We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Ranked #1 of 19 Narni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Torre Palombara is nestled in the hills of Umbria and is one of the loveliest places that we have ever stayed. The owner, Leonardo, built the hotel from his family's home so it has a very welcoming environment. My family rented the whole hotel for a week in celebration of my dad's birthday and it was the perfect situation. We felt like we had our own home in Umbria but with all the luxuries of staying at a hotel (meals, housekeeping, etc.). Each day we were able to drive to different towns very easily and really get a sense of the region. Leonardo is also an amazing resource. He is very knowledgeable about the region, very generous with his time and advice and has fantastic restaurant recommendations (the food in Umbria is unbelievable). It was great to get to know him as much as it was to get to know Umbria. I highly recommend this hotel for a whole week, as we did, but it would also be great for a few nights if you are passing through the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast and it was the highlight of our 3 week vacation through Europe. Before even arriving at the B&B, our breath was taken away from the beauty of this region. Driving around Umbria was truly remarkable. We have never seen anything like it being from South Florida. Rolling fields and medieval towns on hill tops were picture perfect! Torre Palombara itself was equally as gorgeous. We were blown away by the care that has been taken to upkeep this property. The house was so charming and the yard, terrace, and pool area were immaculate. We were so excited to be staying in such a beautiful, tranquil place. We stayed in the Il Barbacane room which was perfect for us. It had two windows with great views. One of the pool are and one overlooking the valley in the distance. The bed was firm but extremely comfortably.. We slept like babies. Even the linens were noticeably comfortable. The bathroom was a comfortable size... Small shower but nothing that caused any problems at all.
Breakfast at the B&B was simple but satisfying. An assortment of cookies, tarts, breads, yogurt, fruit, meats and cheeses were available. A nice young lady greeted us promptly each morning to offer us our cappuccinos which was nice as well. We opted to have dinner at the B&B one of the nights and I HIGHLY recommend it. One of the best meals we had throughout our whole trip. It was four courses, each delicious and fresh. We wished we could have had dinner the next night as well but you need to request in advance.
Moving on to the service. We couldn't complain about a single thing if we tried. Leonardo, our host, was amazing from the minute we arrived. He greeted us warmly, showed us around the property explaining the history of Torre Palombara, and then walked us through a map of the region. He had great tips of towns to visit and things to do in each area of Umbria. We felt completely taken care of from start to finish. Leo gave us plenty of privacy while still being sure to check in with us and make sure we didn't need any help with planning our day. To top it off... We left a pair of sunglasses in our room and then went to Rome for a few nights before heading back to the States. When we asked Leo if he could ship them to us, he insisted on meeting us in Rome as he was going to the airport in a couple days. Sure enough a couple days later we met Leo near our hotel and he dropped off our sunglasses with a smile on his face. We couldn't have been more thankful.
Staying here was such an experience. We are already planning when we can manage to return :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKanes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I just enjoyed three nights in this lovely villa with our host Leonardo and his lovely mother Antonella. We stayed in the tower suite that was spacious and romantic. The grounds are a gardener's paradise, and the hotel appointments are exquisite and suit the architecture that dates from the 15th c. The views themselves surpass the villa's beauty. Be sure to order dinner for the night of your arrival as Chef Frederica presents the region's food with all its rich flavors and her own light touch and creativity.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower room, which is two-story, so three flights up a winding staircase to the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, beatiful Hotel, excellent service and amazing mood! Me and my wife stayed in this relais during Easter holidays and before during summer holidays in August 2013. It was a magnificent experience! I advise it for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommaso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

There are good reasons a few select hotels and inns repeatedly earn top ratings. We found Torre Palombara hits home on every count: a gracious welcome from a most acccommodating ownership and staff, lovely rooms (we stayed in La Colombaia, with its splendid rooftop terrace views), fine guidance from Leonardo on where to drive in the stunning surroundings and where to dine. The beautifully-restored property has been in the same family for over 500 years, and the love for the hotel and its surroundings comes through in constant smiles and helpful hints. Our stay here was only two nights long, but the highlight of our travels in Italy this year. As frequent visitors to this lovely country, we look forward with pleasure to our next stay at Torre Palombara.

Room Tip: La Colombaia is actually an upstairs and downstairs suite with two full bathrooms, and the rooftop t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalophileCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Both relaxing and romantic, the room was terrific, Leonard and the staff can't do enough for you, and the grounds and views defy words. This gem is not to be missed and is worth the effort needed to find it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lneff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is by far one of the loveliest hotels I've ever stayed in - unfortunately it was only for one night. My husband and I were welcomed by Leonardo and his Mother and made to feel totally at home. Our room was magnificent with the most amazing view. It was a beautiful sunny day which allowed us the opportunity to laze at the pool for the afternoon. Leonardo was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and we were delighted to experience a wonderful meal in a small village called Stroncone. This is one hotel I would love to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nintjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narni
3.6 mi away
Terra Umbra Hotel
Terra Umbra Hotel
#1 of 3 in Narni
194 reviews
16.9 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
300 reviews
5.3 mi away
Vallantica Resort & Spa
Vallantica Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in San Gemini
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
B&B dell'Aviatore
B&B dell'Aviatore
#1 of 1 in San Liberato
32 reviews
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Regno Verde
3.4 mi away
Casanise
Casanise
#6 of 19 in Narni
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica

Property: Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Address: Strada della Cantinetta 3, 05035, Narni, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Narni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Narni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Villa is built around an ancient XVth century "Torre Palombara," on a hill that dominates a green landscape and offers the wonderful view of Narni and its castle. The charming residence has been restored to its former splendor by the passionate owners and maintains all the original characteristics and elements that are distinctive to the ancient "Torri Palombare." The guests will enjoy the tranquility and the breathtaking views, surrounded by a refined ambiance that maintains all the charm of an antique Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing