We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, personal service”

La Gallina Liberata
Ranked #23 of 50 Restaurants in Narni
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, personal service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

An attractive small restaurant, with a scenic view out of the arch that the door is set in. The interior is pretty. There's no air conditioning but a fan kept things tolerably cool on a hot day. The menu is very limited but everything was well cooked, and the small number of staff, which I am guessing probably includes the owner were all very friendly, as were some of the other Italian guests.

It's only marginally out of the way, a short way down a side road but well worth that slight detour.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhySoGlumChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    88
    51
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very friendly”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had lunch here last week-end. The menu is very short but that's because it is all prepared at home by the owner who also serves. The food was quite delicious - a huge antipasto platter, very tasty gnocchetti with peas and mushrooms, Devil's soup (very like mulligatawny, I've never come across it before in Italy but was told it was typical of the area) and a simple but perfectly executed meat course. Even with a 1/2 litre of house wine, water and coffee the bill was under €60 - excellent value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Copperfield27Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic home cooked food! Great setting”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We found this ristorante via Umbria Slow, an app we had downloaded for our trip - we highly recommend the app and this ristorante. This place is located in the small hill town of Narni on a side street in what appears to be an old bunker or cava or some kind of domed room. It is charmingly renovated into a wonderful restaurant. We walked in and could see straight through to the kitchen where the owner chef was stirring the pot of that day's soup. The menu is written on a chalk board, cooked fresh daily. We tried three items and they were delicious. We had the local wine and the chef brought us an appetizer to tide us over while the soup finished cooking. Don't miss this place! Fabulous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eef58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good food, but make sure it's not too hot”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I loved the food here. I went with some Italian friends, and we all had a great meal. The only downside is that we were there on a hot summer night, and the restaurant does not have air. The place was VERY hot, but we cooled down with lemoncello!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LANYC1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ok!”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

..nothing really to boast about.. i ordered a fish soup which was full of fish bones.. so all i was doing was pulling fish bopnes out of my mouth continuosly.. which was quite disgusting..the past was not bad.. i didnt really like the recyclyed paper place mats.. the service was really slow as the lady who cooked was also the same lady who served at the tables!! every time we wanted somthing we had to wait like 15-20 mins for her to step out of the kitchen!! the ambient is very plain so the whole time we waited for the lady to appear we literally had to twiddle our thumbs ... so very boring place!
even though the lady was kind im sorry the negative points linger and overtake her kindness...

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Benedetta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gallina Liberata also viewed

Narni, Province of Terni
Narni, Province of Terni
 
Narni, Province of Terni
Narni, Province of Terni
 

Been to La Gallina Liberata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing