We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country feel, but a stone´s throw away from beautiful Florence”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scandicci
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Poggio ai Merli
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Scandicci
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I´ll start of with the hosts. What a great couple. So friendly and really accommodating. Made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

The property itself is amazing. It´s literally up the road from the centre of Florence but you wouldn´t know it. It´s such a tranquil place.The setting and surroundings give you that real Tuscan feel.

Inside, the room we had was ample. The kitchen well equipped and the beds (even the sofa bed) super comfortable and absolutely huge! Everything about this place from the trees, to the swimming pool to the rooms themselves were perfect.

The only thing I would fault is the breakfast. Although there was a array of things to choose from, the pastries and bread didn´t seem fresh.

I will definitely be back to this place and will definitely be recommending to all my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaroKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

A beautiful place to embrace the serenity and beauty of the Tuscany hills and valleys. Placed on a hilltop surrounded by olive groves, and age old roses we enjoyed the excellent accommodations and the friendly atmosphere created by the owners. A perfect retreat each day upon returning from a day trip to Florence by tram and surrounding attractions. A perfect location to relax and bask in the golden sunlight unique to a Tuscan sunset.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Villa Poggio ai Merli for one week in August, in a two-room apartment in the main building.

The positive aspects of our stay were:
• The villa is in a very beautiful and peaceful location, yet only a few minutes drive to Scandicci and local large supermarket (COOP) and the tram to Florence.
• Lovely swimming pool, which we had to ourselves most mornings. However, it was more popular with guests in the afternoon/early evening.
• Our apartment was traditionally furnished in the restored main building.
• The villa is ideally located for visiting Florence and other towns in Tuscany
• Verena was very helpful in advising of places to visit and providing maps etc.
• Friendly cats and kittens!

A couple of minor negatives were:
• The breakfast was slightly disappointing, comprising drinks, breads, jam, processed cheese and hams.
• The kitchen didn’t have an oven or microwave to heat or cook food. However, there was a hob, dishwasher and fridge.

You really need a car if you stay here and the villa proved to be an excellent base to visit Florence and other towns in Tuscany. Siena, Lucca and Pisa are all around one hour away. I would advise taking a Sat Nav as the narrow streets in Scandicci and other towns are quite difficult to navigate. Our highlights of the week would be the views over Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo, taking a cycle ride along the top of the ancient walls of Lucca and a visit to San Gimignano situated between Florence and Siena. The new Tram takes you from Scandicci to Florence in 15 minutes and only costs 1.20 euros per journey. (You can also buy a “Carte Agile” of 10 tickets for 10 euros, which can be used by all the family)
The Da Quai Ragazzi restaurant (at the first main road junction you come to in Scandicci from the villa) was very popular with locals and served excellent pizzas at very reasonable prices. If you want to eat back at the villa, it also does take-away pizzas (6-8 euros) which came with free drinks!

Overall, we found Villa Poggio to provide traditional accommodation with a lovely swimming pool and pleasant views across the Tuscan countryside. It was an excellent base providing easy access to Florence and Verena’s helpfulness and local knowledge is an added bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We just returned from another wonderful stay at Villa Poggio ai Merli. We hadn't been back since we got married there five years ago and were wondering if it would still be as perfect, with our two small children in tow, but it definitely was.

This time we stayed in a one bedroom apartment - Masaccio. It was fine for the four of us as there is a double sofa bed in the living room. Each morning we enjoyed the breakfast provided then tended to hang out by the pool or go into Florence. Our two girls (2 and 4 years old) absolutely loved pottering around the villa and going in the swimming pool.

Verena and Serena are still as helpful, patient and enthusiastic as ever - nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The Villa is pristine and the views are incredible.

There is a new tram (Tramvia) which runs from Scandicci into the centre of Florence. We got on at the Neni Torregalli stop as there is a free carpark right next to it (outside the large Coop supermarket) and took it to the Santa Maria Novella train station. They seem to run every 5-8 minutes and the journey only takes about 12 minutes. Definitely a good way to get into town and avoid having to find and pay for a car park.

The main sites in Florence are absolutely mobbed in August so we didn't spent much time around them. However, if you go a few minutes away from the main tourist spots, it is much quieter. We headed to Piazza Santa Spirito for lunch one day and it was good.

We had a couple of nice meals in Osteria del Milione (amazing views) and in Trattoria Bibe (in Scandicci - on the other side of the river). BIbe was particularly good for our girls as they have a large courtyard. We didn't eat there but our friends' had an excellent meal in Giogoli Rossi (just up the hill, opposite Osteria del Milione)

There were loads of mosquitos around so if you go in the summer, make sure you are loaded up with bug spray/ coils. Apart from that, everything was just perfect.

We are already planning our next trip and hopefully won't leave it so long next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexgroszmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

If you are looping for a base to visit Tuscany, this is THE place to stay. We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute.
Verena's advice for visiting the region is great.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Villa from May 19th to May 27th. I researched every single hotel/B&B/apartment/villa across Tuscany and decided to go with Villa Poggio ai Merli. It was the best decision I made. We wanted to stay where it was not over crowded, but not too far from Florence. Scandicci (the town the villa is in) is about a 15 minute taxi ride to the center of Florence and the cost is approximately $22.00 (euro). The Villa is in the country side and is absolutely beautiful. It is surrounded by olive trees and tons of flowers everywhere. The grounds and the villa are meticulously cared for and very clean. Every morning you are served breakfast in your room. You get a range of breads/croissants, ham, cheese, coffee and juice. The villa is exactly what you expect when you think of Tuscany. Beautiful and filled with feelings of peace. I could go on and on about the actual stay, but one of the key highlights of this "hidden gem" are the owners. Verena and Walter are brother and sister who own and run this HUGE and magnificently beautiful property. They are two of the nicest people you will meet and they took wonderful care of us. Whether it was calling for a taxi, ordering pizza for us, helping us with the language, giving us tips or even just talking, they were fantastic. They have a much more personal touch that you will not find at a hotel. They also spoke very good english, which helped us a lot. If you are looking for a place to stay where you can actually "feel Tuscany" stay here. When we left Italy, I felt sad, not only because the trip was over, but because I felt like I was leaving a friend. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful with their own tuscan stye
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at Poggio ai Merli for 2 days during our honeymoon, and what an unforgettable experience it was! Apologies to the villa staff/management for not being able to write this early, they certainly deserved better.

The Villa is situated in the breathtaking surroundings of Tuscany. We were amazed by the view around us when we entered. Most of the villas/rooms offer beautiful views and there is a whole lot of area around to stroll and enjoy the scenery. Rooms are furnished in antique style, which creates its own charm. Some have there own fireplace as well!

Its slightly off Florence, so is much relaxed and quieter, and rooms are much bigger as well. Be prepared to take a taxi from train station/airport though as not much public transport around the villa. You will not regret the additional spending though :) Probably the best thing to do is to rent a car for the time one is planning to spend in Tuscany.

The best thing about the place, though, is the heart-warmingly friendly staff. On the first day, Verena not only recommended and booked car rental for us, she also went to drop us to the train station and gave us 2 train tickets for our ride. She also recommended us places to see and eat nearby and printed maps and directions for us. I am really thankful to her for making our visit such a pleasure and I am sure I will visit the place again someday with family and friends.
Thanks,
Prateek & Shruti

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prateek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scandicci
2.8 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#2 of 5 in Scandicci
194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#194 of 410 in Florence
208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Marzia
Hotel Marzia
#1 of 5 in Scandicci
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
3.4 mi away
Hotel i Cedri
Hotel i Cedri
#3 of 5 in Scandicci
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broncigliano Luxury B&B
Broncigliano Luxury B&B
#1 of 14 in Scandicci
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Poggio ai Merli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggio ai Merli

Address: Via di Giogoli 5, 50018, Scandicci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Scandicci
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Scandicci
Price Range: £128 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Poggio ai Merli 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggio ai Merli is located on a panoramic hill at just 6 km from the historical Centre of Florence. It is characterized by a large park and amazing swimming-pool through the olives garden. The sixteenths century Villa is made up of elegant apartments and Suites: each of them are unique and well cared. The hotel services joined with the historical charm and breathtaking landscape make its unique. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Poggio Ai Merli
Poggio Ai Merli Scandicci
Villa Poggio Ai Merli Scandicci, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing