We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst hotel we stayed in Italy- very old!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alcide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alcide
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst hotel we stayed in Italy- very old!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

stayed there for 2 nights. the price is cheap but so is the quality of the hotel. small room with noisey AC. like stepping in to a hotel in the 80s'. The town of Poggibonsi is kinda boring with nothing to do. we were very Disappointed!! the food in the breakfest buffet was terrible. if you're a couple on a trip i would recommend to choose another town to stay (like Lucca) and definatly a diffrent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfire1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomaas95, Proprietario at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,
we are so sorry for your disappointment!

Poggibonsi is not probabily so beautiful as you expected but it’s in the centre of Tuscany and it enables you to visit the main centres of sight-seeing and historical interests of Tuscany.

Poggibonsi is also an important commercial centre and gives you the possibility to do shopping.

Our hotel, built during the Seventies, has been restored and we are still renovating the rooms.

For breakfast we usually prepare a big buffet with fresh fruit, sweeties, cheese, cold cuts and vegetables.

If you didn’t find what you expected to eat, you could have asked to the waiters.

We always try to do our best for our guest’s satisfaction, we will consider your comment as an advice to improve our services and we hope to see you again to show you that Alcide and Poggibonsi are not so sad as you felt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    243
    144
    27
    15
See reviews for
139
218
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Considering that roads in Tuscany are narrow and speed limit is low, we decided to stay at a hotel in the center of the area with private parking. The hotel is located near the city center (10 minute walking to the pedestrian zone). It can be easily reached from Florence - Siena road and parking is free of charge. Weekends or late at night, if there's a wedding or party in the hotel’s restaurant and the parking is full, you can park the car in the employees’ parking lot, behind the building.

Everything in the hotel looks like 70s - 80s style (reception, bar, halls, room key, panic button in the room), but the furniture is new (only in some rooms I saw an old wardrobe) . The room’s size is average, very clean, bedsheets were changed daily. There are no glasses in the rooms, so if you buy a bottle of wine and want to drink in the room, you have to ask for glasses at the bar. We received pints of beer instead of wine glases, but ... were good . The windows can not be closed very well (so if traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room overlooking the courtyard or use the wooden blinds down to the bottom, as it did us). In our room there was a single plug (very unpleasant if you need more). Try to avoid 1st and 2nd floors, especially on weekends ( there was a wedding party during our stay and the music was really loud floors 1 and 2). The strangest thing is the panic button (if it really works), which can be pushed by mistake from bed when you sleep or when you want to turn on the light

At the lobby bar there's nothing to eat ( just ice cream and some sweet biscuits) . Staff at reception was amable . There is free wifi and the signal is ok. Breakfast was very good for a 3 * hotel in Italy. If you do not want to eat in town ( I tried twice and the experience was average), you can definitly try the excellent restaurant where you have a 10% discount.

Given the location and facilities, I think this hotel is an excellent choice for visiting both Tuscany and other far away attractions (e.g Pisa and Cinque Terre).

Room Tip: Avoid first two floors (especially during weekends).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomaas95, Proprietario at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It 's always a pleasure read positive and detailed descriptions about our structure. We are very happy that you enjoyed our cuisine and our services. However we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had because of the marriage’s music and for the other small drawbacks of the room. We always try to commit fully ourself to renew the structure and to satisfie the axpectatives of our guests, so we will consider all of your advices.
We are also delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality. Our main goal, in addition to provide the quality of services, is to make people feel at home. Thank you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent in this hotel 3 nights while exploring the Tuscany. The hotel is located in some small town, close to the "motorway" to Siena and Florence. We arrived to the hotel around 7/8 p.m. and unfortunately the hotel's restaurant was closed due to the summer break. We were very disappointed as we were recommended by the staff to go the Pizzeria "Angelo"?, but it was closed at 8 p.m.! so we were hungry, in Italy!. We booked the superior room, which totally didn't look as in the pictures on their site or booking.com. The ceiling was dirty (of some old water leakage), the toilet was clean but furnished as in the late 80's. The beds were not comfortable, and the view from the window was at the back of the building. Air conditioning was ok. We asked for booking the car place on their car park (we could see in the photos that there was a limited car park space), and the lady from the reception while phone conversation agreed, but as always in reality we had to leave our car in the street, few minutes walk from the hotel. The staff was quite friendly, but not the top high score in that field. The only positive was breakfast - quite nice bread, cheese, vegetables, watermelon and delicious croissants with chocolate. But the coffee was quite terrible - from a vending machine, like on the motorway. So, if you look for a cheap hotel - it is a good choice, if you expect something more - then look for something else. By the way, at the check out, the Receptionist asked us about our stay, and again we expressed our dissatisfaction - she gave us a bottle of Chianti - a very nice gesture.

Room Tip: it's no point in paying extra for "superior" room, they're of really poor quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaPiotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomaas95, Proprietario at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Monika
we are sorry that you are caught in some inconveniences during your stay in our hotel. The title of your review is negative, but then gives many positive comments about our structure like the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff, the excellent breakfast, the good air conditioning service, the cleanliness of the bathroom. For these positive comments we give you our sincere thanks and we’ll keep in mind also all of your criticisms and advices to improve our services.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

A great family-run hotel with a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The reception staff were very helpful and encouraged our limited attempts at speaking Italian. Our room was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The popular hotel restaurant specializes in seafood, which was beautifully presented and delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive Double Room, which was only a little more expensive that the Standard Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over50Traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomaas95, Proprietario at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest,

we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in our structure. We are also delighted that you was satisfied with the room and with the specialties of the restaurant. Our main goal is to offer the maximum in relaxation and services. We are really glad that we have succeeded in this purpose also with you.

thank you, we hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel in a little town of Tuscany, but really near (by car) to other wonderful places like San Gimigniano, Volterra, Chianti Valley... Hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, but there is not a lot of things to see in Poggibonsi, or at least we did not discover something important.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomaas95, Proprietario at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Juan,

thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our structure. We hope to have you again here with in order to discover also some Poggibonsi's treasures like churches, squares, castles and parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked the hotel in the evening and got there late at night, and there was no problem with that. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and nice, the bed was very comfortable. We also had some soaps and shampoos with olive extracts in the bathroom, which was very nice. The breakfast was very good and delicious. It is a very good location to explore Toscana, and it is 10 minutes from San Gimignano.
We payed a really cheap price for what we got, so this is definitely best value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomaas95, Proprietario at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Anna,

thank you for your review! We always try to make our guests feel comfortable by prioritizing the quality of services and the hospitality.

We are really glad to have succeeded in this goal even with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Good hotel, nice stay.
It's a good hotel to explore Firenze area. It's easy to reach the vineyards also.
The hotel is also well localized at the city of Poggibonsi, with restaurants and cafes nearby.
The room is spacious, clean and quiet. Is also available cradles to babies (my case).

They have a restaurant at the hotel, but it is closed sunday evening and monday all day.
I recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poggibonsi hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#3 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toscana Ambassador
Toscana Ambassador
#7 of 11 in Poggibonsi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#9 of 11 in Poggibonsi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo alle Mura
Palazzo alle Mura
#6 of 11 in Poggibonsi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Lecchi Residenza D'epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcide

Property: Hotel Alcide
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 67 / A, 53036, Poggibonsi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poggibonsi
#6 Family Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcide 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alcide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcide Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing