We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I spent 3nights here and wish it could have been more! Wonderful restored villa, beautiful views and very friendly and attentive staff. Great place to base yourself for touring sienna and the chianti wineries! If you have a car, day trips to Radda and Greve are easy as is Siena.
When you return after a long day of sightseeing, the Villa's restaurant is wonderful. Lovely meals with local produce and very friendly staff. In the warm weather the pool would be fabulous as would be the tennis court. Gardens and surrounds are beautiful! Will certainly be coming back...thank you Marco and family for a memorable experience

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

A really fantastic place to stay and eat. Very quiet and secluded with fantastic views. Incredible views. The owners are great, and welcoming people. The food is good as well. The rooms are basic which is too be expected in this type of villa. Pool looked good, but it was too chilly to use during our stay. Understand that Poggibonsi is short on restaurants, so the villa's restaurant is the only option. Perfect for a 3 night stay if you want to tour the hill towns.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Thank you to Tiziana and Marco (along with everyone else at Villa San Lucchese) for an amazing stay last week!
This hotel was one of the highlights of our extensive tour of Italy. This Villa is charming, beautiful, and such a great place to unwind.
If you stay here PLEASE do yourself a favor and have dinner at their restaurant. They ask that you tell them that day if you'll be staying to eat. Be sure to order the Risotto Zucchine e Zafferano...it's served from a block of cheese that they wheel to your table (great presentation) and is outstanding!
I have nothing negative to say about this place...would recommend to anyone visiting Tuscany!

Room Tip: Ask for a view off the hill...even if you don't get it, you will love what you see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leannacampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I can't recall having a hotel room with such a spectacular view... here we looked out over the rolling Tuscan hills and it was enchanting. Perched high on a hill by the church (whose bells may annoy some in the morning), the hotel is a beautifully historic building high above Poggibonsi. The grounds are charming and complement the views.

We received a very friendly welcome although not all staff speak English. Our room was kept very clean during our short stay and we had great food and drink in the restaurant. We slept well too. There's a pool set in the lovely grounds with a basic, self-service bar in case you need a refill while soaking up the rays. Nearby are vineyards and countryside ideal for walks.

The breakfast room is near the pool and serves usual continental fare as well as freshly cooked eggs of your choosing.

A lot of the furnishings and decor are a bit dated but that's rather in keeping with the building itself. Having said that, the shower was pretty weak.

There's a big sun terrace, which would be even better with some shade, a few plants and access to a good bar. Don't be fooled by the gloomy indoor room marked 'bar' as it doesn't seem to be one!

Overall, we had a good couple of days here and it's a great base for reaching such places as Siena if you fancy staying somewhere away from the huge crowds they attract.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F4monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just returned from our fourth holiday at Villa San Lucchese and it was like we had never been away. What more can i add to all the reviews made on here by all the other five star visitors and my own past comments about this lovely place. It is beautiful old villa in attractive surroundings in an area that is full of picturesque places to visit. I think what makes it so special is that Marco, his parents, Aunt and all the members of staff are dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience. The villa is large and has several sitting rooms in which to relax, our bedroom was a standard double room which we were very happy with, it was good size and simply decorated, the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and basin area large enough for all our toiletries. The view from our window was fantastic, far into the distance we could see Castellina in Chianti, castles, villas, farms and lines of cyprus trees, what more could you want.
Breakfast is served in a conservatory style building across from the main villa here there is plenty of choice, cereals, yoghurts,bread, meats, cheeses, jams etc and cakes and tarts made by Aunt Lucia who is a delightful lady who speaks no English but will help with your Italian! Eggs are served any way you wish, Geraldo who is there in the morning and again in the restaurant in the evening is very efficient he speaks several languages and is very pleasant. As does Marco, he cooks the eggs and make the delicious coffee with help of Lucia, a brilliant team.
Tiziana and all the reception staff are very helful and can help with any problems or questions and speak excellent English.The restaurant serves delicious meals, there is nothing better than sitting on the terrace on a warm evening looking out at the beautiful view. Unfortunately the weather was a little changable when we stayed but eating in the restaurant was lovely too, the walls are hand decorated in the same way as they would have originaly been, all done when the villa was renovated ( photos in the entrance hall show how the villa looked before and all the hard work it has taken to make it what it is today) We had the risotto served from a wheel of Parmasan, my husband had the braised veal that was melt in the mouth and i have never had such a tender pork loin, the chef here knows his job.
The pool is a good size and the surrounding garden is well kept, there are plenty of good loungers and umbellas and the little snack building has all the tasty bits you need all done on an honesty basis, 2 Euro per item and you write your room number down. There are tennis courts too and lovely garden to sit and sip a glass of wine. Well, as you can see we love it and we wouldn't stay anywhere else and by the look of things that goes for a lot of other people on here too. Thank you to everyone at Villa San Lucchese.

Room Tip: 216 was a standard double with lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizianKent_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked two rooms here, and when we arrived at the large iron gates and walked inside the grounds, I knew it was going to be wonderful! The rooms are slightly un-modern, but our couches and chairs had been recovered in beautiful fabrics and the rooms were spotless. We looked out over the courtyard and pool, and spent a whole morning just wandering the beautiful grounds. Breakfast was impeccable and very tasty, one of the owners, Marco, suggested that we visit San Gimignano rather than Sienna, as we only had a day and it was closer and more "rustic" which is what we were looking for. Villa San Luccese: What a lovely location! What a nice family! What stunning architecture and amazing grounds! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This large historic villa is situated in an idilic spot at the end of a narrow road surrounded by spectacular views of vineyards and wheat fields edged with olive trees. The relatively modest front door conceals a grand and spacious family house whose beautiful beamed ceilings give it a homely elegance. The ground floor extends to a handful of large reception rooms and the dining room. The upper floor retains additional reception rooms with high ceilings decorated with painted cornices typical of late 19th century and short corridors lead to bedrooms situated across two floors. All the bedrooms are named after local towns and villages. Our room was simply yet adequately furnished in subdued light tones. There is a fridge with enough room to cool your own drinks if you prefer. Our bathroom was fairly large with a proper wash basin big enough for two, hairdryer and a large jacuzzi bath with overhead shower attachment. The family has occupied the house for three generations and created a wonderful environment by retaining the baggy old-world charm of the existing villa while making seamless additions such as the self-service breakfast room and the concealed pool with ample surrounding terrace. The kitchen, definitely tipping toward gourmet, provides delicious dinner and breakfast menus and our experience here deserves a separate review. If you like risotto, do not let this opportunity pass you by. It is wonderful to find oneself in a place that is so quintessentially italian: we will definitely make sure we return to Villa San Luchessa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avoiretetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggibonsi
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#2 of 11 in Poggibonsi
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alcide
Hotel Alcide
#4 of 11 in Poggibonsi
700 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
969 reviews
11.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
576 reviews
4.1 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lucchese Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lucchese Hotel

Address: Localita San Lucchese 5, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poggibonsi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poggibonsi
#2 Family Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range: £56 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Lucchese Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hearth of Tuscany, surrounded by a splendid view on the Chianti’s hill, at only 9 kms from the Medieval centre of San Gimignano town, it is located Villa San Lucchese Hotel in Tuscany, a luxury hotel near siena and Florence, an ancient Villa from 15th century, recently renwed respecting the traditional Tuscan style in a modern key.The old historic Villa in tuscany is the ideal place where to combine work and relax, for holiday and meetings in tranquility and good health standards.Managed with a paticular care by Ninci Family, the Hotel offer hospitality in some very elegant rooms and suites, overlooking in the green Italian style garden, equipped by many conforts where the luxury and the charm are in full agreement with simplicity.The personal care which from many years mark this management will make you feel in a familiar atmosphere.At the restaurant, in the panoramic terrace or in the suggestive Dining room (“Limonaia”) you can taste the typical Tuscan Traditional dishes prepared with a light touch and combined with a selection of good wines, collected in our wine store.The Owner Marcantonio Ninci, Professional Sommelier organizes on request guided Wine tasting for our guests with a selection of quality wines from the most important Tuscany areas wine, collected in our Wine Store Cellar.In the morning you can delight in tasting genuine hand-made cakes and for your breakfast you can find a Bio spot.During your stay you can choose to enjoy yourself with the different activities around the villa: the swimming pools surrounded by the luxuriant garden, the tennis court, the bowling green and the park for pleasant walks in a quite oasis where to discover serenity and relax.From the Hotel guests have possibility to visit several historical interest cities, such as: the Medieval Monteriggioni (10 km) and Certaldo Alto (14 km), the Crystal town of Colle Val’ D’Elsa (6 km), Siena (18 km), Florence (36 km), the Etruscan and ancient city of Volterra.Just around the Historical Villa San Lucchese Hotel in the Chianti is possible to visit the most important wine areas: Chianti and Brunello areas. We are at disposal from our guest in giving suggestion about the Wineries to visit, with possibility to book guided Tours and Wine Tasting in Radda in Chianti, Gaiole in Ghianti, Castellina in Chianti or Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano, the locations of Vald’Orcia and Gallo Nero wine area.Villa San Lucchese is the ideal hotel for Vacation in Tuscan for guest who love to stay in relax: for families, couples for each Special Occasion and romantic week end, for little groups holidays in sign of Tuscany Food and Wine or for each special Event. The hotel is also very suitable for Business Travelers thanks to all many conforts the rooms are equipped (free wireless connection) and the inside typcial Tuscan Foods restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa San Lucchese Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Lucchese Hotel Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany
Hotel San Lucchese
San Lucchese Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing