le Traverse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Traverse
Ranked #10 of 32 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had the most lovely experience at Le Traverse. We were greeted warmly by Pinnucia, who is the perfect host. She made us feel welcome right from the start. Our room was gorgeous with antique style furniture, fresh flowers & fruit and an excellent bottle of wine from the vineyards on the property. Everything was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Every morning, we enjoyed breakfast outside with amazing views of the Tuscan hillside and olive groves. The breakfast was delicious!!! We had fresh fruit, homemade jams, bread, yogurt, and a different homemade cake every morning. Everything was so good & made with care. It reminded me of the homemade cakes & jams my grandmother use to make when I was growing up. After breakfast every morning Pinnucia would sit with us and answer any questions about directions we had for the day or recommendations for sites & places to eat or just to catch up and see how we were. We truly loved these morning chats with her, as she is one of the warmest people I have every met. In the evenings, we would sit outside our room & enjoy wine with those amazing views. We even took advantage of the pool one day, which was very relaxing. If you want to stay in a little piece of heaven while in Pienza then Le Traverse is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenndav21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at this agritourismo on the recommendation of two couples who are friends of ours and had stayed there in the past. They both had very high praises of the place, so I had very high expectations. They were 100% met! The room was gorgeous with a 4-poster bed with curtains, unique wood furniture pieces, interesting decorations, fresh fruit, fresh flowers, a candle, and a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival! I really appreciated the small touches. Outside the room is a covered area with a gorgeous Tuscan hillside view, where a delicious breakfast is served each morning. Most of the breakfast items are made at the place. In addition to fresh fruit, homemade jams, bread, yogurt, and eggs, each morning we had a different cake at the end of the breakfast. They were delicious, and who doesn't like a breakfast dessert! Pinnucia, the owner, is one of the sweetest people I have ever met. She booked a winery tour for us and helped us figure out our itinerary for the day after breakfast each morning. She also got us reservations to Acquacheta in Montepulciano, where we had one of the best meals we've ever had! I can't say there was one thing we didn't lilke about the place. We will definitely stay there if/when we go back to Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was the most wonderful place ever. Centrally located in southern Tuscany, it was an hour to two from many of the wonderful hill towns. The owner and her staff could not have been more delightful and helpful. Each day we would plan our day with her help and suggestions. Reservations at Restaurants and Wineries were handled every day. One day we decided not to eat out for dinner and ate outside of our room. The table was set and flowers on the table. The homemade pastries and fresh eggs for breakfast set you for a good day. I would Highly recommend this for families and individuals. I can only imagine how beautiful it is in the summer. We would definitely plan to stay there on our next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My boyfriend found this little gem on tripadvisor back in january and we gave it a go. To say it was amazing is an understatement. We stayed here early April in the middle of our two week trip to Italy. I didn't think our trip could get any better and then we pulled in to Le Traverse. Pinuccia was an amazing hostess she gave us great recommendation for sites to see in our short 3 day stay and two excellent resturants to try. Our room was absolutly perfect, it looked like it came straight out of a magazine-which if you go into Pinuccia's home it actually was in several magazines! It was like a dream so romantic. The sitting area outside of our room provided to most beautiful back drop of Pienza and Val d Orcia. I wanted to stay sitting there all day watching the deer play. Breakfast was great and the cakes were to die for...I only wish I would have gotten the reciepes!!! I just can't recommend this place enough. We will definitely go back to see Pinuccia and stay longer for sure!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordegg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay all day at outdoor breakfast table and listen to Pinnucia tell us about the Val d Orcia. She would come vist us every morning to see what we were going to do that day , and then help out by offering suggestions or making reservations for us. Our room was perfect and the setting was very comfortable. Beautiful view of town of Pienza. I would recommend to anybody visiting this area to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuweid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My husband found La Traverse through tripadvisor and before we arrived there, I extremely worried about staying at a B&B in the middle of the country side. I was SOOO pleasantly surprised at how wonderful everything turned out to be!! Pinuccia, the owner, is an impeccable hostess and you can see the detail, elegance and comfort she puts into running the place. The rooms are tastefully decorated and super clean, breakfast is delicious (they make their own jams, bread, olive oil) with all the produce from the grounds, the pool is absolutely enticing and the panoramic views over dusk and in the evenings are so relaxing. We definitely plan on visiting again! I took a few videos of the pool area and the rooms to try and capture a few moments of our perfect holiday (Filmed in the summer of July 2012):

Grounds in front of the room: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8n1EDkQxK1I&feature=youtu.be

Pool views: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3YOlIIqsTQ&feature=youtu.be

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kohkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Le Traverse is without a doubt one of the most wonderful experiences in the world. It's situated in rolling Tuscan hills with a long winding road that leads up to the inn. Pinuccia-the lovely owner-is there waiting to greet you. The rooms are very well decorated and comfortable, despite having no air conditioning (there are very good fans, and even in July we were never hot when we were indoors). The breakfasts are simple but superb. Pinuccia grows everything herself, so the jams, the breads, the eggs, and the fruit are all fresh and delicious. She always makes sure to come say hello during breakfast and help you with anything that you need (usually restaurant and sites around the area). The views are spectacular, and we spent many an early evening having a drink overlooking the hills from our room or the pool. Definitely should not miss this amazing opportunity!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.7 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.8 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
2.1 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tenuta Santo Pietro
Tenuta Santo Pietro
#8 of 32 in Pienza
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#1 of 32 in Pienza
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
L'Olmo
L'Olmo
#2 of 11 in Monticchiello
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Traverse

Property: Le Traverse
Address: Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Le Traverse Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing