We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Monte Petreto
Whitwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calm and beautiful”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The ancient olive trees and the views out over the lake from the terrace of our apartment, helped to make our stay in Monte Petreto relaxing and memorable. It's a beautiful place and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The apartment itself was tastefully furnished and well-equipped. I'd definitely recommend this place for anyone wanting a base to explore Umbria, with plenty of warm lakeside swimming only a five minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alisonhulot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed a couple of days in this agriturismo and liked the calm environment and splendid view over the lake. To us the concept of having an apartment was a benefit. The appartment was very clean and suited our wishes. Andrea was kind enough to pick us up and to drop us at the train station of Magione.

We came by plane and had no car. The vespa rental service - which can easily be reached by foot - offered us a great and affordable opportunity to explore the region.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathalievandenEynde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed in early October and it was fantastic. Andrea was very helpful and assisted us in finding everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. He even went to the extent of letting us use his own washing machine, as well as keeping the pool clean and open past the normal date. He is a fantastic host. We stayed in Gynestra and the patio at the front was amazing, great views ad a large area. The room was quite basic but clean and aving a full sized fridgw was great. Take a walk to San Savino and have wine and crackers on the seats while taking in the brilliant views.

Room Tip: Gynestra is smalled than the others but has a brilliant patio area with great views.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The setting was incredible. The area is so beautiful. My husband is a chef and I am a wine steward, and we had an incredible dining adventure in the surrounding towns. Umbria is a marvel, and Podere Monte Petreto was the perfect home base for us. Absolutely breathtaking, FANTASTIC kitchen for us to play in, beautiful beautiful rooms, charming and informative host. When I close my eyes I can still see the view of the Castelo under the moonlight while swimming in the stone pool surrounded by ancient olive trees, lavender and roses. We would wake up every morning and reach out our window to pick almonds off the tree for breakfast. The best trip of my life.

Room Tip: Get the room w/ the fireplace. go off-season
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellaviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam Nederland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I came and kept coming at Monte Petreto, where the owner Roberta took really good care of me. Not only with the delicious " crostata" pastry she makes, but also with good advice on where to go, where to eat and what to discover in this beautiful part of Italy. I found out as well that it is THE place to go if you want to bring your pets, since they will find a warm welcome here. Roberta knows al the good hikes to go with (or without) your dog and her son Andrea is the greatest animal lover ( and expert !) I ever met.

Room Tip: I have seen only charming aptments here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank femkeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We had a wonderful time at Montepetreto. The farm is located in a beautiful spot in the hills in between 1000 olive trees that Roberta, the owner, grows to produce her own olive oil.
There is one thing that you will have to pay attention to: Pets are allowed. So if you have an allergy like I do, make sure you bring enough antihistamins, in case you are in an apartment right after a pet has left. Because of my cat allergy I had to be on antihistamins for the whole stay.
The farm provides lovely views of the lake and the surrounding countryside. We stayed in Ginestra which is probably the most beautiful of the apartments with a gorgeous terrace.
Montepetreto is far enough away from the main roads as not to be bothered by any noise, yet conveniently located to go and see the many beautiful sights nearby: Perugia (only 20 mins away), Gubbio, Spello, Spoleto, Panicale, Todi and of course ASSISI are all well worth a visit. My recommendation: Bribe your children with the lovely swimming pool where they can spend half the day and take them sightseing for the remainder of the day. The owner Roberta was lovely. She even made a cake for us to bring on the long drive home!! Thanks again. I can wholeheartedly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed in the Olmo apartment which is perfect for a family of four and spent a week discovering the area around Lake Trasimeno. Our teenage boys enjoyed the fabulous swimming pool and we appreciated the hillside setting and wonderful views of the Lake. We had fun exploring the towns set on the lake particularly the beautiful Castiglione and made trips into Tuscany and to Perugia. There are plenty of restaruants to choose from in nearby San Feliciano and the sunsets on the lake are unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinaprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magione hotels
4.1 mi away
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
#2 of 2 in San Feliciano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Il Borgo sul Lago
Il Borgo sul Lago
#1 of 9 in Magione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Cantico della Natura
Il Cantico della Natura
#1 of 32 in Magione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Terre di Isa
Le Terre di Isa
#2 of 32 in Magione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Casa Sul Lago
La Casa Sul Lago
#1 of 2 in Torricella di Magione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camping Villaggio Italgest
Camping Villaggio Italgest
#1 of 3 in Sant'Arcangelo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Monte Petreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Monte Petreto

Property: Podere Monte Petreto
Address: Vocabolo Case Sparse 19 | San Savino, 06063, Magione, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Magione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Magione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient farmhouse, protected on the north by an oak forest and surrounded by 11 hectars of olive groves, is situated on a hill at less than 1Km from the Trasimeno Lake and can be reached through 300m. of country road. It has wonderful views over the umbrian country side, the ancient medioeval village of San Savino and that area of the lake, the southern side, which is a EU protected natural reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Monte Petreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing