We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic, a paradise in Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Ranked #1 of 19 Narni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Me and my girlfriend just got back from a week stay at the Torre. We have travvelled in Italy extensively and we never came across such a wonderful place: the Villa is amazing, the views, the ambience, the rooms, the pool, the food, everything was perfect. Leonardo (the owner) was a fantastic host without being intrusive. The pool is lovely with amazing views over the valley and Narni. The location is also great at only one hour to Rome and close to many sites to visit in Umbria. If you are planning to visit Umbria or looking for a place outside of Rome, this Villa is an absolute must!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brandobacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2008

Me and my wife had a wonderfull stay at Torre Palombara near Narni, (Terni,Umbrie).The Torre is a completely renovated farm-house, with it's tower it gives the impression of a little castle.It.s a beautiful ambiance in a beautiful environment, and a perfect place from which you can make excursions.You can also stay at the pool and enjoy the surroundig nature.The hospitalityof the owner, Leonardo, is great and natural, you can really geel yourself at home.We also enjoyed dinner a couple of times.Leonardo's mother is a great cook, and the view over the hills and Narni complete's the whole thing.Really a tastefull and a relaxing place to stay, the price is as friendly as the environment and the people.
Peer van Bakel (the Netherlands)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marieke50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We booked the Torre for a group holiday of 15 adults and one toddler. It was absolutely fantastic. From the moment of first contact, Leonardo, the owner, went out of his way to be helpful.

The Torre is a restored medieval building but the renovations are brilliant, keeping the rustic vibe whilst meeting exacting 21st century standards. Bathrooms were spotless, beds very comfortable, communal areas spacious and well-appointed, kitchen large and very well equipped and the pool was fab. The views from the pool, the terrace and every room are of beautiful rolling Umbrian hills. Gorgeous!

There's plenty to do in the surrounding area - I would recommend hiring a car to get to some of the other villages nearby including beautiful Todi, and Amelia as well as Narni.

We had a truly tremendous experience - Leonardo and his mother were the kindest hosts without being intrusive and the villa is fabulous.

Top class!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderwomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

This was our second time at Torre Palombara and we cant wait to go back.

everything about this place is 5* and there is enough to do to keep you busy for a month.

I have been trying to write this review for half an hour now and cant think of the words to justify what a great time we had. The food, the wine, the hospitality from our hosts and the locals, its all out of this world. If you decide to visit for yourself you will love it. if you dont you will miss out!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank iliketrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We stayed at Torre Palombara for 4 nights over the May bank holiday and after seeing the pictures on the website we could not wait to see it for ourselves.

Torre Palombara is about an hour drive from Rome. When we arrived we were stunned; the villa, grounds and location are beautiful. Walking up to the house past the swimming pool we were met by our hosts who throughout our stay were extremely charming, friendly, helpful and welcoming and happy to share their local knowledge and provide any help we needed. The villa has been beautifully restored and is tasteful and elegant. We stayed in the lovely apartment “La Colombaia” at the top of the house and were lucky enough to enjoy our own private balcony overlooking the lush Umbrian countryside.

During our short stay we explored Umbria as much as possible visiting Assisi, Spoleto, Marmore waterfall and the nearby ancient hilltop town of Narni (a 10 min drive away). Our stay in Narni coincided with a medieval festival which saw the town lively with people and street entertainment. We found our stay in Torre Palombara very restful, secluded and tranquil, yet within very easy reach of nearby towns and some amazing restaurants.

Basically - great villa, great location, great hosts, great food… we loved it so much we have booked again for September and are already counting the days!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jo-n-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

I stayed with my extended family at Torre Palombara for a week in May. We booked 4 rooms and totally enjoyed all that the region had to offer.

The B&B was superb, room finishes and fittings were of a 5 star standard, each room had a picturesque view and self contained private bathroom, the service was especially warm and friendly.
When we were looking for accommodation in the area it was hard to ascertain the standard of several places we looked at on the internet (I have had bad experiences in the past in Italy), and coming all the way from Australia we really wanted the accommodation to be special, child friendly, restful with great views of rural Umbria all around and central so we could do day trips discover the secrets of neighboring villages and towns.

We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find the house had recently been lovingly and painstakingly reconstructed and totally refurbished to a first class standard, with every comfort that we enjoy at home. I shared the ground floor self contained apartment with my husband which was perfect for our little baby, it had a self contained kitchen and large bathroom, sitting area and master bedroom, Grandparents, Uncles and Aunties stayed upstairs in the tower.

Most of our time was spent relaxing under the beautiful trees and grape vines, I especially enjoyed the swimming pool and walking adventures through the countryside.
The weather was faultless and the region really made our dream come true of the perfect Italian "Under The Tuscan Sun" vision.... except in Umbria!

We did a pilgrimage to Perugia, the home of Baci chocolates and experienced the annual Medieval festival in Narni and even had time for a day trip to Rome, which was just over an hour away.

It was not just the region that made our time in Umbria so special, Torre Palombara is a very special place that would be just as suitable for a romantic weekend minibreak or a large family holiday.

We will definitely be back - a very special part of the world, still relatively untouched...

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gretelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

I stayed over at the week end and had the most incredible time! The property sits on the top of a hill that overlooks the valley, nature is gorgeous in the area and now and then one can spot a little medieval village sitting on top of a hill.... The house has been beautifully restored to keep the authentic touch to this former "palombara" (dovehouse); the noble materials and huge space give it a true sense of luxury. Sunny and warm (30 degrees mid May!) weather meant we went for walks on the neighbouring hills, hang out by the gorgeous swimming pool and visited some of the medieval villages (beautiful) close by (Narni, Spoleto...). Our room was spacious, had a lovely view of the valley, was tastefully decorated with old beautiful furniture... just what I was hoping for. Spacious bathroom - everything spotlessly clean; even the olive-oil based bathroom products were a nice little treat and contributed to an overall fantastic experience. WILL BE BACK!!! PS - place suits-all: a couple for a romantic week end, a family retreat with children, a relaxing week for elderly (I'm sending my grandparents there in October!)...

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Italian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narni
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#2 of 2 in Narni
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
Terra Umbra Hotel
Terra Umbra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Narni
206 reviews
8.3 mi away
B&B dell'Aviatore
B&B dell'Aviatore
#1 of 1 in San Liberato
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Contea by Bice
5.3 mi away
Vallantica Resort & Spa
Vallantica Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in San Gemini
167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casale Valigi
Casale Valigi
#5 of 19 in Narni
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica

Address: Strada della Cantinetta 3, 05035, Narni, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Narni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Narni
Price Range: £116 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Villa is built around an ancient XVth century "Torre Palombara," on a hill that dominates a green landscape and offers the wonderful view of Narni and its castle. The charming residence has been restored to its former splendor by the passionate owners and maintains all the original characteristics and elements that are distinctive to the ancient "Torri Palombare." The guests will enjoy the tranquility and the breathtaking views, surrounded by a refined ambiance that maintains all the charm of an antique Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing