We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We just came back from our short trip to Val D'Orcia and we can't wait to come back to Cretaiole!
This amazing place is the perfect one to relax and be embraced by the charming valleys, the rolling hills and the colors of this wonderful area of Tuscany!
The attention for every little detail is what will capture you immediately in Cretaiole as soon as you step in to the apartment!...From the delicious welcome basket with everything you could need, the sweets on the pillows,the home made Red wine, up to the merveillous Excursions Notebook made by Isabella with a remarkable precision to help you make every step in the val D'Orcia smooth and easier...well...everything was a delighting surprise that make us feel more than at home...simply just in Paradise...!!
Many many thanks to Isabella, Carlo, Carlotta and all the wonderful people in Cretaiole...the passion for what you do every day, the love you have for your Land and the infinite smiles on your faces are something we never forget and we are sure we will come and visit you real soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vales29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

To everyone – Isabella, Carlo, Luciano and to Carlotta, I hope I have spelled everyone’s name correctly, Thank you for a truly wonderful experience. I was one of the six –the short one with the beard – who stayed in the #1 apartment during the last week of October.

I don’t think that there is anything that you could have done to make our stay more perfect. I only wish that I spoke more –some – Italian so that I could have traded stories with Luciano over his bottles of grappa.

You all do everything so well! It is clear that you work very hard at what you do because everything is so seamless and the details so perfect. Quality like that is only the result of much thought and hard work – and probably having some fun at the same time. All the little touches from the flowers – they were everywhere - to the consideration given to restaurant recommendations to the friendly warmth that was always there shouted that you clearly love what you do.

So, to borrow a phrase from the Australians, “Good on ya!” and thank you ever so much for a truly memorable experience – one that will remain with us for ever.


And best wishes for much continued success.


Very sincerely,


Skip Wolf

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful week at Cretaiole. The accomodations are charming, spacious, and clean. But it is the warmth of the family and Carlotta that really make this special. As many have noted, Isabella's giant notebook explains the many local sights, how to get everywhere, where to eat, and even where to safely park (an important concern!). This, and the cell phone provided, led to day after day of wonderful adventures. The classes and tours offered were too numerous to enjoy in just a week - we'll have to return! But the most memorable aspect of the stay is the conversations we had with Carlotta, Isabella and Luciano. We were treated like friends, not just customers. As a result, we had an opportunity to experience Italy at a more personal level. We are deeply appreciative of the experience we had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 486anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On our September 2013 visit we had more fun than we ever thought we would. The beauty of Cretaiole and the surrounding area is awesome. The owners and staff operating this farm are very warm and generous. We were very lucky to have a wonderful group of people staying there that week as well. Many friendships were formed and good times were enjoyed by each one of us. We will return and stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently experienced a week at Cretaiole that was truly magical. The many recent reviews are indicative of everything that we loved- the people, the accommodations, the Tuscan countryside and Piensa. What I would like to add is how incredibly helpful and efficient Isabella and her family have made this experience.

The first morning we met with Isabella, she outlined the MANY opportunities to visit wineries, go to cooking classes, visit their working farm, visit Etruscan cave ruins on their property, visit Siena with a guide, hike the countryside with a guide, and attend an olive tasting class with her husband- a licensed olive oil taster for Tuscany. Or choose to do nothing but enjoy their wonderful grounds. These opportunities by themselves would be wonderful.... but add to that the free use of a local cell phone with all members of the staff listed for instant contact and a loose leaf book with every restaurant and site within miles of Cretaiole listed with reviews, specialties, possible issues, etc as well as complete travel directions including- I am not making this up- photos of the highway signs at all critical intersections.

Much of the glue that holds all this together is Carlotta, a Tuscan born wonder who speaks perfect English and who is available 24/7 to make reservations and assure that any issues you may have are quickly and efficiently handled. They have thought of everything to assure a wonderful vacation tailored exactly to your needs and desires.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we were one of the three couples that cynthia b talked about. i echo everything she said and more. immediately you felt a part of this very special family. there were losts of laughs, hugs and tears on departure. we took advantage of the beatiful garden for some of our meals that we cooked in our quarters. the vista is unreal. i love to take photos and this is a spot that is great. the sunrise and especially the sunset are beyond discription. isabella and carlotta were available 24/7. we even had cell phones furnished by cretaiole to make it eaiser to stay in contact. luciano is a down to earth loving man and to me is the glue for the amazing family. yes i would go back in a heart beat. linda and butch fowler chapel hill nc

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUTCH1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We traveled to Tuscany as part of a family group of 8 people, and had a fantastic experience at Agriturismo Cretaiole! We had the opportunity to enjoy sight-seeing in the ancient hill towns of Tuscany, and also partake in wine and olive oil tasting, pasta making, and other activities not available if we had stayed in a hotel. The Moricciani family, Luciano, Carlo, and Isabella, and Carlotta, made us feel like family throughout the week. They had organized activities, tours, etc., or we could relax or explore the beautiful Tuscan countryside on our own. Our hosts were warm, friendly, knowledgeable people, and they helped make our trip to Tuscany a memorable experience. We are planning to return as soon as we can.
Mimi & Dennis Borchers, Augusta, GA

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
457 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
607 reviews
4.0 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
3.0 mi away
Agriturismo Palazzo Massaini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Cretaiole di Luciano Moricciani

Address: Strada Statale 146, Km 4.5, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Cretaiole, a restored medieval Tuscan farmhouse, with panoramic vistas, has apartments to accommodate groups from 2-7 people. Come and embrace the enduring spirit of Tuscany! Weekly rates include authentic Italian experiences, such as a pasta-making class and Tuscan dinner. Located between Pienza and Montalcino, in the heart of the Val d'Orcia UNESCO World Heritage Site. Cretaiole is as delightful for adult travelers as it is for families. Assistance available in English, French, German. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Hotel Pienza
Agriturismo Cretaiole Di Luciano Moricciani Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing