We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Heart of Umbria!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica
Ranked #1 of 19 Narni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2007

I stayed with my extended family at Torre Palombara for a week in May. We booked 4 rooms and totally enjoyed all that the region had to offer.

The B&B was superb, room finishes and fittings were of a 5 star standard, each room had a picturesque view and self contained private bathroom, the service was especially warm and friendly.
When we were looking for accommodation in the area it was hard to ascertain the standard of several places we looked at on the internet (I have had bad experiences in the past in Italy), and coming all the way from Australia we really wanted the accommodation to be special, child friendly, restful with great views of rural Umbria all around and central so we could do day trips discover the secrets of neighboring villages and towns.

We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find the house had recently been lovingly and painstakingly reconstructed and totally refurbished to a first class standard, with every comfort that we enjoy at home. I shared the ground floor self contained apartment with my husband which was perfect for our little baby, it had a self contained kitchen and large bathroom, sitting area and master bedroom, Grandparents, Uncles and Aunties stayed upstairs in the tower.

Most of our time was spent relaxing under the beautiful trees and grape vines, I especially enjoyed the swimming pool and walking adventures through the countryside.
The weather was faultless and the region really made our dream come true of the perfect Italian "Under The Tuscan Sun" vision.... except in Umbria!

We did a pilgrimage to Perugia, the home of Baci chocolates and experienced the annual Medieval festival in Narni and even had time for a day trip to Rome, which was just over an hour away.

It was not just the region that made our time in Umbria so special, Torre Palombara is a very special place that would be just as suitable for a romantic weekend minibreak or a large family holiday.

We will definitely be back - a very special part of the world, still relatively untouched...

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gretelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2007

I stayed over at the week end and had the most incredible time! The property sits on the top of a hill that overlooks the valley, nature is gorgeous in the area and now and then one can spot a little medieval village sitting on top of a hill.... The house has been beautifully restored to keep the authentic touch to this former "palombara" (dovehouse); the noble materials and huge space give it a true sense of luxury. Sunny and warm (30 degrees mid May!) weather meant we went for walks on the neighbouring hills, hang out by the gorgeous swimming pool and visited some of the medieval villages (beautiful) close by (Narni, Spoleto...). Our room was spacious, had a lovely view of the valley, was tastefully decorated with old beautiful furniture... just what I was hoping for. Spacious bathroom - everything spotlessly clean; even the olive-oil based bathroom products were a nice little treat and contributed to an overall fantastic experience. WILL BE BACK!!! PS - place suits-all: a couple for a romantic week end, a family retreat with children, a relaxing week for elderly (I'm sending my grandparents there in October!)...

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Italian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

I stayed in the Il Tiglio apartment at Torre Palombara for a long weekend in July 2006. My girlfriend and I were looking for a break from the stresses of London life, and Torre Palombara provided the perfect antidote. Our stay was simply excellent. The setting is stunning – the rolling Umbrian fields are straight out of a scene from the film‘Gladiator’. The apartment was furnished and equipped to an excellent standard and we had free rein to use the swimming pool and to stroll in the grounds. A particular highpoint was hiring bikes: a great way to explore the surrounding villages and to absorb rural Umbria. Later, we sat on the terrace with a bottle of home-made Italian wine, and watched the sun fade over the medieval town of Narni. Although we were on a self-catered holiday the owners treated us as if we were family friends, and always went that bit further to ensure that we had the perfect break. I can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Livingthedream99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank REVILO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die beiden Zimmer im Taubenturm selbst, mit weitem Blick und kleiner Dachterrasse, sind einzigartig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikamuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Annloffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narni hotels
3.6 mi away
Terra Umbra Hotel
Terra Umbra Hotel
#1 of 2 in Narni
207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#2 of 2 in Narni
125 reviews
8.3 mi away
B&B dell'Aviatore
B&B dell'Aviatore
#1 of 1 in San Liberato
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Casale Valigi
Casale Valigi
#3 of 19 in Narni
20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casanise
Casanise
#6 of 19 in Narni
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Regno Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica

Address: Strada della Cantinetta 3, 05035, Narni, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Narni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Narni
Price Range: £111 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Villa is built around an ancient XVth century "Torre Palombara," on a hill that dominates a green landscape and offers the wonderful view of Narni and its castle. The charming residence has been restored to its former splendor by the passionate owners and maintains all the original characteristics and elements that are distinctive to the ancient "Torri Palombare." The guests will enjoy the tranquility and the breathtaking views, surrounded by a refined ambiance that maintains all the charm of an antique Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Torre Palombara - Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing