We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pienza and B&B are A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arca di Pienza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arca di Pienza
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Anna Maria Island, FL
Level Contributor
248 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Pienza and B&B are A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Pienza is our favorite location in Tuscany and we twice have used it as our base for travels. Gloria & her folks are wonderful hosts. Gloria is dedicated to making your visit to Pienza memorable. We did ballooning from this B&B. http://www.ballooningintuscany.com/ A+++
We ate at Latte Di Luna. Gloria secured reservations when we booked the B&B; turned out to be a smart move! Great dining!! Can not say enough about Pienza. A small hill town and not crazy with tourists & bus groups!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandSunAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    73
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
128
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

We spent 2 nights at Arca di Pienza in September 2009. It's an honest 3-star hotel with a great location, a 5 min. walk from the old part of town which is very small any way. As a matter of fact, Pienza was our favourite Tuscan 'hill town' of the whole trip. Service is excellent, easy free parking right in front of the hotel. Breakfast is OK. Rooms are large enough and clean. Grocery store right next door for picnics, food to go or bottled water. One tip: in season, make sure you ask the hotel to make dinner reservations for you ahead of time, there seems to be a shortage of restaurants in Pienza, especially on weekends (Latte di Luna is a good one). The hotel is only 5 years old. Ideal location for day trips to Montepulciano, San Quirico d'Orcia, Montalcino and the Amiata Mountain (beautiful forest if you go over the mountain pass via Castel del Piano).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadstariders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We were a lttle concerned that Arca was outside the city walls, but once there you'll find that Pienza is pretty small, and the inn is only about 400 meters from the city gates. But we'd stay there again even if were 5 km away. Gloria and her parents are such lovely people; we'll never forget how welcome they made us feel. We don't speak Italian and her parents don't speak Engjlish, but that didn't seem to deter us from having several warm 'conversations'. The inn itself is fairly new and modern, but Gloria has done an incredible job of interior decoration, so it feels quite home-like. The breakfast layout was definitely way above average. Yumm.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

One of the nicest rooms we had on our tour of Tuscany, spacious and comfortable with good bed, linens, towels and cleanliness. Only a short walk into the historic centre, but in a fairly ordinary location on a busy road. We requested a quiet room at the back, which is exactly what we got - think it could be noisy at the front. Charming, welcoming owners. Breakfast very limited, and lacking in choice. Good value overall for the room we had, and easy free parking opposite.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaspari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

Gloria owns and runs this hotel with her parents, and provides an exceptionately gracious experience. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and feature a small private outdoor seating area. This is not the fanciest of places, but perfect Etrusan charm. Gloria went out of her way to provide a wonderful experience - making dinner reservations for us, surprising us with cheese appetizer...highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

We loved our stay at the Arca di Pienza. It isn't fancy but for the price... it was excellent. Very clean with very friendly staff and a great location in excellent walking distance to the city center.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twincanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

My wife and I just spent a fantastic week in southern Tuscany and one of the reasons it was fantastic is that we chose to stay at the Albergo Arca di Pienza. It's a stylish yet simple place with eight guest rooms, an attractive lobby, a small bar, a cozy conversation nook with sofas grouped around a fireplace, another area for watching a flat screen tv, and an intimate dining room where guests gather to have a continental breakfast.

Upon arrival we were met by host Gloria Bernini, a charming lady who fortunately speaks better English than we do Italian. She gave us a quick tour of the public area of the hotel and then showed us our room. After a long flight from JFK to Rome and a long drive from Rome to Pienza we were delighted to see our room. It was spiffy with a king bed, ample closet space, a high-tech bathroom and a good sized patio which was accessed through a pair of French doors and floor to ceiling shutters. The room was spotlessly clean and was made up fresh and clean every day. There was always bottled water in the refrigerator.

We had breakfast in the hotel breakfast room every morning of our stay and there were lots of goodies to choose from. There were two cereals, fresh fruits and juices, an assortment of cakes and pastries, and plates of delicious meats and cheeses of the region. Sylvia, who met us with a smile each morning, was always ready to take a coffee order and usually by the time we had made our breakfast selections our coffee and tea were waiting for us at our table. In addition to good food, we also enjoyed being able to engage in conversation with other guests and we all shared anecdotes about our travels. We actually got some good touring tips as we sat around the breakfast tables.

A real plus for Arca di Pienza is its location which is about a three minute walk to the entrance to the historic zone of Pienza. For us the ability to walk to a good restaurant for dinner made all the sense. Each day we drove off in a different direction as we toured Tuscany and each late afternoon when we returned to the hotel we looked forward to taking a stroll around Pienza and then having a leisurely dinner without having to drive back to our hotel. And fortunately there are several good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Arca. Gloria, who seemed to be on duty twenty-four hours a day, made us feel comfortable and at home. We even had a chance to meet her parents who live nearby. Together they gave us a memorable experience that we will fondly remember.

  • Liked — Clean facility and warm, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to sound proofing but despite this it was extremely quiet at night
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
0.2 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais La Saracina
Relais La Saracina
#6 of 7 in Pienza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arca di Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arca di Pienza

Property: Arca di Pienza
Address: Via San Gregorio 19 A/B/C, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arca di Pienza 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arca di Pienza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arca Di Hotel Pienza
Arca Di Pienza Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing