We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet”
Review of Fonte Bertusi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fonte Bertusi
Ranked #13 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Coming here is the full tuscan serene experience. I've been going to Italy every year since I was 6 months old. I am very familiar with the traditions and the silence that is the countryside of Tuscany. This apartment was by far one of the best places I have stayed in. Manuela and her family make you feel very welcome and accommodated. The room has a cute little kitchen in it, and whenever you like you can make dinner there with some of the fresh herbs growing right outside of your porch! The pool was absolutely outstanding, it was very peaceful with a view of Tuscany. Pienza is only a short 10 minute drive from Fonte Bertusi. It's a beautiful little town with shopping and outstanding food. The breakfast in the morning is delicious from fresh fruit to a homemade croissant. Manuela provides guests with a book of places to eat, shop, and do different activities. She even set up a reservation for a cooking class only a short 5 minute drive away for me and my mother.

Room Tip: Any room would be fantastic! although I would reccommend a top one, only so you can't hear the p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Fonte Bertusi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Manuela and her husband makes you feel like family. Warm and inviting. The farm overlooks a breathtaking view of the Tuscan landscape. This is truly what a postcard of Tuscany would look like. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. The only negative was that the shower was very small. The breakfast was ample with a lot of choices and everything was very fresh. It is located 5 minutes from Pienza and 30 minutes from Montepulciano. Manuela was very helpful recommending places to eat. My only regret is that I did not spend more time there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rongoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you've traveled to Tuscany before, you'll know there are several areas of Tuscany ("valleys") each with their own look and feel. If you haven't been before, then Val D'Orcia is likely the one you've seen most pictured, because of its undulating hills and colors. Fonte Bertusi is smack in the middle of it with lovely views on all sides. The location is ideal for visiting many towns, even outside Val D'Orcia. You will need a car to get anywhere. Driving is curvy and hilly, but much easier than in the cities. If you are gun-shy about getting out of Rome FCO with a car to head to Tuscany, take the train right out of the airport to Chiusi/Montepulciano and rent your car there…you'll have less than a 30 minute drive to Fonte Bertusi. From Florence FLR the drive is easier to get out and onto the A1 highway south (direction Rome) but either way you exit the A1 at Chiusi/Chianciano Terme exit and follow signs to Pienza. Have some Euros with you for a toll when you exit the A1, around 10 Euros. Fonte Bertusi is easy to find--- a well marked driveway (dirt road) right off the road called SS146, 10 minutes after you've passed Pienza.
The facts about the "hotel":
-it's an agriturismo-a farm stay, so no fancy hotel amenities;
-it's a family run place, so expect that feel; i.e. family members may occasionally be using the pool with guests;
-it's extremely quiet and peaceful but for the myriad of birdsongs, so be sure you like that;
-our apartment was clean & had all basic necessities-hair dryer, towels, bedding, small fridge, some toiletries to start off with, toilet paper
-kitchen is fine for small meals, offering dishes, cups, pots, pans, utensils, glasses-not a lot but enough; you're not going to cook a 3 course meal for 12 in it but you can certainly make a simple dinner
-missing are a coffee machine & toaster, also no oven (no iron either but I can only hope people aren't spending time ironing while on vaca in Tuscany)
Bedrooms and kitchen have screened windows for mosquitoes; bathroom has no screen but who cares, nothing is planning to come inside form this beautiful outdoors!
Breakfast buffet is served from 8:30 am to 10 am-a bit of a short window, but lovely buffet including typical cured meats & cheeses, few breads , cereals and some sweets, yogurt, juices; cappuccino etc made to order.
Water is potable and delicious so no worries about bottled water.
Pool is clean, cool, and pretty. Each apartment is assigned an umbrella with chairs and lounges; totally convenient. A few steps down from the pool is another sunning area, with more lounges that look out onto beautiful scenery.
The family provides pool towels so don't worry about packing them.
The grounds are lovely, with nooks and crannies that you can visit/enjoy like hammocks, a small water lily fountain, sculptures sprinkled here and there-very characteristic of the area and just a little off beat which makes it interesting.
Kitty cats walk around freely and take care of any critters.
The reception room has wines and a few treats you can purchase; there is no "sundries" store or stocking of any necessities but certainly if you need something, the owners Manuela and Andrea are always around to help you.
There is a massage room on site and massages/treatments can easily be arranged.
Pienza, the closest town they say is 15 minutes away but it really feels like a 5 minute drive, and there are stores/restaurants for everything, including pharmacy.

There are lots of area activities besides visiting towns, like abbeys to explore, artsy gardens, bicycling, horse back riding, cooking classes; just ask and ye shall receive. There is a really good restaurant literally one minute's drive away (or 15 minute walk), called La Fonte-delicious food, outdoor dining with a view-beautiful, don't miss.

Fonte Bertusi is a quiet stay so you can choose to get in the car for adventure, or lie around and think/read/sleep/meditate all day-your choice. Lovely, lovely family that owns the place-great experience.
Lastly, visit the website and you will learn anything you ned to know.

Room Tip: Each apartment has a little private/gated terrace-there isn't a bad one in the place. Ours, Il...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for one week with our three daughters and had one of our most memorable vacations. The grounds are idyllic, with spectacular views everywhere. The apartments were comfortable and well appointed. Andrea is an artist and the entire place is decorated with original pieces that add unpretentious charm. Most important, Manuela treated us like family. She personally made reservations for us for each dinner and arranged excellent excursions, including horseback riding and a trip to the Fosso Bianco hot springs. When I asked her where to buy olive oil to bring back, she arranged for us to visit a small family run farm that specializes in oil, which is produced in their basement… a highlight for us. Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for the room closest to the pool if you have children... this worked well for us
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2014, and were very, very happy with everything.

First, our host Manuela was wonderful and quite accommodating. She not only had thoughtful suggestions for how we might spend our time in Tuscany, but she went out of her way to make reservations for us. We were leaving very early on our last morning and were sad that we would miss the excellent breakfast, but Manuela kindly offered to fix us a lovely tray the night before so that we would not leave hungry.

Second, the location and setting were perfect. We were traveling throughout France and Italy, and our time in Tuscany was the best. Fonte Bertusi is set among stunning pastures and rolling hills; we could not have dreamed up a more dramatic setting for a trip to Tuscany. Our trips into Montepulciano and Montalcino were quick and easy.

Third, the property was superb. Our room was charming with great amenities. And though the property was full during our time there, we hardly noticed the other guests. The pool is quite nice and well maintained, and there were great spaces throughout the property where guests can enjoy the peace and beauty of the surroundings.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_K_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were lucky to stay a full week here at Fonte Bertusi. We arrived late, at sunset, due to problems renting our car and Manuela and Andrea were waiting for us outside their office as if we were family. We had a wonderful week and enjoyed the "first edition" of the classical music concerts every night at 8pm. Wine was served with some italian snacks before the concert. After the concert, Manuela would stand outside and give out little bags of lavender. They were so excited to have these concerts with professionals from Italy and we were so lucky to enjoy them in their new music building. Everything the other posters said was also true for us. Great breakfast, beautiful location, helpful, attentive service. I want to go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stoweflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed only for 2 days but it felt like we were staying with family. Manuela and Andrea are incredibly gracious, sweet and go out of their way to make your stay an amazing experience. The property has a rustic charm with stunning views. The apartment was immaculate, smelled fresh and the rooms were spacious. Manuela prepared a great array of items for breakfast, all baked fresh and of course the cappuccinos were amazing!!! The location is perfect to other towns ( must see: Pienza, Montalchino, Montepulciano, and San Querico in the Val d'Orcia region.). Andre helped to map out all the scenic roads and places to go see. We regret not staying more nights however we will definitely be back!! Thank you again for making our two days the best part of our entire trip. Your hospitality will not be forgotten!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijal4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
7.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#3 of 62 in Pienza
454 reviews
4.2 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Macchione
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Palazzo Massaini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonte Bertusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonte Bertusi

Address: Podere Fonte Betusi di Sotto, 74, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Price Range: £42 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonte Bertusi: There is no place more imaginary, and so more real, than this. You'll be greeted, upon arrival at Fonte Bertusi, by a great, colourful rooster in his cage. And it's like the heralding of a new day. Strolling around the grounds you'll find strange objects, like a huge set of eyes that peer out from the earth, a chair so high up that even on tiptoes you won't get a seat (it's good for higher thoughts though), or a dragon that time has transformed into a wagon... or vice versa. Encounters may be amusing for some, they may be magical or artistic for others and for others still, they relax the mind by bringing into perspective one's conscience and mankind's place in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fonte Bertusi Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing