We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful villa near Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Poggio ai Merli
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Scandicci
A TripAdvisor Member
“beautiful villa near Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2006

My wife and I stayed at Villa Poggio ai Merli to attend the wedding of friends. Everything about our stay at the villa was wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and spotless, and the showers had plenty of hot water. The villa has easy access by bus to Florence, gorgeous views, walking access to a great restaurant up the street, and the staff provide clear, concise driving directions to locations around Tuscany. We rented a car and these directions made our lives much easier for trips to surrounding hill towns. For those travelers who want to stay in touch with their "real" lives, free DSL service is a plus, ethernet cable provided. Charcoal grills are perfect for group dinners. We highly recommend this comfortable, charming location and hope that we'll be able to get back soon to enjoy it again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    9
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
27
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2006

Villa Poggio ai Merli is located on hillside a short walk and bus ride away from the city center of Florence. Situated amidst rolling green hills dotted with olive trees, the villa is idyllic and lovely-- an ideal location for a wedding, family reunion, or romantic getaway. The staff are friendly and helpful, and can provide all the bus schedules, driving directions, tour suggestions, and museum reservations you'll need. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and convenient, offering kitchenettes, satellite TV, high-speed Internet, and of course bidets. Breakfast (consisting of Italian or American coffee, juice, or tea, plus various pastries with spreads) is served each morning in your room-- assuming you wake up before 10 a.m. There's also a swimming pool, which we didn't try because the weather was too cold in March. Overall, we had a wonderful experience at Villa Poggio ai Merli and would love to have the opportunity to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eelero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2006

My wife & I just returned from our wedding week at Villa Poggio ai Merli. We could not have picked a better location. From the moment we chose the villa, the staff promptly and tirelessly helped us with catering, local tours, room assignment, photography, flowers, ceremony setup, driving directions, and countless other details for the wedding week. When we and our guests arrived we could not believe that the villa was even more stunningly beautiful than the pictures on their website. The staff was incredibly friendly and highly attentive to every guest’s needs. The rooms were gorgeous and impeccably maintained. There is a little town a ten minute walk away, with a grocery store, bakery, pizza, etc, as well as a bus stop for easy and frequent rides to Florence. We ended up staying for almost two weeks, and got to know the villa and its wonderful staff well - we give the villa our highest recommendation, and plan to visit it for years to come!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2005

The Villa Poggio ai Merli, a brilliant restoration of a renaissance villa, sits on a hill outside of Florence. We spent a marvelous week there in July, and despite the heat in Florence, there was always a cool breeze blowing through our apartment. A very POSH apartment I might add. It was perfect for a family - downstairs living room/kitchen with a pull out sofa for my son, a gorgeous large bedroom upstairs for my husband and I, and a loft bedroom for my daughter. Details made it wonderful - a scupture in the bedroom, beautiful carpets, large bathroom, well-tended courtyard. It was surrounded by olive groves and we had a beautiful view from our balcony. Every morning the nicest people delivered an elegant breakfast to our room. The staff was charming, kind and helpful, and especially forgiving (I killed a leader of an olive tree...don't ask). I felt like visiting aristcracy. This was a reunion/vacation with our friends, who are retired hoteliers in Germany. They were also impressed by their equally lovely apartment in a converted chapel across the courtyard. We spent the first few days walking around saying to ourselves "Isn't this wonderful?" We were only 15 minutes to Florence by bus or by car. What more could you ask for in a Tuscan escape?

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marianne0354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2005

We stayed at Villa Poggio for three days during June, and it was a great experience. Stayed in a separate apartment that had a bedroom, living room with sleeper sofa and a full size kitchen. The place was immaculately clean and the rooms were very spacious, especially by European standards. The staff were more than willing to help with recommendations and suggestions for things to do in Florence and heading out into Tuscanny. We spent alot of time driving throughout Tuscanny and going into Florence; I would have liked to have had a day to just stay and lounge by the pool and be lazy. It was nice to come back there after a full day of sightseeing and just relax, have a nice bottle of wine and dinner. We stopped by the local store and bought pasta, pesto, and fresh bread and had our dinner outside every evening. It was a great experience, and I would definitely stay there again. The only difficulty we had was initially finding it because the roads are not well marked and somewhat narrow, but what road in Italy isn't narrow!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rileysmom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London - UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2005

We stayed in Poggio ai Merli at the Michelangelo in June 2005 for 5 nights with our 2 kids (4.5 and 1.5 years-old) and our babysitter.

I would highly recommend the place as we really were pleased with almost every aspect of the stay.

From the check-in to check-out, the staff was very nice and helpful. Location of the villa is very convenient and it is a very short drive to a big supermarket to buy necessary stuff and use the fridge. The dishwasher in the room was a big plus as well.

Rooms and toilets were very clean and nicely done. Pool was big (18m X 9m) and very easy to walk to even for our baby daughter. NIce countryside view was also a plus.

Being served breakfast fresh from the producers each morning in our room and having 24hour access to ADSL connection in the room were all pleasant things.

We would definitely revisit and look to stay there again

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Musfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scandicci
2.6 mi away
Hotel Marzia
Hotel Marzia
#1 of 5 in Scandicci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#2 of 5 in Scandicci
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel i Cedri
Hotel i Cedri
#3 of 5 in Scandicci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
3.7 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Poggio ai Merli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggio ai Merli

Property: Villa Poggio ai Merli
Address: Via di Giogoli 5, 50018, Scandicci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Scandicci
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Scandicci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Poggio ai Merli 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggio ai Merli is located on a panoramic hill at just 6 km from the historical Centre of Florence. It is characterized by a large park and amazing swimming-pool through the olives garden. The sixteenths century Villa is made up of elegant apartments and Suites: each of them are unique and well cared. The hotel services joined with the historical charm and breathtaking landscape make its unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Poggio ai Merli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poggio Ai Merli
Poggio Ai Merli Scandicci
Villa Poggio Ai Merli Scandicci, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing