We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like Heaven...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Ranked #1 of 19 Narni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We recently spent 4 days at Torre Palombara (Tower of the doves) and must confess that it felt like we were in heaven.
The beautifully restored 15th century Villa and rooms filled with antique furniture make you feel like you are in a different time – away from the hasty world we live in.
With the view from your room of the mediaval town of Narni, having amazing meals under the gazebo (with the farms own fantastic red wine and the best local food), relaxing next to the swimming pool, taking walks between vineyards and olive trees, this guest house is a place to restore your body and soul. This is Italy at its best!!
It is only a drive of under an hour and a half from Rome.
Umbria itself surprised me and all the old little towns close by are amazing, an undiscovered treasure. A town that you have to see (50km from Torre) is Orvieto, with its amazing Cathedral, which had my Mother in tears.
Many thanks to the owners of Torre Palombara, Leonardo and his mother,Antoinelle. They made the stay unforgettable, with their passion for the region of Umbria and doing their absolute best to make sure you have all the information you need and are enjoying your stay. I will definitely return to this paradise, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

We had a great long weekend at Torre Palombara, where we enjoyed beautiful views, friendly service, and wonderful accommodations. Torre Palombara is located on a hill that overlooks the town of Narni. We stayed in the "Il Tiglio" apartment which had its own separate entrance and was perfect for us and our toddler. It was nicely furnished, equipped with modern amenities, and the apartment opened right out into the backyard where dinner and breakfast were served. Breakfast hit the spot and the dinner we had at Torre Palombara was absolutely delicious. The backyard area was furnished with plenty of places to sit and look out over the beautiful Umbria countryside and the town of Narni. We enjoyed walking around the grounds, and while we didn't go swimming, the pool area was very inviting.
Not only were the accommodations great, but our host, Leonardo, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Umbria area. He made sure we were satisfied with our accommodations and he was eager to help make our stay pleasant. He made several recommendations for places to grab lunch. Leonardo also gave us a map of Umbria and pointed out routes to take and places that we should visit during our stay. Leonardo also showed us the rooms in the rest of the house and they were beautifully decorated and furnished with antiques. The suite, which had two levels, was especially beautiful. The house and the grounds have been in Leonardo's family for several generations and Leonardo has worked very hard to renovate the property. His hard work has paid off!
When we head back to Umbria, which we intend to do, there is no doubt we will return to Torre Palombara. Beautiful location with a very thoughtful and considerate host.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred08Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Having just returned from a week in Italy, our two nights stay at the Torre Palombara came out as the ultimate climax on this trip and three previous trips. Having studied Tripadvisor in detail we had high expectations. We are pleased to advise that everything was as expected or even better. The better parts were the two sunset dinners with local food as well as the hospitality of Leonardo and his mother. We will certainly come back to this place and again use it as a base for more trips in the delightful Umbria.
Marit & Tom, Oslo-Norway.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is a great location from which to explore Umbria. The 15th-century villa is owned for decades by one family. Over the last 5 years, they have done a great job in renovating it. The result is a very tasteful residence which offers luxury while keeping the original details and charm of the Tower (Torre) intact. The hosts are warm and kind, and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurgen_Roald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I booked a week with my girfriend at the Torre after reading all the good reviews on tripadvisor and Torre Palombara was truly wonderful, one of the most enchanting stay we have ever had! The location is perfect if coming from Rome and to visit the most important sites in Umbria. The Villa is a oasis of tranquillity and elegance, the garden with the pool is stunning and great for relaxing walks. The rooms are all of very high standard with beautiful antique forniture and incredibly confortable beds (we stayed in the barbacane room which was great). The hospitality of the owners is beyond great, we were advised on itineraries, shopping sites, restaurants and everything we needed. Eating at the torre was also very good with excellent food, romantic atmposphere and great price! I strongly reccomend this Villa, it was an unforgettable holiday and we cannot wait to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomasinUmbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Torre Palombara is majestic.

Every little detail about our stay was carefully considered and delivered in the most subtle yet stylish way. The villa is so, so peaceful. I really can't remember the last time I had such a tranquil and calm holiday with the deepest of sleeps ever!

We had amazing weather which meant we had to tear ourselves away from sunning by the pool, but when we did, the little towns surrounding the villa, particularly Narni, are DIVINE. They are picture postcard italy and full of so much history...and very narrow streets!

I'm not sure what I would rate as No. 1 about this property. The cooking was out of this world, the most freshest ingredients melted in our mouths (I even took home a recipe with me it was so good), the hosts Leo and his mother couldn't have been more friendly, always going out of their way to help us, and the 5 star quality of the rooms meant this was one of the most perfect destinations I have come across.

The owners are clearly very proud of their beautifully restored villa and picturesque Narni and I can see why! I'll be recommending it to everyone and anyone I know. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank onroadinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Beautifully restored building, surrounded by a great garden. Great location. Since we had little babies we stayed at the apartment which was great, well equipped and very comfortable. But next time – and there will be a next time - we will definitely come as a couple to stay at one of the rooms which were to die for!!!! So romantic and so amazingly decorated. This is Italy at its best!!! As for the Owners, we can’t find enough words to describe how wonderful they are!!!! They were so very very helpful, gave us great sightseeing and restaurants instructions and basically made us feel like home away from home. (we didn’t get our suitcases so they called few times to the airport on our behalf, offered to go to the airport and bring them over to us , they stayed up very late to make sure we got it). A place you must come again and again and send your loved ones… Bravo Leonardo!!!!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Karien_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narni hotels
3.6 mi away
Terra Umbra Hotel
Terra Umbra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Narni
207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#2 of 2 in Narni
125 reviews
8.3 mi away
B&B dell'Aviatore
B&B dell'Aviatore
#1 of 1 in San Liberato
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Casale Valigi
Casale Valigi
#3 of 19 in Narni
20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casanise
Casanise
#6 of 19 in Narni
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Regno Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica

Address: Strada della Cantinetta 3, 05035, Narni, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Narni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Narni
Price Range: £110 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Villa is built around an ancient XVth century "Torre Palombara," on a hill that dominates a green landscape and offers the wonderful view of Narni and its castle. The charming residence has been restored to its former splendor by the passionate owners and maintains all the original characteristics and elements that are distinctive to the ancient "Torri Palombare." The guests will enjoy the tranquility and the breathtaking views, surrounded by a refined ambiance that maintains all the charm of an antique Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing