We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cretaiole..a memorable Tuscany experience !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We traveled to Tuscany as part of a family group of 8 people, and had a fantastic experience at Agriturismo Cretaiole! We had the opportunity to enjoy sight-seeing in the ancient hill towns of Tuscany, and also partake in wine and olive oil tasting, pasta making, and other activities not available if we had stayed in a hotel. The Moricciani family, Luciano, Carlo, and Isabella, and Carlotta, made us feel like family throughout the week. They had organized activities, tours, etc., or we could relax or explore the beautiful Tuscan countryside on our own. Our hosts were warm, friendly, knowledgeable people, and they helped make our trip to Tuscany a memorable experience. We are planning to return as soon as we can.
Mimi & Dennis Borchers, Augusta, GA

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Three couples just returned from a one week stay in this Agriturismo in the Orcia valley of Tuscany. From the moment Carlotta greeted us to our final goodbyes, our hosts could not have provided a more engaging, welcoming and total Tuscan experience. This is not a stay at an "Americanized" lodging (swimming pool or WiFi in every room) but rather an opportunity to be engaged in the life of Tuscany. They do provide WiFi in the common gathering space, and there are hot springs in a nearby town, but they offer opportunities to become acquainted with the Tuscan life style through one on one interaction with their family, tours of the farm, an evening of making pasta (pici), drinking Vin Santo with Luciano late in the evening, walking to Truscan ruins and through the Hermitage with Carlotta etc........ Isabella enthralled us with her stories of her being the " city mouse" marrying Carlo, the " country mouse" and a hint at the transition to the Tuscan life style. Luciano, Carla's father was once a sharecropper who managed to amass multiple properties but remains faithful to his roots and opens his heart to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We visited the agritourismo, Cretaiole in Pienza, Italy this month. It was one of the most positive travel experiences I have ever enjoyed. Luciano, Isabella, Carlo and Carlotta made us feel like family members. They did a super job of getting us engaged on the farm, and giving recommendations on where t go and what to see in the area. What other vacation allows you to help harvest the grapes, pick all the tomatoes and other veggies from their garden and teach you how to make pasta and how to pick the best olive oil. There were more things to do and see than we could pack into a one week stay.

We especially enjoyed being able to stop by the farm and refill our wine bottles with their family wine, and try out their own salamis, proscuito and cheeses.

Couldn't recommend this any higher. It was a wonderful week.

Bob and Danna Siverts
Seattle, WA

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Located just outside of Pienza in the beautiful Tuscan countryside this agriturismo may set the bar at the highest level. Isabella, who is a very gracious hostess and who speaks English fluently, has put together an excellent book(s) on the all the activiies available and helps you schedule trips to Siena, Florence and the nearby hill towns - plus wine tastings, cooking classes, shoping excursions, etc.etc. Just a great way to immerse yourself in the wonderful scenery, food, history, and culture of the Tuscan area. Luciano's fresh vegetables, wine, and nightly visits with grappa and Carlo's prepartion of the meats on our "eat-in fresh pasta (pici) night" and his class on olive oil tasting added just another wonderful touch in making you feel part of the Moricciani family. If you are looking for a GREAT place to stay in the prettiest part of Tuscany, this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed at Agriturismo Cretaiole in Pienza Italy. It turned out to be the perfect place to engulf ourselves in the Tuscan lifestyle. Surrounded by amazingly beautiful landscape it proved to be the perfect location to begin our travels of Tuscany. Cretaiola is within short driving distances of Siena, Montalcino,Pienza, Monticchiello,San Gimignano allowing us to maximize our time in the Tuscan Valley. Much to our surprise where not only the accommodations but the itinerary available to all guests including: wine tasting at various local wineries,tour of the family's working farm, classes in Olive Oil tasting, cooking classes,mountain biking, classes about Tuscan culture,history,language,traditions and food, pasta making to name just of few. The warmth of the Moricciani family and the passion and the Tuscan Valley was extremely evident and appreciated by all. A wonderful relaxing,educational and cultural experience for my wife,our good friends and myself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

When you are part of the Cretaiole Experience you are guaranteed a true Tuscan experience.

J and I just returned from a memorable Italy trip that included 7 nights in Tuscany, 3 nights in Umbria and one night in Roma before the long flight home. In my pre-trip research I found proprietress Isabella Moricciani with many favorable reviews on TA and R.Steves' Graffitti Wall.

Isabella and her family - husband Carlo, father-in-law Luciano, son Niko and extended family Carlotta and Claudia, do whatever it takes to make your experience the best it can be. Personable effervescent Carlotta was an essential key to the Cretaiole initiation in our first few days as Isabella was out of town on family business. Moricciani neighbors and ex-pats Claudia and husband Gary graciously met us to check us in on our late night arrival and introduced us to our charming self-catering apartment Il Nido and what to expect during our Cretaiole experience.

Il Nido “The Nest” is one of 2 apartments that make up Le Casine de Castillo owned by the Moricciani's in the enchanting, sleepy hilltown of Castlemuzio where the views, the church bells and smiling inhabitants captivated us all week-long. Castlemuzio is a short 5 min drive to Cretaiole and all it offers: sweeping views of Castlemuzio and its neighbor, equally quaint Petroio; all of the Val d'Orcia and the hazy blue mountains beyond; an olive grove of 600-yr old trees; as well as an abundant vegetable garden we were invited to harvest from for our own meals at the apartment. On our first morning in Tuscany we met the other guests at Cretaiole and our Castlemuzio neighbors from Villa Moricciani (where we hope to stay the next time we visit!) At that first meeting we learned through our hostess, Carlotta about all the activities and sights to see during our stay over the next week including multiple wine tasting opportunities, a dinner in a monastery, guided tours of Siena and Florence, a bicycle tour, touring an on-site Etruscan tomb and visiting nearby hot springs. During your visit, each guest at their three properties is provided with an extensive guidebook - actually a huge thick binder! - full of restaurant reviews, directions to local sights including GPS coordinates and driving tour suggestions meticulously created by Isabella. With the personal concierge service, the resources they provided and the stunning location, we were set to experience Tuscany the way we had envisioned – at our own pace and with selective personalized activities. Using our apartment as base camp we explored charming hilltowns, photographed Tuscan life, indulged in tasty pasta and enjoyed the region’s wine throughout our stay. Of the activities offered we enjoyed a pleasant afternoon wine-tasting at one of the first all women-run wineries in Montalcino (Donatella Cinelli Colombini) and a 1/2-day tour of Siena, with Antonella - who shared her love for Siena and all its fascinating history. Over the course of the week we partnered in some activities with some of the other guests at Cretaiole and Casa Moricciani which made for some nice bonding time with other non-Italians experiencing Tuscany the Cretaiole-way including an entertaining evening of pasta-making taught the traditional way by Carlotta and Isabella and a delicious meal with our new friends that followed. Luciano joined us and shared his lovingly-made Grappa making it an evening everyone will remember with a smile.

Review of the accommodations: Everyone I spoke to at Cretaiole and Casa Moricciani were more than pleased with their accommodations. Cretaiole guests make it a point to return and book well in advance. Our apartment at Le Casine de Castillo fit us to a tee with its privacy and tranquility. We enjoyed the thoughtful touches Isabella provides including toiletries, guidebooks, plentiful towels, and a Euro voltage converter. The apartment included a queen bed, private patio, spacious bathroom and a sunny, tidy kitchen equipped with microwave, French press, all utensils, pots, dishes and glassware. At check-in we were delighted to find a complimentary bottle of the Moricciani family’s Sangiovese wine, their Cretaiole Olive Oil, fruits and vegetables, a breakfast basket of breads and cereal, coffee, yogurt, milk, fresh eggs and a lovely dessert tart. During our first orientation morning we enjoyed a tour of the family’s farm in Pienza and meeting the patriarch Luciano who with his smiling pantomime and translation through Carlotta shared his pride and love for the family’s Tuscan roots, their wine, olive oil, local-specialty Pecorino cheese, Prosciutto, salami and grain the farm produces. We tasted olive oil, cheese, meats and wine and purchased our favorites to enjoy during our week at Il Nido.

A true Tuscan experience is guaranteed with the Moricciani family. Their properties in the heart of the Val d’Orcia all have their own unique flavor, with all the right amenities, and Isabella and family provide the tradition of gracious Italian hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoGoGirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Cretaiole is the perfect place to use as a jumping off point for exploring the Val d’Orcia specifically or more generally venturing out for the first time of the main cities to see what Italy offers beyond Rome, Florence and Venice. The accommodation is fabulous and the location very advantageous, but the real beauty of Cretaiole is the warmth of the Morriciani family and those like Carlotta who help them help you begin to understand the area. There is plenty of activity centered around the agriturismo but never any pressure to jump in—you find yourself wanting to participate just to be able to spend more time with these welcoming and delightful people. Don’t miss Pici Night!!! And there are helpful suggestions for restaurants, hikes, driving routes—anything you might want to do or see, they’ll help you figure it out. In a land of memorable places and wonderful people, Cretaiole and its family stand out for their warmth of spirit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
614 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agriturismi Il Castello La Grancia
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Monticchiello
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

Address: Strada Statale 146, Km 4.5, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Cretaiole, a restored medieval Tuscan farmhouse, with panoramic vistas, has apartments to accommodate groups from 2-7 people. Come and embrace the enduring spirit of Tuscany! Weekly rates include authentic Italian experiences, such as a pasta-making class and Tuscan dinner. Located between Pienza and Montalcino, in the heart of the Val d'Orcia UNESCO World Heritage Site. Cretaiole is as delightful for adult travelers as it is for families. Assistance available in English, French, German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Hotel Pienza
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing