We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Poggio ai Merli
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alice House(Florence)
View Hotel
Hotel Alex(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Certosa(Impruneta)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Classic Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
68
10
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
10
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful villabeautiful countrysidecharmkitchenettesoap
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

You stumble on this place not realising its proximity to Florence. A beautiful villa in lovely surroundings. I booked a double room which comprised an ample bathroom, large double bedroom and a spacious lounge with kitchen facilities - a large fridgefreezer, sink, dishwasher and gas hob.
The welcome from the hosts deserves special mention - extremely helpful and friendly - even remembering your name hours after check in. Free ADSL cable provided by the owner as the wifi did not reach my room. Breakfast delivered to room a lovely touch. My only minor gripe - check-out at 10am does seem extraordinarily early! I will be back and have extended my one night's stay to two!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I´ll start of with the hosts. What a great couple. So friendly and really accommodating. Made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

The property itself is amazing. It´s literally up the road from the centre of Florence but you wouldn´t know it. It´s such a tranquil place.The setting and surroundings give you that real Tuscan feel.

Inside, the room we had was ample. The kitchen well equipped and the beds (even the sofa bed) super comfortable and absolutely huge! Everything about this place from the trees, to the swimming pool to the rooms themselves were perfect.

The only thing I would fault is the breakfast. Although there was a array of things to choose from, the pastries and bread didn´t seem fresh.

I will definitely be back to this place and will definitely be recommending to all my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaroKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A beautiful place to embrace the serenity and beauty of the Tuscany hills and valleys. Placed on a hilltop surrounded by olive groves, and age old roses we enjoyed the excellent accommodations and the friendly atmosphere created by the owners. A perfect retreat each day upon returning from a day trip to Florence by tram and surrounding attractions. A perfect location to relax and bask in the golden sunlight unique to a Tuscan sunset.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Villa Poggio ai Merli for one week in August, in a two-room apartment in the main building.

The positive aspects of our stay were:
• The villa is in a very beautiful and peaceful location, yet only a few minutes drive to Scandicci and local large supermarket (COOP) and the tram to Florence.
• Lovely swimming pool, which we had to ourselves most mornings. However, it was more popular with guests in the afternoon/early evening.
• Our apartment was traditionally furnished in the restored main building.
• The villa is ideally located for visiting Florence and other towns in Tuscany
• Verena was very helpful in advising of places to visit and providing maps etc.
• Friendly cats and kittens!

A couple of minor negatives were:
• The breakfast was slightly disappointing, comprising drinks, breads, jam, processed cheese and hams.
• The kitchen didn’t have an oven or microwave to heat or cook food. However, there was a hob, dishwasher and fridge.

You really need a car if you stay here and the villa proved to be an excellent base to visit Florence and other towns in Tuscany. Siena, Lucca and Pisa are all around one hour away. I would advise taking a Sat Nav as the narrow streets in Scandicci and other towns are quite difficult to navigate. Our highlights of the week would be the views over Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo, taking a cycle ride along the top of the ancient walls of Lucca and a visit to San Gimignano situated between Florence and Siena. The new Tram takes you from Scandicci to Florence in 15 minutes and only costs 1.20 euros per journey. (You can also buy a “Carte Agile” of 10 tickets for 10 euros, which can be used by all the family)
The Da Quai Ragazzi restaurant (at the first main road junction you come to in Scandicci from the villa) was very popular with locals and served excellent pizzas at very reasonable prices. If you want to eat back at the villa, it also does take-away pizzas (6-8 euros) which came with free drinks!

Overall, we found Villa Poggio to provide traditional accommodation with a lovely swimming pool and pleasant views across the Tuscan countryside. It was an excellent base providing easy access to Florence and Verena’s helpfulness and local knowledge is an added bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We just returned from another wonderful stay at Villa Poggio ai Merli. We hadn't been back since we got married there five years ago and were wondering if it would still be as perfect, with our two small children in tow, but it definitely was.

This time we stayed in a one bedroom apartment - Masaccio. It was fine for the four of us as there is a double sofa bed in the living room. Each morning we enjoyed the breakfast provided then tended to hang out by the pool or go into Florence. Our two girls (2 and 4 years old) absolutely loved pottering around the villa and going in the swimming pool.

Verena and Serena are still as helpful, patient and enthusiastic as ever - nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The Villa is pristine and the views are incredible.

There is a new tram (Tramvia) which runs from Scandicci into the centre of Florence. We got on at the Neni Torregalli stop as there is a free carpark right next to it (outside the large Coop supermarket) and took it to the Santa Maria Novella train station. They seem to run every 5-8 minutes and the journey only takes about 12 minutes. Definitely a good way to get into town and avoid having to find and pay for a car park.

The main sites in Florence are absolutely mobbed in August so we didn't spent much time around them. However, if you go a few minutes away from the main tourist spots, it is much quieter. We headed to Piazza Santa Spirito for lunch one day and it was good.

We had a couple of nice meals in Osteria del Milione (amazing views) and in Trattoria Bibe (in Scandicci - on the other side of the river). BIbe was particularly good for our girls as they have a large courtyard. We didn't eat there but our friends' had an excellent meal in Giogoli Rossi (just up the hill, opposite Osteria del Milione)

There were loads of mosquitos around so if you go in the summer, make sure you are loaded up with bug spray/ coils. Apart from that, everything was just perfect.

We are already planning our next trip and hopefully won't leave it so long next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexgroszmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews