We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Traverse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Traverse
Ranked #10 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We are just back from a marvelous visit! Nestled in the Tuscan hills with a clear view of Pienza we enjoyed the accommodations, the generous hospitality of the owner Pinuccia and the beautiful grounds including the pool and pond and the ease of access to great food and wine. Le Traverse is a piece of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Le Traverse for 3 nights in May 2014, and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Pinuccia is a wonderful hostess and person, and a delight to visit and spend time with. In addition, the 2 ladies that work for Pinuccia are delightful. The surroundings are beautiful, and the breakfasts were the best we had during our 3 week stay in Toscana. If we ever travel back to Toscana, we would most certainly stay again at Le Traverse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Any superlative I could use to describe my visit to Le Traverse would be an understatement. From the drive up the picture perfect driveway, to the beautifully decorated rooms with extra special attention paid to comfort and traditional Tuscan furnishings, to the stunning beauty of the surroundings in very direction you look, to the wonderful breakfasts complete with eggs from the chickens the owner bought to insure that the eggs are fresh and her homemade jams and cakes, to the wine in each room made from grapes grown on the property, to the charm and commitment of Pinuccia, the owner, to insure that every guest has the best experience possible - I keep coming back for a reason and every visit seems to last longer than the last and leaving becomes harder and harder. Italy, Tuscany and specifically the Val d'Orcia and Le Traverse have captured my heart. I know it is hard to believe that any place could be so wonderful. For me, Pinuccia and Le Traverse is really that wonderful.

Room Tip: FYI: there is no fitness center. I don't a way to say NA. There is no "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to Le Traverse. We were there in September 2013 and again this May 2014 with our daughter and her fiance. For us it is the perfect place to vacation: gorgeous views of the Val D'Orcia, well-appointed accommodations, fantastic three-course breakfasts in the garden, easy access to small towns in Tuscany, and the most charming and kind host in Pinuccia. We just love it there. All of the touches make it special: fresh fruit, flowers, and wine in your room; places to sit and read and enjoy the views of the surrounding hill towns; interesting sites to visit each day. But it is Pinuccia who makes Le Traverse so warm and hospitable - she suggests places to visit each day; makes dinner reservations at local trattorias; takes care of all your needs; and loves to share a glass of her wine to get to know you better. We so enjoyed chatting with her to share our daily experiences. She has become a dear friend and we will definitely go back again - for us it is #1 in Pienza. KAN

Room Tip: There are four rooms - all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finearts_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Le Traverse is an amazing B & B located just 5 minutes from Pienza. Having only 4 rooms, it is very private and serene with fabulous views of both the valley and Pienza. The owner lives on site and her love for the place is evident in all the details: hand picked antique furnishing, pressed laced trimmed sheets, a wonderful breakfast served en suite. Well worth the extra cost!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowman1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Le Traverse is a jewel in the heart of Tuscany-a quiet peaceful and beautiful refuge-with stunning views of Val d'Orcia and nearby Pienza. The real jewel though is Pinuccia, the owner. She is a lovely charming lady who goes out of her way to get to know her guests and to make them feel welcome, comfortable, and at home. We stayed at Le Traverse three nights but we wish we could have stayed for a week! The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. When we arrived we found a bottle of wine, fresh fruit, flowers and biscuits waiting for us. Breakfasts were to die for, served by sweet smiling Alyssia, in the garden outside our room . We feasted on fresh eggs, homemade cakes, jam, cheese, fruit and yogurt. Pinuccia would sit with us afterward and suggest things for us to do and see. Following her lead we explored Bagno Vignani, Rocca d'Orcia and Sant'Antimo Monastery-all amazing! She arranged for us to have a private wine tasting at Altesimo Winery. Pinuccia also called and made dinner reservations for us in Pienza and Monticchiello all three nights we were there. When we left Le Traverse we felt as though we were saying arrivederci to a dear friend. Thank You Pinuccia. It is our dream to return someday. Joan S.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Pinuccia is the heart of Le Traverse. She welcomes tired travelers, and then rejuvenates them with the history and stories of Val D'Orcia, over a glass of prosecco. We fell in love with this place, and the city of Pienza nearby. My husband thought that Pinuccia could be the mayor. She called restaurants for us, 2 nights while we were there. It was a holiday, and we never could have gotten in without her. Both, were popular with the locals and not expensive. She also showed us where to go in the morning, and got us a private tour of a winery near Montelcino. She said if we got lost, it would still be beautiful (and we did get lost).. The rooms and the breakfasts have been described by others. We will make every effort to come back to this haven, and we will order the olive oil from the orchards, for as long as we are able.

Room Tip: The lavendar room has a bathtub. Very unusual in Italy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
0.7 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.1 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
3.0 mi away
Tenuta Santo Pietro
Tenuta Santo Pietro
#8 of 33 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Traverse

Property: Le Traverse
Address: Podere Le Traverse | Pienza, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Le Traverse Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing