We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best but no regrets”
Review of Hotel Alcide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alcide
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
Reviewed 16 September 2012

we stayed at hotel alcide during a recent trip through italy. mind that this review was written by a person in their 20s, some impressions ive had might be perceived differently by people of different age.

anyhow, the first impression was rather disappointing. the outside of the hotel building looked as if somehow, while we were driving there we hit a wormhole and got shot back into the seventies. not even the good ones. what i want to say is, the hotel looked like a gigantic concrete block with wrinkles (although symmetric ones) from the outside. rather disappointing.

anyway, the seventies flair didnt change after we got inside, although it felt different. the lobby of the hotel was (obviously) designed during the same age, but it looked rather fancy and had something like passed grandeur about it.

the other people staying at the place were rather 70s as well, what i wanna say is that they were in their seventies and rather old.

anyway, when we got to our room we discovered that it looked really nice and was big enough plus the bathroom looked really good. the service left nothing to worry about which is the most important thing after all. oh yeah, and it was really cheap, each one of us paid around 22€/night.

altogether i have to say, nice rooms, good service, great price, the looks of the hotel are a matter of taste and in this aspect my view is very subjective but i can imagine that most (younger) people are a bit put off by the first impression. not a bad place though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illbetrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night while passing through the Tuscany area. Our room and bathroom were very clean and cool. True, the room is smallish but for the price you can't beat it. The man at the reception desk was very nice and directed us to visit San Giminiano, a nearby medieval city which was well worth the short, 11 km trip. It is also possible to visit Greve in Chianti during the day, do a wine tasting, etc. then drive over to Alcide for the night and visit San Gim in the morning. The breakfast was amazing; a buffet style with pastries, vegetables, eggs, yogurt, etc. I would say this hotel was the best value of our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel , is styled in the 70's. However it is immaculately well kept. Excellent for visiting Tuscany due to the central location. Parking is small than you'd expect, but we've always managed to park quickly. The restaurant, specialising in fish, is very good and inexpensive. Its patrons are mostly locals. The people at the reception are really helpful with tips about getting around in Tuscany. Oh, and the place is good value too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent two nights here the rooms were clean the service was good and the staff very friendly an ideal base to explore Tuscany and the train would be ideal to travel into the cities. If you want a hotel that you want to use as a base I would have no problem recommending staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorrineBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is an excellent hotel to stay in when touring Tuscany. Very well located and the hotel is a very well run family affair. The rooms were adequate with all the facilities, although the bathroom was on the small side having only a shower (no bath). We stayed on the 4th floor with good aircon. Traffic noise when windows opened but did not bother us. The buffet breakfast was not spectacular but was adequate and we enjoyed having this outside on the terrace.
We feel the hotel should make more use of this terrace as it would be nice when returning from a days touring to have an outdoor facility for having a drink or coffee as opposed to the lounge bar inside. Who wants to be inside in glorious sunny weather ?
Everyone reported that the restaurant gave a first class dinner from a good menu. Very well cooked and presented.
Complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in your room without limits a very good plus point.
The family owning and running the hotel as they have been for over 150 years are excellent, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Very efficient as well.
We had SKY Tv in our rooms as well.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor and look at the rooms facing the road and opposite before choosing your prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

A fairly basic tourist hotel. Very clean though and quite sufficient if you want a good value option away from the main tourist villages but with good access to all of Tuscany. Room quite small but comfortable. Breakfast ok but not remarkable. Hotel restaurant gets reasonable reviews but could be better. Would we return?........ Probably, just to use as a good value base

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Used this hotel as a base for visiting San Gim, Sienna, Volterra and rural Chianti. Absolutely perfect location for exploring from. Clean, comfortable, friendly helpful staff make this a low budget choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poggibonsi hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#2 of 11 in Poggibonsi
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toscana Ambassador
Toscana Ambassador
#8 of 11 in Poggibonsi
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#9 of 11 in Poggibonsi
74 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Lecchi
Villa Lecchi
#3 of 11 in Poggibonsi
306 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo alle Mura
Palazzo alle Mura
#6 of 11 in Poggibonsi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcide

Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 67 / A, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range: £39 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alcide 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alcide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcide Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing