We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful year-round retreat”
Review of La Bandita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bandita
Ranked #10 of 34 Pienza B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited at Christmas, and will never forget it. The location was idyllic and the rooms were luxurious. The meals, however, were by far my favorite part. The chef pulls anyone interested into the open kitchen, and we watched fantastic meals come together step-by-step. I loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebaPope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Blissful burnished hills, crested with elegant quiffs of cypress. Tiny villages that, over endless time, have become as one with the peaks on which they perch. In the air, a whisper of marjoram and woody-sweet eucalyptus - and all is anointed in a shimmering golden light. Later, in the saffron of the setting sun, swallows dart home, the earth gently exhales and the sheep float on the hillside, like contented thoughts. Truly, this is heaven. And perfect in every respect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a magical spot and a wonderful place, I just wish we could have had longer there. The drive certainly made you glad to arrive and I'm not sure I would want to stay there with a mind to do lots of sightseeing but rather to just enjoy the outside spaces, the silence and the extensive views. One night was definitely not enough. We thoroughly enjoyed the communal dinner and the opportunity to meet others with great food and wine. Sharing laughs around the fire pit after was great fun. This is a very unusual spot and an excellent restoration. Perfect for us, a couple celebrating their wedding anniversary. Paula looked after us beautifully also, thank you Paula!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room not far from the living room and had no noise issues and a beautiful outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

John has created an amazing experience, from the group dinners where you make lasting friendships, to the Ortiga bath soaps, to the blend of high-end moderism against the ancient hills. The suggestions are perfect. The rooms glorious. The pool perfect. A can't-miss expeience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here because of a first-hand recommendation from some close friends. The other reviews say it all really. Quite a unique place. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed every minute of the lounging, swimming, reading and (of course) dining. The harvest style (big table, all guests) dining seemed peculiar at first but we ended up loving that we could share the incredible setting, food and wine with other interesting travellers. My only comment would be to not expect any wine miraculously gifted as inferred on the website - fine by me but a small thorn in the side of my frugal loves-the-occasional-freebie-especially-when-anticipated wife! Although, having said that, chef Dario did prepare some extraordinary desert for us the one night we arrive home late after making the mistake of dining elsewhere! Planning to revisit with friends in the future. An incredible experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I'll try not to go over the same ground as some of the other favorable reviews, but agree with all. Simply Amazing. This is a wonderful place and you will not make a mistake coming here.

I had the joy of planning a family vacation for 15 people, including three generations. After being burned three years ago on internet pictures that did not meet reality on our last family vacation (to Brittany -- a story for another TA post), I was combing through photos of villas all over Tuscany looking for flaws. After reading about La Bandita in a magazine, I contacted John Voigtmann, the owner, and found out we could rent out La Bandita for the week. Mainly on John's personality and the strength of the reviews on this website, I put my family credibility on the line and booked the trip. While I was nearly suicidal on the drive from the main road to the house -- one of the reviewers is right, it's really more of a sheep path than a road, once we got to La Bandita and found our rooms, all stress melted away.

Working with John Voigtmann and Elena (one of the hosts you will meet), we were able to plot the week out with visits to Pienza (Paola's hometown - another host), Montepulciano (visiting two great winemakers), and Montalcino, all of which are close by and all of which were great, but we returned each afternoon to relax and enjoy La Bandita. Each night was different for dinner -- one afternoon we had cooking lessons with Dario and then dinner, another outside on the deck with the fire pit, another with Simone making all sorts of pizza in the brick pizza oven. This place is truly special.

We stayed as a family and took over the place, so our experience is not entirely on target with someone looking for a hotel room, but other than La Bandita Townhouse in Pienza, you won't find a place like La Bandita in the Val D'Orcia.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the second floor has the best view. Room 1 (right under 6) has a private breakfast patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at La Bandita following a two week journey through Italy and of all the stays, this one was without doubt the most inspiring.

First and foremost the story of leaving behind the big cities to open up a Tuscan farmhouse is a fleeting dream many of us have considered on a Monday morning, but here is living proof it can be done (and a book in the lounge photographing the adventure...)

A meeting of classic Rustic charm, and contemporary NYC loft comforts it is unique and warm in equal measure. The staff are fantastic - be it providing you with breakfast 'whenever you get up' and not to worry about rushing, through to your own Chef putting on fantastic fresh produce for dining under the stars out on the terrace in the evenings. Special mention should also go to an excellent Wine menu of Brunellos to accompany dinner.

..And then there's the turntable with a vintage collection of records to chill with in the evening/ crank up the Rolling Stones originals as applicable.

Last but not least, a pool with views over the countryside with waterguns for kids (and big kids too) to unwind with after a tough day wine tasting.

All in all, a truly unique and wonderful home from home in Tuscany. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Andrew

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank MrSleath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pienza
18 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Residence San Gregorio
4.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel La Valle Pienza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Bandita Townhouse
La Bandita Townhouse
#1 of 34 in Pienza
213 reviews
2.7 mi away
La casa di Adelina Charming House
5.3 mi away
Tenuta Santo Pietro
Tenuta Santo Pietro
#8 of 34 in Pienza
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bandita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bandita

Address: Localita Podere Lucia 14, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Pienza
Price Range: £283 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bandita 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 8-room country retreat in the beautiful Tuscany countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Bandita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bandita Hotel Pienza
La Bandita Pienza, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing