We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Our Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Terrapille
Ranked #33 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
San Luis Obispo
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best of Our Trip”
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My daughter and I were fortunate to "stumble" on this place looking for a night to stay. Very nice and secluded but close to the town of Pienza with magnificent views of the town and countryside. Comfortable very large room, large sitting/living area with what looked like a full kitchen. I hear that Lucia's mother does cooking classes.

What a location, the views on the road driving down, we knew we had hit the jackpot! This was truly were I could have easily stayed the full 3 weeks of my trip. Lucia is warm and helpful, getting us a wonderful dinner reservation. And her dad is a sweetheart too.

What else, can I say but the best. thank you Lucia for taking us in for the night.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieQbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NH, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Just what we were looking for in the Tuscan countryside. A spectacular panoramic view, just outside of the quaint hill town of Pienza. Extremely quiet. Lucia and her parents could not have been any nicer, even driving us into town on a snowy day to pick up provisions at the store.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HsLNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

My wife and I spent two weeks in Germany and Italy and our 2 nights at Terrapille were the best of the trip. This place is simply amazing and breathtaking. This is the postcard Italian Tuscan dream! The view is amazing and the little town of Pienza was delightful. Very good food at the restaurants there!

Lucia and her parents at Terrapille felt like family and I should know since I have family in Italy. I must have called Lucia 10 times leading up to our trip and she was patient with me and helped me find the place. The dinner her mom cooked for us was amazing. This is a must do anytime you are in Italy. Next time we will stay longer than just 2 nights!

Of interest is that a famous scene from the movie "Gladiator" was filmed here. The scenes of Russell Crowe walking through a field with his hands flowing through the field were right here in Terrapille.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehead75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We spent 3 nights here on our honeymoon trip through Italy. I can't recommend the Agriturismo experience enough - after staying in city centers the rest of the trip, staying in the countryside is a great change of pace. Terrapille in particular is just perfect - a windy road lined with cypress trees leads up the hill to a villa with breathtaking views in every direction. Lucia and her father were very welcoming hosts; we felt as if we were visiting long lost Italian relatives! We found this a perfect central location to explore many hill towns. Pienza is the closest - low key and perfect for a nice dinner. We took one day trip to San Gimignano and Siena. On our other day trip we visited Montalcino and Montepulciano - Terrapille is right between these two towns, so if great wine is one reason for your visit, you can't beat this location. There was a beautiful pool - too bad the weather was just a little too cool and drizzly for us to try it out. Our room was cozy and clean. The one negative I can say is it was fairly noisy. Maybe we just had noisy neighbors during our stay, but the walls must have been a bit thin. Still, I would return to this place, no doubt about it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandJoAnne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We stayed at Terrapille for 2 nights. We traveled with friends and rented an apartment with 2 bedrooms, common room and a bathroom. Nothing could be better. The view and location were amazing! It is possible to walk 20 minutes to Pienza, all among Tuscany fields. The rooms were clean and comfortable, dinner (which you not always can get, inquire ahead) was superb, Lucia was the nicest person we met in Italy. We will be back, for longer the next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Beautiful place! Tranquil and serene; A bit slow paced for the teenaged daughter, but my husband's and my favorite hotel of the trip. Wish we could have stayed longer. Easy to find and just a few minutes outside Pienza. Simply an enchanting place to spend a few nights. Lucia is friendly ,accommodating and speaks good English.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Terrapille has much to recommend it: lovely views, a friendly hostess, and a comfortable room which was good-sized by European standards. The room included a shared living and dining area which has attractive wood furniture and a stunning view up into Pienza. Since it's shared, you may have to put up with over-exuberant youngsters as we did, but no big deal.

The proprietress obviously has pride of ownership and shared the background details of the agriturismo, which they opened in 1997 after 3 years of restoration work to the buildings. They and the farm are really lovely, and served as the setting for a scene in The Gladiator movie.

The breakfast was fine, not as varied as we'd been served elsewhere, but fresh. No cappuccino (regular coffee only), though you'll receive a voucher for a coffee bar in Pienza if you want. There are a couple outdoor seating areas and the pool looked fine though we didn't use it.

The downside, and we considered it a serious one, was the 1.5k dirt road leading to the farmhouse. The first section of this road is deeply rutted and very steep. My heart dropped at the thought of negotiating that road for the 3 nights we'd booked, in our little rental car. Luckily there's a second dirt road, which is 2.5k to a paved road but is in better shape and less steep. We, and the other guests I observed, all chose to use this road. The directions on their website are for the poor road so we recommend you ask for the alternate when booking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
0.3 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.3 mi away
Arca di Pienza
Arca di Pienza
#4 of 7 in Pienza
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
447 reviews
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Palazzo Massaini
0.2 mi away
Agriturismo Marinello
Agriturismo Marinello
#26 of 62 in Pienza
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Terrapille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Terrapille

Property: Agriturismo Terrapille
Address: Localita Podere Terrapille 80, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangiavacchi family is glad to invite you to Pienza at Agriturismo Terrapille The ancient farm house is situated on a hill facing Pienza and enjoys one of the most panoramic positions in the Orcia Valley. The view from Terrapille dominates the whole valley from Mount Cetona to Montalcino and from Pienza to Radicofani and to Mount Amiata. The harmonious undulations of the hills and crests of the Sienese countryside is the ideal backdrop for this magical and beautiful view of Pienza. The road from Terrapille to Pieve di Corsignano and Pienza, was the theater of some of the most wonderful scenes of the film "The Gladiator" by Ridley Scott. The house, built in local tufa stone, has been completely renovated maintaining the original style and structure and adding a the panoramic swimming pool in front of the whole Orcia Valley The whole farm is part of the "Natural setting of the historical settlements of Pienza." Both the town of Pienza and the Orcia Valley are parts of the UNESCO worldwide Heritage The style and the environment, the wonderful views and the services and the facilities offered by the farmhouse allowed Terrapille to gain the top quality level assigned by Regione Toscana to each Agriturismo and also the "Agroqualita" quality certification. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Terrapille Hotel Pienza
Agriturismo Terrapille Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing