We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow amazing, truly amazing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Cantico della Natura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Well I found an amazing place immersed in the Tuscan hills near to Perugia and Lake Trasimeno. Not easy to find as the satnav had no idea but fairly well signposted as long as you arrive in the daylight. Silent, totally immersed in lovely countryside, respect for nature and animals, classy with great food and the rooms are all different and really well equipped. The pool overlooks the lake with a glorious view and the service is really excellent. And the prices are also more than reasonable. Recommended.

Room Tip: Wow they are all special, I saw 3 of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I planned a trip from France to Italy in May and Il Cantico della Natura was one stop along the way. We knew the countryside would be beautiful and were looking forward to it but when we arrived we were utterly blown away. This is one of those places, those special places that you don't get to see all the time. The views are hard to describe. Spectacularly romantic and beautiful, we relaxed and sipped wine by the pool, watched the sunset over the Umbrian hills and Lake Trasimeno, took a late morning hike up the mountain, and enjoyed lakeside pasta and seafood on a day trip from the hotel. But the kicker was the dinner they offer at the restaurant. We had no idea it was going to be the authentic, cultural, warm, romantic and mouthwatering experience it was. You must have dinner when you stay there. We were the only Americans while we were there, they seem to mostly get European guests. It is a thoroughly Italian experience and one I would recommend to everyone. Be advised that they are an eco-hotel, so lighting is low, there is practically no paper or plastic used anywhere, and they source most of their food from out their back door. The grounds are incredible, surrounded by olive trees and so many flowers - the air is literally perfumed! Rooms are rustic, tasteful and comfortable. Staff is super friendly and accommodating - Maurizio was awesome! One note to make - be sure to have very solid directions. We used Google Maps on our iPhone and it got us helplessly lost. We had to rely on the aide of a very nice local Italian man to get us there. But believe me, once you do - it is just so spectacular!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We came here in January for my birthday. First, I have to say the place is stunning. The views are amazing. The conversion of the farmhouse and out-buildings are ecological and sympathetic with the surroundings. The gardens are delightful. There are numerous footpaths to discover. There plenty of secluded places to relax and enjoy the peace of the countryside in the summer.

However, this place is geared really only for the summer. It is a pity, as just a few simple changes could have made this place a winter utopia. There is a huge fireplace in the dining room which wasn't lit - and obviously was not going to be, as it was full of dried flowers and antiques. With the outside temperature at night hovering around freezing, it would have been perfect to have a welcoming, warming fire. As it was, I sat by it and had a draught from the chimney down my neck!

The food was generally very good, and the breakfast was superb. But, it was not quite hitting the spot. The first night we had spezzationo di capriolo (venison stew), which was excellent, but it was served with SALAD! First, stew really does not go with salad and seeing as the food is all supposed to be seasonal....well you get my point! It is also a pity that there is no choice for the second dish. My partner doesn't eat pork (which was the second night's main dish) and so had to have leftover venison stew from the night before.

Our room, Julius was compact, but lovely. However, the air conditioner is directly over the wardrobe, which absorbs most of the heat. We overcame this by opening the doors to let the heat out. All that needs to be done is move the wardrobe a foot sideways and this wouldn't be a problem. Also, a curtain over the room door would have also helped keep the warmth in, as it leads directly outside and there is a large, draughty gap in the beautiful antique door.

As it was winter and the nights long, it would have been nice to either have a couple of comfy chairs in the room to sit in or better still a bar area where you could read and chill in the evening before dinner.

As another reviewer mentioned, the bath/shower is deeply set into the floor, and really is quite difficult to get in and out of. If you have bad knees or mobility issues, I would check first if the room has one these.

The bed was very comfortable and we slept like logs. However, it was very low - not much higher than a futon. Again, if you have bad knees etc. I would check first.

There are candles, josh sticks and oil burners provided in the rooms, which is a lovely touch, except there were no matches provided! When I asked for some, there weren't any to be found!!!

My final niggle, is this is marketed as a romantic place for couples. However, you can hear EVERYTHING your immediate neighbours are doing and saying on all sides!!!

All this aside, this really is a wonderful place and we will go back, but in the spring or summer. The staff were very courteous and friendly. The resident dogs are gorgeous and friendly. I definitely came away relaxed and happy. So long as you are aware of the limitations, I would recommend this place for a wonderful, relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erasmusthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Incredible views from pool area. Buildings beautiful and our room was comfortable, clean and beautiful. Access in and out best by car but we also used taxi (must prebook). Best breakfast of our trip and staff excellent, friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Dinners were excellent. Wireless service onsite.

Room Tip: View of poolside would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stay during the week, weekend proved to be too busy...........with a wedding and huge family group gathering! September is a wonderful time to be here. the overly hot summer had taken a toll on the usual green appearance! But the view from the hill top night and day is breath taking. The rooms are name by the months and located in a couple of buildings. Some are under the owners residence, a building just next and one up the hill. Each suite that we looked into were completely different in size and configuration.Each fully decorated in all antiques. The staff were all amazing , friendly and helpful. Our cooking class with Rosa was fantastic. The Breakfast was over the top !!!!.........dinners of a small select menu were great............eating on the out door patio at night was charming! The pool is nicely situated on the hill top looking out over the lakeside town below. Not easy to find if you are by car, without a car hard to get to other hill side towns, as the town right below had nothing to offer. If you are missing your pets the resident two dogs will charm themselves into your heart. This is a place for couples.............in every way! Even the poolside chairs are paired up each morning! and the Italian cakes served at 5pm poolside a nice touch. We did not have hot water in our unit, but I hardly cared. Our valuable safe was not operational...........but we we tucked away in our own hill top world and felt safe. the winery down the hillside is worth the friendly visit and the wines worth picking up!!!

Room Tip: four of the rooms are located on the outdoor patio.............for those who want to seek off early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in mid September. The drive up to the hotel is fine, just take it easy. The setting is beautiful, the view from the pool area spectacular. The staff are helpful and do their level best to make your stay the best it can be. The buildings are made from local stone and absolutely in keeping with what you would expect of an old Umbrian inn, especially the dining room and patio dining area.

Our room was majus, just off the dining terrace. The room is good sized and well furnished with an adequate bathroom. However, there are no windows because the room is a (well) converted cellar and to keep it cool requires the air conditioner to be running continuously. It would have been nice to open a window in such a beautiful old building.

Our only complaint with the hotel is the lack of attention to detail. Our minibar fridge did not work so we had no cold drinks available. One could say "so what"' but with an outside temperature of 34 and no hotel bar, a cold drink would have been good at times. The hotel we unable to fix the fridge or swap it over, we missed out on a drink - they missed out on the minibar profit. On our penultimate day our room wasn't made up at 1700 in the evening and we had to point this out to them. They attended immediately and we then noticed they had left a set of towels that were dirty, as if they,d been on the floor for a time. We asked them to change them which they did. Why not check and give us clean towels the first time? Finally the bed in Majus is just awful. It's two single, cast iron framed beds pushed together. There is an iron bar that runs down between the two beds that stops you venturing into your partners half and if you aren't careful you end up bruised. A triumph or style over practicality.

The meals and wine are excellent and good value for money.


Get the detail right and this could be a truly great hotel to spend a few restful days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and a comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamanddanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This place confirmed our booking but made a mistake on the dates and we were left without a room. Worst of all, they dont answer emails for 2 weeks straight claiming they havent received anything...

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank filippobozotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantico, Manager at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

First of all we would like to comunicate that this potential guest did not came to visit us. We consider not correct to make e reference only to have a revenge or make and express damage to us without coming and giving a vote on something (a trip) did not happen. Second the reservation was not confirmed because we received via mail an instant booking in a web site where we have a free sale contract and we have to give for legal and for honest attidude priority to that. Third we comunicate to the potential guest via mail directly the same day the situation and we never received and answer. He said i wrote but we never received and in any case i receive directly our comunication many days before. So we consider aboslutely false what have been said and we ask to remove it. We accept of course critic but not pure attack originated by range and uncorrect vision ot the reality from someone that necer came

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magione
5.1 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
735 reviews
10.0 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
661 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
501 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel  le Rocce sas
Hotel le Rocce sas
#3 of 8 in Magione
96 reviews
24.2 mi away
Agriturismo Casale delle Lucrezie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cantico della Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cantico della Natura

Address: Case Sparse 50 | Vocabolo La Penna, 06063, Magione, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Magione
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Magione
Price Range: £59 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Cantico della Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Umbria in a wonderful panoramic position with Trasimeno lake view,this hotel provides the ideal base for your holiday.The old stone house was finely restored and furnished in 19th century style.It offers very romantic rooms with a fan and air conditioning.Typical umbrian food is served in the restaurant.Il Cantico della Natura has an intimate wellness centre with jacuzzi,sauna and turkish bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il Cantico della Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing