We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bandita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bandita
Ranked #11 of 33 Pienza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Best in Tuscany”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

A recent visit to LaBandita (near Pienza) proved to be the highlight of a two week driving trip thru central Italy. Reviews written are not exagerated. It is one of the finest
inn's anywhere. Spectacular views, incredible service and a novel approach
to a botique hotel make this a destination not to be missed. Dinner and a cooking lession with Chef David and a wine wasting with John were extraordinary. Five days just not enough.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank readytogoanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

La Bandita is a 'Babington House/Aman-esque' experience set in Tuscany.

The relaxed style of accommodation provided by La Bandita makes you feel like you are staying at a friend's luxurious Tuscan villa rather than a hotel.

US: My wife plus our four young children aged 1.5, 3, 4 & 6. We travelled from Asia and are planning to go back for a longer stay next year.

LOCATION: La Bandita is located about 3km down a scenic country road on a classic Tuscan hill. The sweeping views in all directions more than soothe the 'Tuscany Itch'. The peace that you feel thanks to the isolated setting is brilliant. However, it's proximity to some of Tuscany's most popular sights (Around 8km as the crow flies from Pienza and Montepulciano), means you are but a short drive from this action if you want it.

SERVICE: The location and modern interior designs of La Bandita are all beautiful. But what really sets La Bandita apart is the service and the staff. John and Ondine's experiences as both critic and traveller have really been leveraged to provide guests with a luxurious Tuscan holiday . It came as no surprise to hear that their team at La Bandita had all worked at La Bandita for some time. The pride and joy their team(David, Paolo, Francesca, Simone, Barbara, Paola et al) takes in their service roles at La Bandita really comes across. They discretely anticipate your needs, proactively provide help and suggestions as well as arranging both onsite and offsite activities. This level of attentiveness made the team feel more like caring friends than staff. As parents, it was also fantastic to see them all welcome and talk to the children in the same way they interacted with their adult guests. One of the key reasons my wife and I as well as our children want to go back is to see them all again.

FOOD:
We had heard from friends who had stayed at La Bandita that the communal dining was one of the highlights of their stay. You have to experience it to appreciate it but eating at a big long table really is great fun.

La Bandita has several accomplished chefs but Paolo Coluccio and David Mangan were absolute standouts. The open kitchen allows you to appreciate seeing them preparing great Italian dishes right in front of you. The passion that they felt for preparing tasty and honest food only using ingredients they sourced locally on a daily basis meant eating in became more appealing than eating out. For real foodies, talking to Paolo and David daily about cooking was an absolute pleasure and a huge part of the La Bandita experience.

ACCOMMODATION:
The Pig-Sty with its' access to the pool and daily sunsets would be great for 2 couples of families with older children.
We were lucky enough to stay in Rooms #1 and the room opposite. While not quite adjoining rooms, this set up meant we could enjoy dinner knowing that if the children needed us, we could hear them or they could easily come and find us. Room #1 pics are available on the hotel website. It is located on the south-east corner of the main building which means that it is light and airy. The bed sits on a raised platform which means you get stunning views out East and south with a large bath just nestled behind it. The decadently large shower area makes you want to call an architect to re-create the same room in your own home. The direct access you have outside is very handy for breakfasts outside.

ACTIVITIES:
Peaceful walks/bike rides down fantastic country lanes, wet edge pools staring out at sunsets, refreshing steam room sessions after a long day, Brunello explanatory sessions complimented by italian cheese and meat hosted by John, decadent sunday roasts with other guests, lazy days rolling around on the grass admiring the scenery or playing boules while sipping Tuscan wines... it's all good. La Bandita is big enough that our children loved running around the property and the spacious grounds meant they were able to do this without disturbing the couples there for a romantic getaway.

We were very sad to leave but left at peace as we knew we would be coming back.

Thank you again to John, Francesca, Simone, Paolo, Paola and David. You really made our holiday.

Room Tip: Room #1 for couples. #1 plus opp room for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zatoichikazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

JOHN VOIGHTMANN. Remember the name. And if ever you see it mentioned with regard to the hospitality industry - just book it.

John's got something incredibly special going on. La Bandita is more an ethos than a place. Its so wonderful in fact that we've decided to get married here in July so that we can share this place with our dearest family & friends.

Almost four years ago my fiance collided with a very big stranger in a rugby match in South East London. Both ended up in A&E. Whilst we waited for the usual bunch of drunks & miscreants to be seen before us on a Saturday night we struck up a conversation with this friendly man & his wife. They spoke of this wonderful place in Tuscany that was so liberating that it resulted in a spontaneous proposal. We booked immediately! We've been going back every year since. We've met many interesting people during our stays. In fact we've just spent Sunday night on the balcony of a couple in Sao Paulo we met over dinner two weeks ago!

You can read the other reviews. They speak of warm & knowlegeable staff, exquisite food, modern interiors, intimacy & a simple approach to hotelling. Its not for everyone & we've stayed in pimper places in the past but this is still our absolute favourite. John's a man with fingers in many pies & we have absolute confidence in him, his family & his team to produce the goods whatever they do.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trencv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We have stayed at many boutique top end hotels around the world and la bandita ranks as one of the best we have been to.

Stylish well designed rooms with AMAZING showers, attentive friendly staff full if excellent recommendations and a fabulous chef who not only makes some if the best food we have had in Tuscany but is also really lovely and makes you feel at home.

The best place to stay in Tuscany....GO!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniamarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2011

For the record I have already been to La Bandita twice before and returning 3 years later after almost incessant rose-coloured-glasses memories of our times at La Bandita I am incredibly happy to report that my glasses were indeed clear and LB, it's staff, the view, the entire experience - are exactly (if not better) than I remember!!!
When I first read about La Bandita and returning guests feeling like family it was easy to brush aside these comments as fluff but being on the other side where we now return literally feeling like part of the clan and being embraced by the staff, my love affair with La Bandita continues even stronger than before.

If you haven't been and are considering ever visiting this stunning part of Tuscany - do yourself a favour and GO. Also - if you ever see the name John Voigtmann attached to ANY other venture - don't wait for the reviews (cause it will be amazing!) - go first!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L-J526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

In short our stay was AMAZING!

After a short period of adjustment to the communal concept (shared living and dining area) we are all big fans! the views are to die for but the staff made our time really
precious.

David stands out as the star, he is a rare combination of a charming
person and a great chef, hats off David! Paola and Francesca were so
lovely and helpful

We met wonderful people and had fabulous time - the booklet of
recommendations is so well thought out and invaluable

Thanks to all at La Bandita so much for helping us to such a wonderful experience

Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We are just finishing a wonderful 5 day stay at La Bandita. This cozy place sits on a lovely hilltop in the middle of the countryside, an hour south of Siena.
The rooms are beautiful, the views are amazing, the food is delicious and the staff is incredibly friendly and very efficient.
And if that is not enough to make you relax and feel at home, John has come up with a really nice formula to avoid "sticker shock" when you check out: water, soft drinks, fruit, tea, coffee, laundry etc. is all included.
There is no restaurant, but an excellent chef will come and cook dinner if you don't feel like going out. We did it a couple of times and thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slow2Melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
17.1 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
384 reviews
10.4 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
603 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Corsignano - Pienza
3.3 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
3.2 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#1 of 33 in Pienza
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita

Property: La Bandita
Address: Localita Podere Lucia 14, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bandita 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 8-room country retreat in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bandita Hotel Pienza
La Bandita Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing