We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad - almost funny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel California
Reviewed 11 September 2011

After booking the hotel I quickly had a look at the reviews (wrong way round I know) and was worried.
Arrived at what looked like a prisoner of war camp. Inside our room the smell of smoke was almost choking and the noise from the road made it impossible to sleep. Twice in the night our phone rang for no reason and nearly gave us heart failure. We checked with reception next morning that we were in one of the 'superior rooms' which we had paid extra for. We nearly laughed out loud when we were told it was definitely one of the superior rooms. Filthy windows, dark and miserable. Even the plants outside looked like they were suffering depression. This is definitely not a four star hotel and we feel very misled by the Nation's Favourite Airline who we booked through. Left early and paid for another hotel. This is the only time we have ever complained about a hotel it was that disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Park Hotel California
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

The most terrible hotel in Europe. More like a one star motel than a four star hotel.
- internet didn't work
- bed sheets were wet
- toilet was dirty
- aircon didn't work
- ugly cheap looking place
- breakfast was rubbish

I managed to get half of my money refunded after complaining!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I booked this hotel on the internet. It was supposed to be four-star with a special price as the swimming pool was being rebuilt. Frankly the place should be regraded. The staff were nice and friendly but the place was old and felt as if it had not been cleaned fundamentally in years i.e. carpets washed, duvets and pillows washed. The cups in the room were plastic (is this four-star?) and the room has a musty smell.

The breakfast was awful - truly awful. I have had better breakfasts in 2-star hotels and youth hostels. The coffee was a mixed with chicory and was undrinkable - the milk to go with it wasn't even proper milk. The milk in the jug for the cereal was sour.......the only reasonable thing were the pastries.

It's not the staff's fault - they were friendly but the owners need to seriously rethink this place. Four-staff breakfasts should have a reasonable cup of coffee and fresh milk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We used this for one night whilst touring Italy. We wanted to saty in Forte Dei Marmi but it was too expensive and as was the neighbour town, Viareggio so we decieded to stay 25 mins away here. Conveniently this hotel is only 2.5 miles outside of Pisa on the right side to see the Leaning tower very easily.

the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms are arranged on a small campus, more like a motel arrangement.

The hotel and rooms are a bit dated but it was clean and the car parking and lodge set up made it quiet and convenient.

this was a budget driven choice and a good alternative to staying in Pisa which is a nightmare to park.

it does have a swimming pool albeit its a built up add on. The hotel restaurant is a bit comical and dated! the food nothing special but we didnt have much expectations for this price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Park Hotel California has a good location for who is travelling along Tuscany coast or is planning to reach/leave to/from Pisa Airport and could be a cheap solution for staying in a part of tuscany where finding an hotel during summer could be very hard.
Rooms are dislocated in several buildings in the park around the reception and restaurant building.
This hotel is rated 4 stars and it's probably because of the many offered services (tourist services, swimming pool, resaturant, etc) because common areas are a little bit outdated and rooms are not so big or fancy.
Breakfast was ok, even if we could expect more from an hotel of this rank.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanoDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

To get to the Hotel Park California near Pisa take the number 21 bus from the Pisa airport toward San Jacobo. There are two number 21 buses, however, and it is hard to know if you have the right one. Just ask the driver if the bus goes past the Hotel California. He or she will know and will tell you if you have the right bus. The ride will take about 25 minutes, winding through Pisa and then out into the suburbs. Get off at the LaClerc Supermarket.

The hotel is "an American-style bungalow motel", as we were told by the clerk at the reception desk, not much like any American-style bungalow hotel I have seen before. The rooms are comfortable and the price is reasonable. Not bad for a brief stay in Pisa. Quiet location, but not at all central. Also, the pool was not functioning while we were there and looks like it has been out of order for quite some time (years, maybe?)

Breakfast was very good but much better if already included in your room rate. Too expensive otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rdstephe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

I read a few reviews of this hotel on this site after booking our two nights (after our flight in and before our flight out) at this hotel and was not looking forward to what we might be confronted with.

Well i have to say my fiance and i were surprised. I am unsure of the expectations of other reviewers who had not given good feedback, but we had nothing but a pleasant stay.

The rooms were clean, the service friendly, it was so close to centre of Pisa and the tower we could throw stones and it was a short distance from the airport. We hired a car from the airport, therefore avoiding any taxi problems.

I really cant recommend this hotel for a stopover (unsure what the breakfast is like) but at £50 per night for 1 room we could not complain.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JLo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giuliano Terme
2.8 mi away
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
4.2 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
208 reviews
2.9 mi away
Locanda Sant'Agata
Locanda Sant'Agata
#2 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
272 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Galilei
Hotel Galilei
#17 of 68 in Pisa
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel California

Address: Via Aurelia Nord km 338 | Madonna Dell'Acqua, 56017, San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range: £57 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel California 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ask for our special offers!Park Hotel California, built in a typical Sixties style and skilfully refurbished, is surrounded by the greenery of the Mediterranean scrub which is specific to the coast of Tuscany. Open all year, it is the ideal place for cultural trips, for business or total relaxation. The restaurant of Park Hotel California can seat up to 200 people. It offers its guests a menu built around traditional Tuscan dishes, simple but full of local flavours, which are loved all over the world. The wine list offers a wide selection of wines, including the best Tuscan ones, such as Brunello di Montalcino, Chianti Classico and Vernaccia. Our restaurant is also perfect for ceremonies, with a wide range of menus personally selected by our ChefThe magnificent park of cluster pines and cedar trees offers an opportunity to relax in peace amidst the greenery of the park and enjoy the wonderful colours of the garden. During the summer season, the pines, stroked by sunrays, release such rich and unique scents that cannot be found anywhere else.Immersed in the park, the pool of Park Hotel California is an excellent alternative to the sea. It has generous dimensions in order to allow guests to swim in freedom. Open from June to September, free disposal for Hotel Guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Best Western San Giuliano Terme
Park Hotel California Province Of Pisa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing