We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Living the Dream'”
Review of Le Traverse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Traverse
Ranked #10 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Living the Dream'”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Do yourselves a favour…stay here as long as possible! My Husband and I spent 10 glorious days here in September 2012, I have not got round to writing a review of Le Traverse….so now I have a moment to do so. Pinuccia could not have been a more charming, welcoming & helpful hostess. We arrived very late at night after getting lost…and bless her, she was there to welcome us, making us feel at home right away. Our room was fabulous, wine (made from her own grapes), glasses and fruit beautifully set out, the interior just as I imagined a Tuscany Farmhouse to be..however the best was yet to come as we threw open the shutters in the morning and looked out over the Val D'Orcia's rolling Valleys to Pienza perched up on the hill….we were 'Living the Dream' ! Breakfast was laid out on a table in our own loggia, home made cakes, fresh fruit from the orchard, coffee & tea, all served by a smiling Alyssia. Pinuccias knowledge of the surrounding area and her advice on where to eat and what to see and do was extremely helpful, she would come and sit with us every morning and ask us what we felt like doing or seeing and her advice was always 'spot-on'. Le Traverse is set in the perfect spot to sit back, relax and just enjoy your surroundings, either by the sparkling pool or under the shade of the Loggia, or drive to the many walled villages and immerse yourself into the Tuscany lifestyle. i could not fault Le Traverse at all…we even got invited to help with "the Grapes Harvest". We have kept in contact with Pinuccia and We will be forever grateful to her for helping us to 'Live the Dream'. We will be back….definitely! Sue & Gary….Sydney, Australia. (PS have beautiful Photos could not upload at time but will add to Review if and when I can).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suec33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If I had to name one place that resembled what I imagined heaven might be like amongst the many places I have traveled to around the world, it would have to be Le Traverse in the lovely region of Val D'Orcia.

We loved every minute of the three days we spent there, everything from our scrumptious homemade breakfasts served blue and white tablecloths on our terrace overlooking Pinuccia's olive trees and Pienza (the eggs, peaches, figs and baked tarts still warm from the oven are to die for!), to our cozy room decorated in rustic Tuscan furniture, to the complimentary bottle of wine and fruits picked fresh from the garden on our table, to Alessia and Svitlana's warm smiles, and Pinuccia's thoughtful hospitality and expert knowledge of the surrounding area.

We felt more like close friends rather than passing guests of the guesthouse. One morning, when I requested for ketchup to go with my eggs, Pinuccia laughed at me and promised to make me their homemade tomatoe sauce instead. And as promised, I found a little pot of warm tomatoe sauce sitting next to my creamy scrambled eggs, complete with a sprig of basil on top!

As another guest had put it in Pinuccia's thick guestbook, we will return (hopefully in two years' time), and count all the days in between.

Grazie Mille Pinuccia, Alessia and Svitlana - we can't wait to come back!

Daisy & Will (Vancouver)

Room Tip: We stayed in Lavande and it was lovely and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chl0e22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After a busy weekend in Florence, we felt the tranquility of Le Traverse the moment we turned into the Cyprus lined driveway up to Pinnucia's beautiful home.

As other reviewers have described the lovely setting, rooms, cleanliness, quality of furnishings and bedding etc, I won't repeat all that has been said. Only to add that it is truly a beautiful place, overlooking the lovely medieval town of Pienza and the rolling fields and hills of the Tuscan countryside. All the little extras make one feel very special and welcome; a fresh rose and fresh fruit from the garden and a complimentary bottle of wine.

Breakfast served on your own private terrace is a delight! You don't even have to dress! Just wrap yourself in the robe provided, and enjoy the still warm bread, freshly picked fruits - the figs and peaches were to die for! The creamiest scrambled eggs laid by their own free range chickens and a surprise cake, fruit pie or pancakes! Scrumptious!

Pinuccia will then join you to check everything is okay and give advice, recommendations, book wine tours, restaurants etc. She shares stories about the region, her family, expresses an interest in you, and over the four days we were there we felt a friendship grow.She is a remarkable lady, continuing with her wonderful b&b even after her husband sadly died. She is a truly warm host who cares deeply for her guests.

A nice touch was when we mentioned we were going to stay in for the evening. She provided olive oil (from the 600 olive trees), tablecloth, napkins, plates, cutlery, bread and tomatoes for a picnic outside our room. There is a local Coop in Pienza where you can buy Tuscan meats, cheeses etc. After a large lunch, rather than to go out for dinner, it is perfect to watch the sun set and the stars from your own terrace. Candles added to the romantic atmosphere....

Svitlana and Alessia also deserve a special mention. Svitlana is always busy tending to the garden, picking the fruit and making delicious breads, cakes and pies. Alessia serves the breakfast in a friendly and professional manner and services the rooms beautifully. They are both always happy and smiling!

And last but not least - the ice cream! Utterly delicious! Homemade from their own fruits, and very welcome after returning from a day's sight seeing or whilst sitting by the pool in the late afternoon sun.

We loved Tuscany! We left Le Traverse feeling rested and cared for, and will definitely be back... Thank you Pinuccia xx

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the suite is gorgeous. Wifi is currently only available near the house, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Le Traverse was our next to the last stop on our trip to Italy. It was so relaxing and peaceful sitting amidst the orchards and olive trees. The room decor fitted perfectly into the location, including the freshly picked fruit from their own trees. After the very warm days touring Tuscany we would come back in the late afternoon to swim and cool off in the pool. Pinuccia, the most charming owner, would bring us home made gelato. Every morning Pinuccia would come sit with us as we finished a wonderful breakfast and give us advice on our days plans and make dinner reservations for us. It was so hard to leave and we all hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Le Treverse was by far our favorite place the most special place we stayed during our vacation in Italy. Pinuccia was a wonderful hostess. She made excellent recommendations on places to visit and eat during our stay. We loved chatting with her and learning more about the history of the house and land - we especially loved her homemade ice cream and jams!

The views from Le Treverse are just spectacular and the rooms feel cozy and inviting. The pool was refreshing and a welcome treat after a long hot day of exploring the surrounding towns.

I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a very special place to stay. The location and aspect are undeniably stunning, a peaceful haven for relaxation. We stayed for three nights, but it felt longer (not often that you can say that about a short break).

The rooms are beautifully furnished with country antiques which seem just in keeping. The pool area is wonderful with a great view, and a decent size pool (and the biggest pool towels I have ever used…), with lovely deckchairs and sun-loungers. The gardens and farm at the property really add to the harmonious feeling of being part of the landscape. My only criticism (and this is splitting hairs) is that the bathrooms are less than contemporary in design / fittings.
Breakfast is a real joy, and in-fact on 2 days we didn’t eat again until dinner. The highlights are indeed the cakes, and visiting in September the figs from the garden were stunningly ripe. Pinuccia the owner is a one-off, constantly striving to make your stay as comfortable as possible (supplying gluten free bread for a wheat allergy), and her recommendations for dinners and visits were sage advice. She is a true host, which is a rare thing these days. I hope that she keeps hold of La Traverse for as long as she finds it a joy, as an Italian Ski Instructor once told me “beware of the East” !

I would thoroughly recommend this idyllic spot to anyone looking for a true taste of Tuscany.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the annexa are very similar. 'Azelea' room is gorgeous but next to the brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenJohnBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I both feel like we were blessed to find this lovely place by chance, as we wanted to spend a romantic week in Tuscany.

Probably one of the best stays in my life, let me tell you why :

- The value you get for the price is more than fair: I feel like we definitely got more than our money's worth

- Everything is proper and clean! The people who work there are discreet, nice and caring. You really get the feel that you are taken cared of.

- The place itself is of course breathtaking and very well known (and rightfully so) as probably the most beautiful location in all Tuscany. It is the picture of romanticness and relaxation.

- Perfect location also in terms of nearby "must-see" places and unknown gorgeous little villages.

- The hostess was marvelous!!! She paid careful attention to our every needs and gave us the "insider tips" (restaurants/places to go/etc.) to make our stay even more magical. I can't thank her enough for her incredible generosity, energy and kindness! If she reads this, we'd like you to understand how much your help was appreciated and how dear we hold our stay with you in our hearts now.

Don't miss this incredible experience that Le Traverse is!

Take care

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
0.7 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.1 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
3.0 mi away
Tenuta Santo Pietro
Tenuta Santo Pietro
#8 of 33 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Traverse

Property: Le Traverse
Address: Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Le Traverse Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing